We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Externally starting to show it's age but good value for a short stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clanree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clanree Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Externally starting to show it's age but good value for a short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

This is a large busy hotel located on a main road just outside Letterkenny.
I've seen complaints in some reviews about traffic noise but you do know where it is before you book so you have a choice.My room was located on the side so I was not affected by any traffic sounds.
The room was clean and spacious and the bed was OK.However the very dark coloured furniture and the abscence of much light through the windows or from lamps made the room feel a bit depressing.
The restaurant served a very good value "early bird" special dinner and also had a very good value wine.The atmosphere and service in the restaurant was good.
Breakfast was not quite the same pleasant experience.It was very busy and because of the buffet style there were people constantly moving around.Additionally some of the hot offerings had obviously been around for a time.
Check out needs attention

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amberley46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    320
    162
    77
    38
See reviews for
303
405
23
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monaghan, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

myself and my husband stayed in the clanree for 2 nights (fri and sat). we ate in the bar where the food was very tasty and there was a really good menu to choose from. the service we recieved was friendly and welcoming. our room was very spacious and beatufully decorated. the location of the clanree hotel was very much suited to us, 5 min drive into letterkenny. both nights there was entertainment in the hotel which was enjoyed by people of all ages.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank march0488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

The hotel is in need of refurbishment- from the outside right through to the bedroom where we had stained carpet and torn bed cover - looking out our window we had a view of a flat roof where there were guests had thrown empty drinks bottles. The dining room was dark and dingy and the furniture and crockery was well worm- the food was bland and not very appealing. The Bar was not bad apart from the fact that bar staff who served us had body odour - which did not help when serving our food. This hotel is not for those looking for a comfortable relaxing break - the lesuire facilities was not inviting and although the staff were all pleasant and helpful, the surroundings were far from it. The hotel windows had not been cleaned in some time and inside the breakfast room the carpet and ceilings were stained and grubby. Suitable for hen/stag parties or those looking a night stop over in their way somewhere nice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAM2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

Close to town. Convenient as touring base. Large family room. Impressive public area. Kids love the swimming pool. Good food. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Family-Fong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

Just back from a 2 night Supervalu break.

First impression was very good, beautiful reception and although there werr a number of people checking in there were 2 receptionists working flat out so we were quickly checked in. We were allocated room 106 which was a lovely spacious room with 2 double beds, big bathroom and to our delight a mini kitchen complete with oven and hob although sadly no fridge or microwave. I would gladly have paid double if they had this.

The only thing letting the room down was the TV which was small and shoved away in the corner making it difficult to see. I was watching World Cup final and couldn,t pick out any of the Spanish team playing in Black.

First night's sleep was very comfortable, although our room was at back of hotel and had no view at least it meant it was quiet.

Breakfast was big let down. Restaurant was very packed with tables packed together. We were showen to table by very grumpy waitress. She returned a few minutes later to take drinks order, I ordered Tea but my wife wasn't given a chance to order the Coffe she desired and had to make do with sharing my pot of Tea

There was plenty of choice of cereals and fruit. Toast you made yourself in one of those machines also choice of wheaten bread and Danish. Unfortunatly we seemed to be limited to the 4 small portions of butter left on our table, there was no extra butter beside the breads, i had to go over the the waiters station to "liberate" some extra portions.

Mains consisted of usual sausage bacon etc along with roast potatoes but no fried bread. Although it was buffet style it was served from behind a glass shelf by yet more grumpy staff. Fayre was on cool side and sausages half raw but along with cereals etc we were able to get enough to satisfy us.

We didn't eat in bar or restaurant but food looked good in bar and seemed reasonably priced with a course tea for 20 Euros.
Leisure centre was good, big pool with built in whirlpool along with kids pool, and good Jacuzzi, steamroom and Sauna.
Changing rooms were bit old fashioned but clean.
On our 2nd night stay there was was a country show and dance We are Early to bed late to rise family and thought that music may disturb our beauty sleep but this was not the case. However our rest was disturbed by the fire alarm which went off not once but twice just after 1am which seemed to coincide with the end of the evenings festivities. Some of the guests were very noisy going back to their rooms but this is hardly the hotels fault.

Brakfest next morning was slightly better with staff seeming somewhat less pressurised and slightly less grumpy.

Again reception staff were very pleasant on check out.

I wiill be back if the price is right.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

I recently stayed in the Clanree Hotel with my wife and 3 month old son. This was our first family holiday and I was most impressed by the level of quality and service offered at this hotel. The staff were friendly and attentive, the restaurant food was of a very high standard complimented by a broad and affordable wine list. The room we stayed in was an executive room, well kitted out and with plenty of room for the cot that the hotel provided. The only disadvantage was perhaps the lack of WIFI in the hotel room, but then again this is Ireland and we are about 20 years behind where this is concerned. This hotel made an excellent base from which to explore Donegal's coast and mountains and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a2zkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

We recently stayed at this hotel. From the outside the hotel building looks tired and in need of a spruce up.

A four lane dual carriageway runs past this hotel. This road is always busy so turning right out of the hotel is impossible. It is safer to turn left and drive to the first roundabout if you want to return back onto the Sligo road or Derry road.

The hotel is about a five minute drive to Letterkenny town centre. Walking to the town is straight forward effort-turn left out the hotel entrance and keep going until you reach the town centre. The walk takes about thirty-five minutes so perhaps you should only walk to Letterkenny town centre if you require your daily exercise.

When you stay at the Clanree hotel you are hostage to their food and drink prices so it helps if you have a car so you can travel in and out to Letterkenny town centre to feed and entertain yourself.

Inside the hotel the decor is a mishmash of designer styles that seem rooted to the past. The reception area was bright and spacious. We were checked-in without any delay.

We can only comment on the room we were allocated. Our room was at the side of the hotel overlooking a carpark and within view of the main road.

The room was fine. The furniture and bed were standard hotel issue. The television was big enough to view from the bed.

There was a mini-bar and beverage making facilities in the room. Mini-bar content prices would give your wallet a heart attack so avoid.

Bathroom was spacious and well laid out. The bathroom fittings had seen better days and could do with updating. Lots of hot water and towels so no complaints there.

Housekeeping was efficient and operated without complaint.

A car park security light shining directly into the room was annoying but heavy curtains helped to curtail its impact on the room.

The major fault we have with our room was the air conditioning unit. It was not working at all which meant the room got very hot.

When we contacted the reception desk about this we were told that some of the air-conditioning units in the rooms were in need of service.

A desk-fan was supplied which helped but at times in the room it felt like the hotel’s leisure centre sauna had been moved to our room.

The room windows could only be opened to a short-span due to security latches.

As for the noise of the air conditioning unit; silent it was not as a massive hunk of an air conditioning unit keep gurgling through the night.

Breakfast served at the hotel is standard Irish hotel fare. Cereals, fruit, breads, hot food etc. Nothing exciting but enough to set you up for the day.

The hotel bar and restaurant was spacious and well laid out. The hotel attracts a mature family crowd so there is a nice friendly vibe in the hotel.

Hotel drink and food prices are a bit on the expensive side which is typical of eating out and drinking in Ireland.

Fifteen minutes walk/two minutes drive from the hotel as you heading into Letterkenny town there is a very good Indian restaurant called “Shapla”. There is a car park outside this restaurant.

We also used the hotel’s leisure centre. It had a swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. The centre was fine but needs a bit of a revamp and updating to modern design stands. Rusting lockers in the men’s changing room is not very appealing.

Overall, this hotel is fine hotel to base yourself while you explore Letterkenny and the surrounding areas.

For a bleeding-edge funky hotel in Letterkenny look elsewhere but for a solid and dependable Irish hotel you won’t go far astray by staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tshirtontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
1.6 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
1.7 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.2 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clanree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clanree Hotel

Property: Clanree Hotel
Address: Derry Road, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clanree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All you could want in a getaway...Plus More!!The Family Friendly 4* Clanree Hotel, Letterkenny, the ideal place to relax and revive. The 4* Clanree Hotel Letterkenny is ideally located for exploring beautiful Donegal and the Northwest of Ireland. Located only a few minutes drive from the bustling town centre of Letterkenny, the hotels accommodation boasts 120 luxurious en-suite rooms. The Aileach restaurant in the Clanree Hotel offers Award Winning food, while McGettigans Bar offers an extensive Bar Food Menu & live entertainment. Visitors can't fail to be impressed by its grand interior and wide range of facilities. The hotel boasts a fully equipped health and fitness club with a heated indoor 20m pool and children's pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steamroom, solarium and fully-equipped gym. There is an in-house beauty salon providing a full range of treatments and special 'pamper packages' are available throughout the year. What is there to do?....You will not be short of activities in the area from the many coastal drives to mapped walks, horse riding, surfing, fishing, golfing, karting, clay pigeon shooting plus more! Letterkenny town offers great shopping facilities, cinema, theatre and kids jungle gym & bowling. So, I am sure you will agree that the 4* Clanree is the perfect location for midweek breaks, weekend breaks, family breaks, & golden year's breaks...The team at the 4* Clanree Hotel look forward to welcoming you to Donegal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Clanree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clanree Hotel Letterkenny
Holiday Inn Letterkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing