We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most relaxing break”
Review of Clanree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clanree Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dromara, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Most relaxing break”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed in the Clanree for three nights for our 25th wedding anniversary, the Hotel was lovely and although it is under going renovations we were not inconvenienced in any way..The pool was very spacious an pleasant..The restaurant Decor was amazzin and we hit lucky on the Monday night With the steak night which was super value and the steaks were mouth watering yum !! the room was very comfy,The only Fault we could have about the Hotel was the heat !! (don't get me wrong I like the heat) But It was really over bearing they need to turn the thermostat down a little.. We turned our radiators off in the room but it made very little difference,Other than that we loved our stay here an will definiteliy retun Lovely Hotel ....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian54lion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Brian54lion,

Firstly we would like to take this opportunity to congratulate you both on your Silver Wedding anniversary and we were delighted and chuffed that you chose the Clanree Hotel & Leisure Center for your special break away on the occasion of your 25th wedding anniversary.
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your experience with us in The Clanree Hotel & Mc Gettigan's Bar. It was a pleasure to read your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed the experience so much.

It is always a real encouragement for staff members and management to read such praise regarding all area's of the hotel, we of course will look into the issue of the temperature in the bedroom.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and thank you again for your lovely review.
Kindest Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    340
    164
    78
    40
See reviews for
316
438
23
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

My sister and I had a lovely stay at the Clanree Hotel last night. We began with a super lunch in the bar where the staff were very friendly and courteous and the food was beautiful. From there we moved to the beauty salon where we both had a facial and a massage, many thanks to Margaret and Ailish who really helped us feel very relaxed and chilled. Really enjoyed the experience, best facial I've had for a long time- would highly recommend a visit to the salon. We had dinner in the restaurant and again the staff were friendly, courteous and efficient, the food was very tasty and we didn't feel rushed even though they were busy. Overall a lovely stay and we would definitely like to go back !

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoyAliT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank youso much for your fabulous review and kind words following your recent stay with us at The Clanree Hotel & Leisure Center Letterkenny.

We are delighted and also very proud that our team were able to assist you and your sister from the moment you arrived at the hotel.

It is a real pleasure to read that we impressed you so much and that you thought so highly of us and our service. I will certainly pass your comments on to all the team for them to enjoy,

Guest feedback is very important to the overall running of our hotel so thank you again for your most positive comments and for taking the time to post your review.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future and if we can assist in any way please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kindest Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
info@clanreehotel.com
0035374 91 24369.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stayed here Thursday to Saturday and very much enjoyed it. The hotel is very conveniently located and an excellent base for exploring Donegal. Check in was fast and the desk staff were very helpful. I got a room with a double and a single bed (and I was a single traveler) which was very comfortable and clean. The TV was modern and the water was clear (don't judge the hotel on the photos on this site alone!) Breakfast was buffet style and there was a large selection of cereal, fruit, bread, cold meats and also hot food, eggs, bacon, etc. Dining room staff attentive! I also had an evening meal in the hotel bar as it was included. The surroundings were very nice, must be quite newly renovated, and my meal was very tasty. Swimming pool was good, there is also a steam room and sauna, and the gym looks well equipped though I didn't try it.

I booked this hotel as the price was good value, although the reviews in this site are mixed. I think some of them must have stayed elsewhere as their reviews weren't indicative of my experience at all. Would recommend and stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackwhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Jackwhack,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us in The Clanree Hotel & leisure Center, we are truly delighted with your positive feedback. The team in the Clanree strive to deliver on all aspects and we are indeed overjoyed that you enjoyed our upgraded extensive breakfast buffet, dinner in the new Mc Gettigan's bar and the leisure facilities I do hope we get an opportunity to give you another warm welcome back to The Clanree in the near future.
Kindest regards,
Antoinette Coyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Just back from a lovely 2 day break with a deal we got through the daily mirror. Was welcomed by warm friendly staff throughout the stay and to our delight, was given a stunning large suite which had the wow factor!! The hotel is undergoing refurbishment at the moment but even when you just arrive, you are greeted by a gorgeous reception area, with a stunning sweeping staircase. The food in both the bar and restaurant is excellent with a fabulous breakfast provided in the morning. We enjoyed the leisure centre even though the sauna and steam room were under renovation. The large pool is fantastic for both adults and children. The hotel is a great location with being just 5 mins from the city centre and McGettigans bar in the hotel is great for both dining aswell as socialising, with entertainment provided at weekends. Will definately be back as I feel it will be even better when the work is finished

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are very quiet and the suites are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deirdre501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Deirdre & David,
We are delighted to receive such a glowing and informative review on your recent visit to the Clanree Hotel & Leisure Center, so pleasing to read such positive feedback and that we delivered in all aspects of your visit with us, we are thrilled that you were impressed with our suite it is indeed very spacious and luxurious. I do hope we will see you again soon in the not too distant future.
Kindest Regards,
Antoinette Coyle
info@clanreehotel.com
00353 74 91 24369.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

I was disappointed with the hotel. My room had black mould from condensation on the walls beside the windows. The chair in the room had the imprint of a iron someone had at some point left a hot iron by mistake.
The Spa was dirty and well in need of renovation.
I hear they are renovating the rest of the hotel and Spa. On the upside the price is good and their new bar is great. Friendly staff too. Room 238

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Claire M,
Thank you for choosing the Clanree Hotel & Leisure Center for your recent visit to Letterkenny and for taking time to share your feedback which we really appreciate. I am sorry you that you encountered issues with your bedroom, the points you have raised will get our full attention. I am confident you will not be disappointed should you return to visit us again in the future you will see the improvements which are scheduled for the bedrooms and other areas of the Hotel, we do wish to thank you for your kind comments on our new Mc Gettigan's Bar and the staff friendliness.
Hoping you will give us a chance to impress in the near future and redeem your faith in the Clanree Hotel & Leisure Center,
Kindest Regards,
Antoinette Coyle,
info@clanreehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballymena
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights and 3 days here on a groupon deal. A perfect base for exploring donegal. Friendly helpful staff throughout the hotel. Room was warm comfortable with all standard features needed. Leisure centre getting renovated but did not affect having an enjoyable swim..towels ect supplied. A hearty breakfast set us up for a days walking in the mountains..we will be back and would have no hesitation in recommending to others. Thank you all at Clanree

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank michael245robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Linda & Michael,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, delighted to read you had such a lovely time on your Groupon break away and thanks you for mentioning the friendliness of the team in the Clanree Hotel and the facilities we have to offer all our guests so happy to learn you relaxed and enjoyed the Leisure facilities and well done for getting out and about on the mountains in this inclement weather we are having at the minute, Donegal has a lot to offer outdoor sports enthusiasts such as hill walking and cycling with lots of trails available. Looking forward to your next visit hopefully in 2014,
Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
0749124369
info@clanreehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We were very disappointed having stayed at The Clanree numerous times before and having enjoyed each previous visit.Unfortunately when we checked into our family room we had been given the wrong room and had to go back to reception to have this changed.The Jaccuzzi was freezing and had no "out of order"sign to highlight this and the steam room was not working.My children found the showers extremely hot and could not wash their hair due to water temperature and showered once back in hotel room.The breakfast was delicious which made up for the above problems.Disappointed with this stay.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Sharlene G,
Many thanks for your valued custom and for choosing to stay again with us at The Clanree Hotel & Leisure Center. Firstly I really want to thank you for your kind comments on the breakfast offering but
we are genuinely disappointed to read that you encountered a number of issues during your stay and I would like to apologise for the disappointment that you experienced whilst you were here on a family break, immediate repairs has been carried out in the Leisure center and sincere apologies on the room allocation being incorrect on arrival we do hope that we will be given a chance to redeem your faith in The Clanree Hotel at a future date, please contact me at info@clanreehotel and I will assure you of the team's best attention to you and your family,
Sincere Regards,
Antoinette Coyle
074 91 24369.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letterkenny
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
1.6 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#3 of 12 in Letterkenny
340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
1.7 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
23.0 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clanree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clanree Hotel

Property: Clanree Hotel
Address: Derry Road, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clanree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All you could want in a getaway...Plus More!!The Family Friendly 4* Clanree Hotel, Letterkenny, the ideal place to relax and revive. The 4* Clanree Hotel Letterkenny is ideally located for exploring beautiful Donegal and the Northwest of Ireland. Located only a few minutes drive from the bustling town centre of Letterkenny, the hotels accommodation boasts 120 luxurious en-suite rooms. The Aileach restaurant in the Clanree Hotel offers Award Winning food, while McGettigans Bar offers an extensive Bar Food Menu & live entertainment. Visitors can't fail to be impressed by its grand interior and wide range of facilities. The hotel boasts a fully equipped health and fitness club with a heated indoor 20m pool and children's pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steamroom, solarium and fully-equipped gym. There is an in-house beauty salon providing a full range of treatments and special 'pamper packages' are available throughout the year. What is there to do?....You will not be short of activities in the area from the many coastal drives to mapped walks, horse riding, surfing, fishing, golfing, karting, clay pigeon shooting plus more! Letterkenny town offers great shopping facilities, cinema, theatre and kids jungle gym & bowling. So, I am sure you will agree that the 4* Clanree is the perfect location for midweek breaks, weekend breaks, family breaks, & golden year's breaks...The team at the 4* Clanree Hotel look forward to welcoming you to Donegal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clanree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clanree Hotel Letterkenny
Holiday Inn Letterkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing