We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable weekend at mount errigal.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Errigal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mount Errigal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
1 review
“Memorable weekend at mount errigal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I and our six year old daughter stayed at the mount errigal 8th and 9th March 2013 mothers day weekend. Having read a couple of other reviews I do not agree with what other people have said about the rooms and the food as we found the rooms extremely comfortable, clean and spacious. We stayed in a family room with two double beds which had an added extra of a fridge which is extremely useful especially when staying with children. We ate in the hotel on both nights and found the food was excellent. Our daughter has a peanut allergy and the staff were very accommodating in our daughters food also. The breakfast was excellent, there was a great variety of cereals bread yoghurts and fruit, also large amounts of cooked food. We used the leisure center both days which we all loved and towels provided for guests. The hotel was very busy that weekend as there was a 2 day irish dancing feis on but this did not reflect at all on the service we got from all members of staff. This has been our second visit to the hotel and we hope to return in the near future. From R.Lagan

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roisin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks a Million for your encouraging review. We are delighted you had a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kindest Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,063
    557
    248
    140
    114
See reviews for
797
730
33
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

the staff in the bar were great. reception staff also very helpful. leisure centre was getting work done when i stayed. the smell of the adhesive they were using was very strong thoughout the hotel. my room was close to the leisure centre so this may not have effected all rooms. did give you a bit of a sore head, but nothing more than that.

the room 502 that i stayed in was a bit worn and dated for a four star hotel. the shower dribbled out water which is not what you want. but apart from that the hotel is fine and i will give this place another chance to prove me wrong.

food in the bar is top notch and the staff there are friendly and i enjoyed a chat with all of them.
breakfast next day was great and have no complaints at all on this front.

Room Tip: 5th floor even number rooms have a very poor view of the roof of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NEILMCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay. I would ike to apologise for the smell you experienced whilst we were having a new floor put down in our leisure centre - you will be happy to know that all that work is now completed and the lesiure centre is looking fantastic!

I'm flattered that you assumed we were a 4 star hotel, we are in fact a high end family run 3 star. It's not often guests would have the opinion that the rooms on the 5th floor need updated, these rooms have been updated quite recently, we chose to keep the decor traditional so I am sorry if it was not to your particular taste.

I sincerely hope you do give us a second chance in the future, I'm confident you will be impressed. We have various other types of rooms so please do not hesitate in requesting a look at the options on your next stay.

Kind Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

On arrival we were impressed with the size of the lobby and bar, there's lots of spacious, comfortable seating areas. Nice area to relax. Staff were all very welcoming and friendly. Dinner was average. We ate in the bar and the hotel was packed but the food was only average, my chicken sate salad was lacking taste and another in the group thought the fish and chips was very poor. Room was average, bit dated with a small bathroom. Hotel was very noisy throughout the night and morning. Could hear guest snoring in next room and there was noise up and down the corridor all night and next morning. Hotel was full though so it's obviously a popular spot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZittaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to review your recent stay. I'm sorry you were not impressed with the Chicken Satay Salad, I will certainly address this with the Chef because it's actually one of my favourite dishes and I'd hate to think I've been recommending a dish that's not living up to its name!
I will also look into the issues you raised with noise. I'm glad you appreciated how busy we were during your stay, we are indeed a popular spot with excellent repeat business, so in order to maintain this & our high standards, I will address each of your issues with the appropriate departments to ensure they do not happen again.

I hope you will join us again, I'm confident your next stay will be comfortable and enjoyable.

Kind Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

thanks to joleene for helping us have the perfect weekend for our party of 12 at mount errigal..
Great deal we had and the two course meal with wine was perfect.. served quickly, great waitresses..nothing was any bother... it is a beautiful grand hotel. .. the laid back atmosphere, and hospitality gives everything for a relaxing weekend.. we had people in our party aged 5 to 80 and had great craic friday nite in the foyer where we were serenaded with galway band on route to scor in derry.everyone is made very welcom... all the staff from the reception ,,bar staff ,, waitresses and leisure centre (which was spotless and warm) were friendly and helpful.. Rooms were comfortable with all the little extras..had a ball.. thanks x

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time out to review your recent stay with us! Joleene will be delighted by your comments as will our entire team!
We pride ourselves in giving all our guests a genuine 'Donegal Welcome' and we are happy that you were impressed.

Maybe we will see you for the Scor Seniors in April! If so we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hi all - well ok we stayed here for one night in Feb 2013 - we booked on trivago - maybe thats why we got allocated the room we did!! Went to book in at 2.30pm - checking in is not to 3pm so our room wasnt ready which is fair enough i guess. Went into town for awhile an came back around 6.30pm an were given room 101 - if your given this room at the desk ask for a different room!! went down to the room - shocked to see the size of the 'double' bed - so headed back to reception to ask to move rooms - met what i presume was the manageress in the corridor whom was very pleasant ad went off to check for other rooms. Reception calls our room to tell me that they are fuly booked but that there is one other room but bed is the same size. The bed was a SMALL double - really just a glorified single however the receptionist was very insistent in telling me that this is the Standard double bed you will get in any hotel - she told me this a few times to make sure i understood! I've never stayed in a hotel double room with such a small double bed in my life anyway I said that it was fine we would be ok. The manageress then came down an apologised that we werent happy and took us too look at the other room which we moved too as in the 101 room you can hear the toilet flushing in the room above you - not nice! The manageress was very nice - not her fault the hotel isnt investing in buying actual double beds for the rooms. The room we moved to was not up to the standard of the Luxury accommodation that the hotel likes to advertise themselves as i can only presume that if you book an executive room or a suite you will get a decent modern room. The bathroom was old and dated and needed a total revamp. Breakfast in the morning was good - not a whole lot of choice other than the hot food - no croissants or scones. There wasn't a great selection of fresh fruit either - however the fry was acceptable. I know the hotel was very busy but there seemed to be little organisation no one to greet us when we went in for breakfast - a member of staff just pointed to the self service area - to be honest we could have walked in off the street and they would have been none the wiser! we had to seek a member of staff to give them our room number before we left the dining room. Overall i would not be rushing back here - to be honest it would be a last resort especially as ive read some of the responses on here given from the hotel to other reviewers who were not happy. Definitely not taking the approach of the customer is number one!! Whilst writing im wondering what type of back lash i will get for not commending the hotel - and yes i am very aware I booked through a booking site and got a good rate - regardless of what I pay I still expect decent size bed with a little more modernisation given the current climate we all want to pay less and get more - those are the times that are in it!! Hotel reception area, lobby and bar are all beautiful but the standard rooms leave alot to be desired - We paid 69 euro for the 2 of us B&B even at that cheap rate the room wasnt worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us. I am truly sorry that you were not happy with the size of the double beds in our standard rooms, I am delighted Johanne our General Manager looked after you and assisted in getting you another room even though we were fully booked.
I appreciate your feedback and I will of course take on board your comments and look at improving. We welcome full & frank reviews, it is the only way in which we can see things from our customers point of view, however, sometimes it is frustrating when you get reviews from guests who do not raise concerns directly with us, or when we get reviews that seem suspicious - I assume that you are referring to my responses to those reviews.

I apologise that you could not get scones or croissants at breakfast, this is provided daily and I can only assume that they where not replenished as they should have been. We are a very busy hotel and we do recommend coming down a little earlier for breakfast because the last half hour can be hectic!

Our executive bedrooms have king sized beds and our standard rooms have standard double. Please feel free to request an executive the next time and we will try our very best to look after you.

We hope you will give us a second chance, I'm confident you will be impressed.

Kind Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Good hotel. Only annoying thing was fire alarm went off at 3. Otherwise pretty good but could not sleep, room was very warm. Great location and while staying there, was a big festival. Good bar and seating arrangements, lovely fire. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirst40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to review your recent stay. I'm sorry you found your room too warm during your stay, I suppose we should have explained that the heat can be adjusted in your room. I'm delighted you were happy with your stay and that you will join us again, we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Thank you to Orla and the team at the Mount Errigal Hotel for our lovely stay early February for a well deserved break with my Fiancee.We had a fab time and enjoyed the Leisure centre Friday night after our Cupcakes....
Great deal and we had our 2 course meal in the Bar which was super on the Saturday night with the vino, and the Bar Music Saturday night was so enjoyable, suited all age groups.
We will recommend you near and Far and hope to be back sometime in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks a million for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed the break!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kind Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.9 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
1.0 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.1 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Errigal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Errigal Hotel

Property: Mount Errigal Hotel
Address: Ballyraine, Letterkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#6 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Errigal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a great central location, within walking distance of Letterkenny Town, this luxury 3 star hotel and state-of-the-art leisure centre is close to pubs, nightlife, shopping and theatres. Free parking and Wi-Fi. The Mount Errigal Hotel has a leisure centre with a 20-metre swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room, and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mount Errigal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mount Errigal
Mount Errigal Letterkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing