We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No lights on - nobody home”
Review of Clanree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clanree Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“No lights on - nobody home”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Booked our stay for a few nights during the Christmas break. We chose the Clanree due to their competitive pricing. When we arrived in Letterkenny, we found that the hotel had closed for Christmas and had not yet reopened. We made several calls to the Hotel but the phone rang out. The carpark was empty and there were no lights on in the entire place. We waited for a few hours and eventually went off in search of other accommodation. I'm just glad we didn't prepay. And also that we managed to find accommodation in the end. We had to go to 3 other hotels before we could find someone to take us. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Natasha C,
We were very disappointed to learn that you were unable to stay with us in the Clanree Hotel. The Hotel closed late on Christmas Eve and reopened the doors @ 3pm on St. Stephen's Day 26th December , check in time for all arrivals is from 3pm onwards and we are saddened to read that you were unable to check in we had called all our arrivals prior to Christmas to inform and remind them of check in time as some guests do arrive quite early but unfortunately we were unable to contact yourself as the number given through booking.com was incorrect and would not connect unfortunately.
Again sincere apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused and I do hope you get the opportunity to visit Donegal and Ireland again in the near future.
Sincere Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    334
    164
    77
    39
See reviews for
311
426
23
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Visited the Clanree on a Groupon Deal. Very impressed with the reception area of the hotel. Reception staff were welcoming and very efficient. Room was great with 2 double beds and was comfortably warm. Leisure facilities were excellent and we made use of the swimming pool, gym and steam room. However, we were a bit disappointed with the Jacuzzi and Sauna as they were both cold and couldn't be used during our visit. Hopefully they will have heated up when we make a return trip. Overall, a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear GlynnC,
Many thanks for choosing the Clanree Hotel for your recent stay, and we are truly delighted you had such a positive experience with us, and I have passed on your lovely comments to the team at reception for a job well done, I do apologise for the issue in our leisure centre and we have since rectified the problem, I really look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and if we can assist you with anything please do not hesitate to contact us either by email or telephone 074 9124369 or info@clanreehotel.com
Warm Regards,
Antoinette Coyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We recently stayed for two nights at this hotel. All in all in was a fantastic weekend.
The staff were so friendly and efficient. The room was well appointed and kept nice and warm at all times. The food was excellent. The breakfast was a choice of cereals, juices, breads and fruit. Or the traditional full Irish. The hotel bar, McGettigans, was a great place to relax in a very friendly atmosphere with some terrific live music.
The only negative point and its a small point, is the wifi was pretty useless!
I highly recommend this place if you're planning a stay in Letterkenny.
Thanks for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTB392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear PTB 392,
On behalf of the entire team at the Clanree Hotel I would like to sincerely thank you for choosing The Clanree and for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us here, we are delighted to read your lovely comments on all aspects of your stay and your positive recommendation regarding all our food service is very much appreciated, the team endeavor to deliver the highest standard in guest care and it isalways a pleasure to receive feedback such as yours,we very much hope to welcome you back to the Clanree Hotel in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance at all. contact us at info@clanreehotel.com
Warm Regards,
Antoinette Coyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

The place was cold the room was horrible. And everything was oh at your own risk. Anythin u asked the staff were all I dont know. Place wasa joke. Only good thing was the food. Mcgettigans was ok but if ya the way the people stare at ya like they r gonna lynch ya

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kyle8809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Kyle 8809.
In response to your Trip Advisor review of your recent visit to The Clanree Hotel. It is with regret we receive your comments however it is difficult to measure your feedback given in your review and the manner in which it is written. We do have a manager available on duty at all times and would have happily dealt with any problems you may have had and it would have been our pleasure to have given you a different room if we had known you had any issues with it. If you would like to discuss this matter further please do not hesitate to contact me at info@clanreehotel.com or tel:
0749124369.
Many thanks &
Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Got a great deal on Booking.com, we love this hotel, stayed for just the 2 nights.

Apparently we'll not recognize the hotel when we next return as a complete re-fit is planned.
If it is half as good as the new bar it will be great.

We used the bar food only - great choice and value - oh, and Coors on draught - heaven.

Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and plenty of room - no waiting.

Tip, if you are driving out of the car park and wish to turn right and are a visitor, it's much safer to just go left up to a roundabout and come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peteram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Peteram,
Thank you for spending your well earned holiday with us at the Clanree Hotel Letterkenny. We were delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable experience. Our team endeavor to provide the very highest standard in guest care and attention and it is always a pleasure to receive feedback such as yours. We would of course be delighted to welcome you back to see the new & improved changes to The Clanree Hotel and if we can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact us at : reservations@clanreehotel.com
Many thanks &
Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Love this hotel.....STAFF brilliant....
New owner....doing a grand job....New bar looks amazing..........was well look after ......by ......two members of staff......their names where ....Carol and Jenna

Room Tip: Don't. Get one at the front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caron s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Caron S,
The you so much for your kind and warm comments we sincerely appreciate your feedback the Team @ The Clanree are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we really look forward to you returning for another visit in the very near future.
Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

A hotel which has the potential to push for 4 stars but is barely making a 3 star standard. I could rant over the plethora of small issues which hampered a working weekend in Letterkenny but I won't. Why you ask? Well, a full carpark, busy lobby and steady stream of guests would suggest the proprietors are of the consenus 'if it isn't broken, then don't fix it'. Unfortunatley, it is broken. In this statement I include the pumbling, bathroom fixtures, Narniaesque furniture and overall room standard. Perhaps we were unlucky in room allocation. But I suspect that the reason payment is taken in advance is due to people being ticked off at the place and trying to leave. We considered it.....every night of our baltic stay.

Room Tip: Stay clear of road frontage rooms. Unless you wish to witness the crazy car racing that lends Donega...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AhJaysusJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your recent feedback on your stay in The Clanree Hotel, we do take all feedback seriously and strive to improve from our guests findings, we do have major investments and improvements ongoing and the recent total refurbishment of The Mc Gettigan's Bar was the first stage of this however we were disappointed to learn you found the hotel cold I do apologize that we failed to deliver as we strive to provide our guests with every possible comfort we would have been delighted to change your room for you had we have known you were not comfortable during your stay, I do hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future where you will see the improvements made by the owners and management of the Clanree Hotel.
Warm regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
1.7 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.2 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clanree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clanree Hotel

Property: Clanree Hotel
Address: Derry Road, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clanree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All you could want in a getaway...Plus More!!The Family Friendly 4* Clanree Hotel, Letterkenny, the ideal place to relax and revive. The 4* Clanree Hotel Letterkenny is ideally located for exploring beautiful Donegal and the Northwest of Ireland. Located only a few minutes drive from the bustling town centre of Letterkenny, the hotels accommodation boasts 120 luxurious en-suite rooms. The Aileach restaurant in the Clanree Hotel offers Award Winning food, while McGettigans Bar offers an extensive Bar Food Menu & live entertainment. Visitors can't fail to be impressed by its grand interior and wide range of facilities. The hotel boasts a fully equipped health and fitness club with a heated indoor 20m pool and children's pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steamroom, solarium and fully-equipped gym. There is an in-house beauty salon providing a full range of treatments and special 'pamper packages' are available throughout the year. What is there to do?....You will not be short of activities in the area from the many coastal drives to mapped walks, horse riding, surfing, fishing, golfing, karting, clay pigeon shooting plus more! Letterkenny town offers great shopping facilities, cinema, theatre and kids jungle gym & bowling. So, I am sure you will agree that the 4* Clanree is the perfect location for midweek breaks, weekend breaks, family breaks, & golden year's breaks...The team at the 4* Clanree Hotel look forward to welcoming you to Donegal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Clanree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clanree Hotel Letterkenny
Holiday Inn Letterkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing