We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mount Errigal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

lovely hotel and beautiful food. very friendly and helpful staff. fifty of us stayed there and not one person had a bad word to say about the hotel. i would highly recommend this hotel if travelling to Letterkenny.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicoregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your very positive review, it makes all our efforts worthwhile! We look forward to seeing you again

Kind Regards
Carolynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,740 - 1,746 of 2,293 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed with my husband on Sat 2nd Feb in one of the suites. It was excellent the friendlyness of the staff was great the food was excellent and the room was superb. Thanks all at th Mount Errigal for a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The suites are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris06omagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your glowing review! I'm delighted you were impressed with our Master Suite!

We hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards
Carolynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed 18th Jan and attended Brendan Grace Concert. Arrived 6pm, it was a very cold night and snowing quite heavy. It was nice to see big open fire in reception. Bedroom was cold on arrival but as soon as we told reception they had someone look at it within few minutes. After returning from concert the room was so warm and cosy. Room very nice, clean and comfortable with plenty of space. Breakfast was very tasty, good variety and well presented. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 845MBAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thanks a Million for your positive review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Donegal again soon! Keep an eye on our website for more excellent events throughout the year.

Warmest Regards
Carolynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I, along with two friends stayed the weekend of 25--27 Jan. The friendliness of the staff and the service provided was excellent. The meals were to die for. Rooms were comfortable and accessible. The hotel was emtremely busy that weekend, but the service was superb. We will certainly revisit in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here on Monday 5th Feb as had business in Letterkenny following day.
I really checked out all the hotels on internet & this one appeared to be ok.
It was just awful. Although the bathroom was clean the tiles & general look of the place would not entice anyone to have a bath/shower. The room was really dismal with carpet & furnishings which would not be out of place in a hostal in a third world country.
I went out for a meal & returned to find no parking as there was a quiz on.I spoke to the manargeress who could not have cared less about me or my lack of parking.
Breakfast was the worst ever... bacon looked like it has been boiled, horrible toast. awful pot tea, really dismal dining area.This place needs to be closed down asap. I cannot believe people book their weddings here as this is bargain basement stuff.
This was a truely awful experience & this place should not be calling itself a hotel. This is akin to a bad hostel. Letterkenny seems to be devoid of decent places to stay.
Maybe somebody knows a better place in town.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geraldine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

I am very shocked to read your very harsh & hurtful review. The only interaction our Manager had with you was when you abruptly 'tapped' her on the shoulder to complain that you could not get parked. Our Manager was very polite to you. At no point during your 3 night stay did you raise any concerns whatsoever and you had ample opportunity.
If you felt so disappointed, I can't understand why you happily stayed for 3 nights in total and on check out you were asked if you had a nice stay and you must have agreed otherwise I would have been informed.
Your statement on our Wedding's is totally inappropriate and off topic - you have no right to form an opinion or judge something if you have never experienced it yourself.
I'm also pretty confident that you have never been to a 3rd world country if you assume that our furnishings and facilities would be similar, I can assure you that your statement could not be further from the truth, I'd also like to highlight that its quite unnecessary and inconsiderate of you to compare your 3 night, 3 star hotel break with such a deprived and unfortunate part of the world.
We welcome both good & not so good feedback, and from the majority of recent reviews on this site, we are often commended for our standards and value. There is no need for some of your nasty comments. We are a successful family run hotel who employ over 60 staff - reviews like yours are not constructive to our local economy or our tourism industry.
Your statement ‘this place needs to be closed down’ is totally off the wall and unfounded. We are regularly inspected by Failte Ireland and other governing bodies to retain our star status.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

When we arrived there were two big fires burning in the foyer and bar -really Cosy Receptionist very helpful. Rooms great size. We booked twin room and got two double beds! Nice bathroom. Flat screen tv. Didn't try pool. Ten mins walk into town. Breakfast not very well displayed but tasty. Meal in restaurant fab. Big portions. I couldn't finish mine. Music in bar weekends. Really nice atmosphere although there was a lot of people stayin that night. I most certainly would stay here if I came to letterkenny again and I would recommend to friends. We went on a two night b and b with one dinner deal. Special thanks to manager Joanne who looked after us well

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppyOmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I was in the Mount Errigal Hotel on December 21, 2012 with my wife Nell and was absolutely amazed at the huge improvements made by the management there.
I also found it inspiring that there were so many people in the hotel at that particular time but i think it was because the 'Chevies' were playing and what a superb experience that turned out to be. Not only was the lead-singer, MICK' a very witty guy but the music and songs they played and sang were first class.too.
While many other hotels are feeling the pinch of these lean times - the Mount Errigal is going from strength to Strength.
The staff are dutiful, pleasant, courteous and above all, deliberately went out of their way to make out experience so blissfully enjoyable.
I would recommend the Mount Errigal Hotel without hesitation and I will return there very soon or indeed even sooner!!!!!

Room Tip: Always ask for a 'room with a view' the receptionist will be most helpful with ANY of your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lethalfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,147 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.9 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
369 reviews
1.1 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.1 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Errigal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Errigal Hotel

Address: Ballyraine, Letterkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#6 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range: $47 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Errigal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a great central location, within walking distance of Letterkenny Town, this luxury 3 star hotel and state-of-the-art leisure centre is close to pubs, nightlife, shopping and theatres. Free parking and Wi-Fi. The Mount Errigal Hotel has a leisure centre with a 20-metre swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room, and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mount Errigal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mount Errigal
Mount Errigal Letterkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing