We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clanree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clanree Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

I recently took my boyfriend away for two nights gor his birthday. Having read the reviews I went ahead and bookef I have not one fault withe the hotel.. we arrived at 2pm and asked to be checked in and that was not a problem as check in was not to 3pm. We arrived at our room on the 1st floor where it was clean and very nice no complaints about the room.. people saying about beds hard and not comfortable is lies!! We went for our evening meal where the staff wer very friendly and helpful great food and quick service.. reception staff wer more than helpful.. we spent fri night in the down stairs bar for the social dancing which was good craic and bar staff where so helpfjl and recommend places to go and rang a taxi for us... carvary food is fantastic highly recommend this hotel you wont be disappointed I really enjoyed my stay and hope to return in the near future keep up the good work :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ange1590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Angie1590,
The management and staff truthfully appreciate your lovely comments and feedback on your recent stay with us in the Clanree Hotel, delighted to read that you loved and enjoyed the whole Clanree Hotel experience and the entertainment we provided in our bar, We are opening our new Mc Gettigan's bar next week and we are very excited with this and looking forward to our guests enjoying this new facility.
We would be delighted to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon and if we can assist in any way please do not hesitate to contact me on reservations@clanreehotel,com /Tel 00353 749124369.
Many thanks again &
Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    320
    162
    77
    38
See reviews for
303
405
23
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larne Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in October at this hotel. The room was big and spacious, not much of an outlook as we were at back of hotel but not unduly worried as we were only sleeping there. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was big and spacious. Tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryer in the room were appreciated. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The facilities were great and particularly liked the pool/spa. The restaurant food was lovely and service was excellent. We used this as a base for touring around and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tenmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear tenmj,

We are delighted to read your lovely review of your recent stay with us in the Clanree hotel and that you enjoyed all the facilities we have to offer, we are indeed ideally located as a very central base for touring the beautiful North West. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Many thanks &
Sincere regards,
Antoinette Coyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randalstown, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

My Husband and i have stayed iin the Clanree Hotel 2 -3 times a year and last weekend (15-11-2013) was no different, we had a wonderful time, The room was spotlessly clean and very spacious, the food was excellent, and the buffet breakfast is one of the best we have had anywhere. We had a very relaxing weekend making full use of the Spa facilities, Cant wait to return and find the new bar McGettigan's opened. All in all 10/10 we would highly recommend this hotel.
Damian & Trish Martin

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trishie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Trishie 2013,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at The Clanree Hotel. We are happy and delighted to hear that you enjoyed the experience.

We appreciate all guest feedback, particularly as it helps us to progress and improve our standards to provide our guests with the best possible service and experience.

Again many thanks for the lovely feedback.

Trish and Damien wee hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you both back again sometime in the not too distant future and if we can assist you in any way please do not hesitate to contact us at reservations@clanreehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here for two nights and had a great time. The room was very spacious and clean but could have done with some revamping. We had dinner in the restaurant on the second night and all 3 courses were delicious, I recommend the Caesar salad and the steak. All the restaurant were really friendly and efficient. There was live music in the bar both nights which was good and it was busy but still very relaxing. As myself and my partner are in the hospitality business we like to chat to guests and we would expect the same when we stay in hotels and that's exactly what we got with the barman Linden. He was really nice and welcoming. All in all it was a great and relaxing experience and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xtine000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Xtine000,
Thank you so much for such a glowing and detailed review we are truthfully delighted with your lovely comments regarding all aspects, we have indeed planned refurbishments for the bedrooms in the very near future, the newly refurbished Mc Gettigan's bar is now opening next week, we do hope you get the opportunity to visit us again very soon. If we can assist you in any way please do not hesitate to contact us at reservations@clanreehotel,com
Many thanks &
Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Employers: A word to the wise.

In the hotel sector your staff are your representatives,and competent friendly staff are worth their weight in gold,they solve the problems and meet the demands or regular Joe soaps like me and trust me they do deal with lots of what can only be described as BRIARS who like to complain even though there is nothing wrong.Take The Clanree Hotel situated on the outskirts of Letterkenny as an example,I stay there on occasion and have always found it a pleasant experience,it has a swimming pool and gym if you want to exercise,a bar and good food if you dont! Nice friendly bar and reception staff,in particular the ever lovely and professional Jo whose seemingly infinite supply of patience, pleasant manner and ability to solve the biggest of problems in seconds is second to none,aided and abetted by the equally charming Duty Manager Elaine who works tirelessly to make sure any request is fulfilled with a smile.Its friendly and courteous staff like this who make you want to come back.Check it out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Derek B,
Many thanks for your recent review on your recent stays in the Clanree Hotel, indeed we agree the team play a very important role in the smooth operation of the business, and we are delighted to read we have delivered in all areas. Both the ladies are indeed pleased with your lovely comments. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Clanree very soon.
Many thanks &
Kind regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a few days away in the clanree,,hotel lovely,.rooms need of a major update,,our room was full of damp around the walls,,heating was on 2 times per day & the room was always cold,,food menu needs a big shake up,,very expensive & poor quality,,the staff were good,,

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear David 1,
Many thanks for reviewing your stay with us on tripadvisor, we appreciate all feedback from our guests,your lovely comments on the staff and room is very much appreciated, I apologize on behalf of the team if we failed to deliver in some aspects, however I am delighted to say that actions are being addressed by the management team here and presently we are introducing our new menus which I am sure you will agree there is a great choice for everyone, we are currently also refurbishing different area's throughout the hotel and this will enhance the overall experience for all our guests. We would of course welcome the opportunity to restore your faith in the Clanree Hotel should you be visiting Letterkenny again in the near future please do not hesitate to contact us if we can assist you in any way.
Sincere Regards,
Antoinette Coyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballymena
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Fantastic hotel had a lovely weekend had a fantastic room 113 great for big families great part of the hotel just across from gym great staff brilliant breakfast beautiful hotel can't wait to go back well done clanree great experiance from start to finish the weekend went way to fast

Room Tip: Our room 113 great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denise c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Denise C,
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review, we are delighted to read your comments on your experience here with us at The Clanree Hotel and really appreciate your feedback, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
1.7 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.7 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.2 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clanree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clanree Hotel

Property: Clanree Hotel
Address: Derry Road, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clanree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All you could want in a getaway...Plus More!!The Family Friendly 4* Clanree Hotel, Letterkenny, the ideal place to relax and revive. The 4* Clanree Hotel Letterkenny is ideally located for exploring beautiful Donegal and the Northwest of Ireland. Located only a few minutes drive from the bustling town centre of Letterkenny, the hotels accommodation boasts 120 luxurious en-suite rooms. The Aileach restaurant in the Clanree Hotel offers Award Winning food, while McGettigans Bar offers an extensive Bar Food Menu & live entertainment. Visitors can't fail to be impressed by its grand interior and wide range of facilities. The hotel boasts a fully equipped health and fitness club with a heated indoor 20m pool and children's pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steamroom, solarium and fully-equipped gym. There is an in-house beauty salon providing a full range of treatments and special 'pamper packages' are available throughout the year. What is there to do?....You will not be short of activities in the area from the many coastal drives to mapped walks, horse riding, surfing, fishing, golfing, karting, clay pigeon shooting plus more! Letterkenny town offers great shopping facilities, cinema, theatre and kids jungle gym & bowling. So, I am sure you will agree that the 4* Clanree is the perfect location for midweek breaks, weekend breaks, family breaks, & golden year's breaks...The team at the 4* Clanree Hotel look forward to welcoming you to Donegal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Clanree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clanree Hotel Letterkenny
Holiday Inn Letterkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing