We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and Cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Errigal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here recently for a friend's wedding. The wedding itself was beautiful , the reception room was lovely, very well laid out, the food and service was very good. I got a good deal on this hotel for 2 nights stay, therefor, it was good value for money. It is reasonably well located for the town centre, a 10 min walk to the shops and bars etc. There is a lovely bar to the hotel and the reception area at the front of the hotel is beautiful with a big open fire to sit around.
The room itself, although spacious, was tired and in need of updating. The double beds were not very big and not very comfortable. There were Tea & Coffee making facilities, a nice LCD TV and lots of space. The room was very clean. My biggest complaint would have been the noise from whatever function was on below on us (i'm not sure if it was the wedding I was at or a different function) however, upon going to bed at 2:30 a.m. the noise from the disco was LOUD, no sleep could be had until it had finsihed up.
Breakfast was standard fare, couldn't complain about it at all.
All in all a good experience here, the noise is the biggest thing that would prevent me from both staying here again and recommending it to a friend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munchkin81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and experience at a wedding with us. I'm delighted you were impressed with our value, wedding decor, food & service in general.

We look forward to your return

Kind Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,076
    570
    251
    140
    115
See reviews for
803
745
33
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Booked a family room to stay over night in September for myself, partner & 2 young children. Was a bit of a nightmare getting to our room as it was on the 5th floor & the lift only stopped at floors 4 & 6. Why have family rooms with no lift access?? Had to try & haul suitcase & pram up a flight of stairs! Then when retiring to our room that night, again having to take pram up a flight of stairs, the sensor lights in the corridor didnt come on till we were at our room door anyway.
Room was very spacious & clean. Had old water left in the kettle tho. Bathroom very clean but in need up updating. Had wooden panelling along the bath which was a bit worse for wear in places. Wood with water maybe not the best choice?
Wallpaper was peeling in quite a few places also.
Breakfast the next morning was fantastic. Had everything there you could have wanted. Service was excellent also. We were the first ones down for breakfast though as our kids were up from 6am!
Would stay again if our room was on a floor with a lift. Completely baffled why family rooms are on this floor!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nemo8222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay, I'm delighted you had a great time and you were impressed with the value & service offered.
You are correct in saying that some of our family rooms are on the 5th Floor. I can only assume that family rooms with lift access had been allocated by the time you arrived. We do try and make sure all families who may have a pram will get a room with lift access, however, at times, we are very busy with families and this results in one or two going on the 5th floor.

On your next stay, just request lift access and I am confident you will be looked after.

I look forward to your return

Kind Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2012

A great Hotel. Recently spent five days here on holiday. All staff were so pleasent, helpful, polite and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were spacious, clean and well maintained and the food was wholesome, plentyful with various choices. Thank you to all at Mount Errigal for making our stay so enjoyable. Would certainly recomment it and hope I get an opportunity to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
You are very welcome, and thank you for taking time out to write about your stay. We appreciate it very much, it makes all our efforts worthwhile when we get reviews like yours!

Kind Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We got it cheap, and we got what we paid for.

Room was large but tired, rips in the wallpaper scores on the woodwork
Really old bedding, but spotless.
Really old towels with a few tatty bits, but spotlessly clean
Really old TV etc, etc
The room was really loud with noise from the corridors making sleep difficult with the stream of hen party guests and wedding revelers making their way to bed. These guys were not being loud or raucous, but every sound seemed to be amplified to a level where they sounded like they were in the room with us!

I was there as part of a group and we had a fine weekend but I am glad I was not there for a quiet weekend, We were able to observe everyone having a great time in their parties. That was where the hotel failed for me. It seemed to be so busy catering for all of the large groups that it had run out of space for any-one who just wanted a quiet drink or somewhere to relax.

Evenings were a procession of large groups arriving and filling reception and the bar to then troop off to whichever function room they were in, only to be replaced by the next group filling the bar and so it went on.

We ate on both evenings from a pre-selected restricted menu. Service was OK both evenings, food similarly OK. It did what it said on the tin,

Staff were all friendly enough and any problems we had were resolved quickly and efficiently.

Range and standard of rooms is highly varied, with the low down rooms being particularly prone to dodgy views of car parks, bins and store rooms.

Room Tip: Don't go on your own. Go with a group and join in. High rooms to avoid the bins and the car park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polychrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for highlighting that you were impressed with the cleanliness of our hotel. I'm sorry you did not enjoy the busy atmosphere of our hotel, we make no secret that we are busy and we welcome groups. Weekends are particularly busy with us, which is one of the reasons we get positive reviews. If it is a quieter experience you are looking for, I would suggest coming to stay midweek or in January time.
We pride ourselves in offering the best possible rate at all times, the rates offered and service provided is usually commended, perhaps you have particularly high expectations in comparison to the majority of guests?
I'm sorry if you felt areas of your bedroom were old and worn, I'm surprised by this because we have just completed refurbishment in our bedrooms and all our rooms have 32 inch flatscreen TV's, maybe you have something more modern than that at home, so again, I apologise that this was a dissapointment.

I hope you will give us a second chance in the future.

Kind Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Had a great stay, good value for money, had room upgrade beautiful condition, staff very friendly
and helpful, will deffo be returning again. Staff all very hardworking, however never a problem and very considerate.

Room Tip: upgrade to suite, excellent value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denny d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Delighted you enjoyed your stay and thanks so much for taking time to post your review.

Looking forward to seeing you again in The Mount Errigal Hotel.

Kind Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed in Mount Errigal for a family wedding - the reception was held in the Mount Errigal. From original call to book our stay right up to our departure, the attention received from the staff was excellent. Breakfast and dinner were both very good - plenty of, large portions and very tasty. The bedroom was spacious and very clean, as was the hotel itself. The cost of our stay, which included dinner, was keenly priced. Without hesitation we would highly recommend the Mount Errigal as a top class hotel with fabulous staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherimc84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thanks a million for taking time out to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Thank you also for your kind comments about your experience at the Wedding in our hotel, we take great pride in all our weddings which is why we are very successful at increasing our bookings via word of mouth.

Warmest Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annalong County Down
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel. Very well priced and lovely food. Staff very friendly and special mention to the leisure staff especially Pauric that went out of his way to help. Very clean leisure complex compared to some I have been in. Keep up the good work and will see you at Easter.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank FHFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thanks a million for taking time out to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warmest Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#5 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,065 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.9 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
1.1 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.1 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Errigal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Errigal Hotel

Property: Mount Errigal Hotel
Address: Ballyraine, Letterkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#6 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Errigal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a great central location, within walking distance of Letterkenny Town, this luxury 3 star hotel and state-of-the-art leisure centre is close to pubs, nightlife, shopping and theatres. Free parking and Wi-Fi. The Mount Errigal Hotel has a leisure centre with a 20-metre swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room, and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Errigal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mount Errigal
Mount Errigal Letterkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing