We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIT FOR A KING”
Review of Clanree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clanree Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I think that the name ‘Clanree’ comes from the Gaelic ‘Clann Rí’ – The King’s Family – and indeed this is a hotel fit for a king. I had occasion to organise a dance weekend for 80 of my friends from the West of Ireland who were joined by fellow dancers from al over Donegal, North West Ireland and indeed as far away as Dublin and Cork. Some 100 patrons stayed in the hotel and the others travelled on a daily basis. The accommodation, food and leisure centre facilities were of a very high standard; The hotel staff were welcoming, friendly and efficient and added greatly to the convivial atmosphere generated by the gathering. The hotel provided the dance facility in their magnificent Ballroom and even put down an extension to their fixed dance floor to accommodate the 200 dancers. We had a modt enjoyable weekend and, on behalf of all the dancers, I thank Michael , Annette and Nollag and through them al the staff members for their hospitality par excellence.

Room Tip: I was allocated a room at random and found it to be clean, spacious, well appointed, comfortable and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank padraigoruanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Natasha C,
We were very disappointed to learn that you were unable to stay with us in the Clanree Hotel. The Hotel closed late on Christmas Eve and reopened the doors @ 3pm on St. Stephen's Day 26th December , check in time for all arrivals is from 3pm onwards and we are saddened to read that you were unable to check in we had called all our arrivals prior to Christmas to inform and remind them of check in time as some guests do arrive quite early but unfortunately we were unable to contact yourself as the number given through booking.com was incorrect and would not connect unfortunately.
Again sincere apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused and I do hope you get the opportunity to visit Donegal and Ireland again in the near future.
Sincere Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

781 - 787 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Brilliant staff, brilliant weekend and food was lovely. Family rooms are massive. We will stay again. My husband left his change 30 euro on the bar forgot completely about it as he was talking and thought he lifted it. We would like to thank the lovely young bar man who came over to him a while later and asked, did he leave his change on the bar and gave it back 2 him. Very honest and lovely young man, didn't get his name but he also got my 17 year old ice-cream at 10.30 at night, lol, he'll remember that. We stayed the 24th and 25th of August.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sile T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Claire M,
Thank you for choosing the Clanree Hotel & Leisure Center for your recent visit to Letterkenny and for taking time to share your feedback which we really appreciate. I am sorry you that you encountered issues with your bedroom, the points you have raised will get our full attention. I am confident you will not be disappointed should you return to visit us again in the future you will see the improvements which are scheduled for the bedrooms and other areas of the Hotel, we do wish to thank you for your kind comments on our new Mc Gettigan's Bar and the staff friendliness.
Hoping you will give us a chance to impress in the near future and redeem your faith in the Clanree Hotel & Leisure Center,
Kindest Regards,
Antoinette Coyle,
info@clanreehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Was here recently for a wedding. Staff were excellent from reception to bar staff waiters and waitresses Nothing was too much bother. The food was gorgeous, hotel was massive. Rooms were grand had a great stay and value for money. Definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francine o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Sales & Marketing Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you so much for taking time out to review your recent stay, it is very encouraging and makes all our efforts worthwhile to read your comments!. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the wedding reception you attended. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warmest Regards Annette O'Donnell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is easily located and provides ample parking. The restaurant and bar food menus provide a good choice and the leisure facilities are excellent. Rooms are spacious and clean and the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IsobelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Sales & Marketing Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

On behalf of our team at the Clanree Hotel sincere thanks for taking the time to advise others about your Clanree experience. I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us& to hear that you enjoyed the many positive aspects of the Hotel like the Staff, leisure facilities, rooms and décor & the Food. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future, a warm welcome awaits.
Many thanks again, Annette O'Donnell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed at the weekend for the north west truck fest, we were met with ladies complaining about their room to the receptionnist the male manager just looked at us and never even smiled or said hello(mr personality we called him) Lot of hungry lorry drivers looking for sirolin steak just to be told they had none left. Now the hotel knew what was coming they ran out of crisps as well, very badly organised. Bedrooms are doom and gloom paint of the walls and in bad need of being upgraded. Few lovely young staff in bar pity the older staff in this place couldn't learn to be as jolly as them. Stayed the next night in a far better place, won't be staying in the clanree again

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Sales & Marketing Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we were fortunately extremely busy on that particular weekend. As a team we were also extremely prepared for the large numbers of guests visiting the Hotel as do hold big events on a regular basis & by no means did we run out of Sirloin??? I am very dis-heartened to read your comments however as the Staff at the Clanree Hotel strive at all times to provide a top quality experience for all our guests, I am extremely disappointed & alarmed to hear that you did not find all the staff to be helpful & friendly at the Hotel as we frequently get high praise for the positive attitude of the entire team & many guests return for that very reason. I'm sorry if our décor in our bedrooms was not to your particular taste. Thank you again for your feedback as it is comments such as yours that help us improve our high standards & customer satisfaction. Kind Regards Annette O’Donnell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

On a recent visit to the Clanree hotel for the Fleadh Cheoil we found the hotel an ideal location for travelling in & out of Derry, spacious bar,lobby, restaurant but the bedrooms need a lot of attention & upgrading while it was clean it was a bit cramped for 5 people. Breakfast was a bit if a shambles on the first morning with one lady trying to do the serve over & check people's room numbers, service was slow & no juice cereal or tea or coffee for at least 20 mins. It wasn't the ladies fault just poor rostering on what was a busy weekend & a full house!! Bar food was lovely but again slow no numbers on tables which lead to a lot if confusion when paying bills!! However the staff we very nice & friendly. We enjoyed the entertainment at night with plenty of room for dancing. Just one more negative which the management need to look at we were with a large group for Fleadh Cheoil which ran late on the Saturday night one of our party rang the hotel to express this as the food finishes at 8:45/9 we informed the hotel that there was two bus loads of people hungry & thristy however they couldn't or wouldn't cater for us the chef got the blame for this!!! We did however get fed in the nearby Mount Errigal who were more than delighted to see 80 people come through the door they but on a small menu which was perfect. So the long & the short of it is that the management team at the Clanree need to have a look at this things in this economic time what a boo boo to have made!! 80 by average of €15 per head plus drinks.... Big mistake.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerryharry26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Sales & Marketing Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the many positive aspects of the Hotel like the Location, nice & friendly Staff, Bar, Lobby & Restaurant. We were fortunately extremely busy on the weekend of the Fleadh however as a team we were also extremely prepared for the large numbers of guests visiting & staying in the Hotel. The breakfast items do have to be refreshed during the course of the morning to ensure breakfast items are kept fresh & at their peak, so apologies if you found there to be a delay. In regards to your comments regarding your group not been catered for in the Hotel, I find this claim to be suspicious! We had many individual guests attending the Fleadh staying with us & also a large Party – not the same amount as you have mentioned- this group had pre booked all catering requirements prior to arriving & all requests were happily accommodated. A full investigation was made into your claim, discussions with our Front Desk Team, Kitchen Team & the Manager on Duty & no one called the Hotel looking for Catering for 80 people- indeed we would have been delighted to cater for you. Kind Regards Annette O’Donnell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Spent 2 nights at this hotel with family.Had a lovely time.Great location for exploring Donegal.Food really nice and staff very helpful.Pool good size and great for the kids.Would recommend.Shower in room is brilliant.

Room Tip: We had a family room with 2 double beds which was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianeportadown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Sales & Marketing Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you so much for taking time out to review your recent stay, it is very encouraging and makes all our efforts worthwhile! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warmest Regards Annette O'Donnell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letterkenny
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,293 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
369 reviews
1.7 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
23.0 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clanree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clanree Hotel

Address: Derry Road, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range: $68 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clanree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All you could want in a getaway...Plus More!!The Family Friendly 4* Clanree Hotel, Letterkenny, the ideal place to relax and revive. The 4* Clanree Hotel Letterkenny is ideally located for exploring beautiful Donegal and the Northwest of Ireland. Located only a few minutes drive from the bustling town centre of Letterkenny, the hotels accommodation boasts 120 luxurious en-suite rooms. The Aileach restaurant in the Clanree Hotel offers Award Winning food, while McGettigans Bar offers an extensive Bar Food Menu & live entertainment. Visitors can't fail to be impressed by its grand interior and wide range of facilities. The hotel boasts a fully equipped health and fitness club with a heated indoor 20m pool and children's pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steamroom, solarium and fully-equipped gym. There is an in-house beauty salon providing a full range of treatments and special 'pamper packages' are available throughout the year. What is there to do?....You will not be short of activities in the area from the many coastal drives to mapped walks, horse riding, surfing, fishing, golfing, karting, clay pigeon shooting plus more! Letterkenny town offers great shopping facilities, cinema, theatre and kids jungle gym & bowling. So, I am sure you will agree that the 4* Clanree is the perfect location for midweek breaks, weekend breaks, family breaks, & golden year's breaks...The team at the 4* Clanree Hotel look forward to welcoming you to Donegal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clanree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clanree Hotel Letterkenny
Holiday Inn Letterkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing