We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignoring a complaint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Errigal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ignoring a complaint”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

During our stay in this hotel in February we were woken up on a Saturday night with an unmerciful row going on in the room next door. I tried phoning the reception desk but got no reply. The row continued an appeared to be getting more heated. A second attempt at telephoning the reception was successful and a security person did speak to the couple involved. Sadly the row continued on with no continuous banging of doors. A third attempt at trying to contact the reception failed and for a full two and a half hours I was subjected to listening to not a very nice fight taking place next door. On mentioning the incident to the reception staff the next morning they were quite uninterested and I have since sent two letters of complaint to the hotel management, sadly to say no reply. In my opinion the wellbeing and safety of the guests was ignored at the expense of a drunken foulmouthed row and the people involved allowed to stay in the hotel instead of being asked to leave and continue their disagreement on the street where I feel the people involved belonged

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Unfortunately, we have absolutely no record of your letters of complaint. We always reply to guest reviews, most of which are very positive.
I do apologise for the issues you encountered. It is impossible to anticipate the behavior of all guests and from time to time ( not very often), some guests do not consider the enjoyment of others. I am happy that our security did respond to your call, perhaps they were busy dealing with the disturbance when you called again.

Kind Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    587
    264
    144
    118
See reviews for
829
774
36
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My mother and I recently decided to take a one night mid week break in Donegal. We were booking last minute and wanted a value for money deal at a hotel with a lovely leisure centre. This brought us to the mount Errigal hotel where we paid €99 for two of us for b&b and dinner including use of the leisure centre. Our room twin room was huge! The leisure centre was top notch, the pool was a great size and the jacuzzi was equally good. We did not use the gym but it looked well equipped and was busy at all times when I passed. We had a good choice for dinner and the portion sizes were very generous. The dinner also included a glass of wine which we couldn't complain about! Breakfast the following morning was good and even though we came to the breakfast room just before 10am (the end of serving time) we didn't feel rushed to finish and there was plently of food food still available. As a treat we had a beauty treatment in the salon at the hotel which was just devine. The salon had several special offers on treatments and again we felt relaxed and not rushed even though we knew there was other customers awaiting treatments after us. All in all a very good stay that represented excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you very much for taking time out to submit a review of your recent stay. I am very happy that you appreciated the value of our 'One Night Delight' package which includes B&B, 2 course meal, glass of wine and full use of leisure centre for only €99!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Located just outside the town of Letterkenny this hotel does little to inspire on approach and the heart continues to sink along tired hallways, worn decor and extremely bland bedrooms. In saying that the staff are friendly when you manage to attract their attention and the food in the bar was quite good. Rates are very reasonable so I suppose you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drdryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I'm sorry you were unimpressed by our standard rooms, you will be happy to know that we have since refurbished these bedrooms to a very high standard.
We try our best to offer our guests the best possible rate without compromising on quality. Our pricing structure has resulted in numerous positive reviews as you can see on this site.

I hope you will join us again in the future and I can assure you that your next visit will leave you with a good impression.

Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Had a pleasant stay in this hotel. The room was very spacious with a lovely comfortable bed. The food was ok but didn't bring down my impression of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orlaghmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
I am delighted that you found our hotel to be great value and that you enjoyed our spacious standard bedrooms. We look forward to welcoming you again and thanks a million for taking time out to review your stay!

Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Was there for a short overnight for a business/pleasure trip. The hotel is very tired, but still very pleasant. The staff were lovely, and the food excellent. Nice huge bar, very old fashioned but that made it attractive.

The room (359) was huge but half empty. The view was of hotel roof tops, but that didn't matter. Went to bed quite late (for us) around 11.30, but music from a function or something did not stop until around 3.am. Also noise from outside was terrible. Still managed to sleep adequately!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I am delighted you appreciated our traditional decor, we try our best to create an 'ambient environment' in keeping with traditional Donegal. Our bedrooms have since been refurbished to a very high standard, still keeping them traditional in style but with a fresh & modern twist.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

having a bad thing to say about this hotel
rooms are big
decent tv with great selection of channels
cheap for the quality 100 euro for 4 people to 1 room
5 min drive from the town
would return again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemoose4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent break with us. We are delighted that you had a great time and appreciated the facilities in our standard room. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards
Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbartonshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stayed here from Mon 30 April until Fri 4 May and could find no fault with the hotel at all. The room was spacious considering I was on my own and had 2 double beds I have gone to hotels with my mother and not had such a big room for both of us. The en suite bathroom was clean and adequate for requirements and towels changed everyday. The food was superb and plentiful think I have put on quite a bit of weight as it was so good I ate more than I would normally. The jacuzzi was good as was the steam room and the massage I had in the beauty parlour was excellent and well worth the money. I would most certainly go back to this hotel as the service was first class deserves to have more tourist stars than it has.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErrigalSales, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thanks a million for your kind comments on your recent break with us. We are delighted you enjoyed our facilities and that you felt it was money well spent!

We are a 3* hotel, however, being family run, we often go that extra mile for our guests to ensure their stay is comfortable, enjoyable and memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Carolynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,110 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.9 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#3 of 12 in Letterkenny
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
0.9 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
3.1 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Errigal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Errigal Hotel

Property: Mount Errigal Hotel
Address: Ballyraine, Letterkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#6 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Errigal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a great central location, within walking distance of Letterkenny Town, this luxury 3 star hotel and state-of-the-art leisure centre is close to pubs, nightlife, shopping and theatres. Free parking and Wi-Fi. The Mount Errigal Hotel has a leisure centre with a 20-metre swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room, and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mount Errigal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mount Errigal
Mount Errigal Letterkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing