We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Clanree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clanree Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
County Antrim
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is easily located and provides ample parking. The restaurant and bar food menus provide a good choice and the leisure facilities are excellent. Rooms are spacious and clean and the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IsobelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Sales & Marketing Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
On behalf of our team at the Clanree Hotel sincere thanks for taking the time to advise others about your Clanree experience. I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us& to hear that you enjoyed the many positive aspects of the Hotel like the Staff, leisure facilities, rooms and décor & the Food. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future, a warm welcome awaits.
Many thanks again, Annette O'Donnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    340
    164
    78
    40
See reviews for
316
438
23
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed at the weekend for the north west truck fest, we were met with ladies complaining about their room to the receptionnist the male manager just looked at us and never even smiled or said hello(mr personality we called him) Lot of hungry lorry drivers looking for sirolin steak just to be told they had none left. Now the hotel knew what was coming they ran out of crisps as well, very badly organised. Bedrooms are doom and gloom paint of the walls and in bad need of being upgraded. Few lovely young staff in bar pity the older staff in this place couldn't learn to be as jolly as them. Stayed the next night in a far better place, won't be staying in the clanree again

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Sales & Marketing Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we were fortunately extremely busy on that particular weekend. As a team we were also extremely prepared for the large numbers of guests visiting the Hotel as do hold big events on a regular basis & by no means did we run out of Sirloin??? I am very dis-heartened to read your comments however as the Staff at the Clanree Hotel strive at all times to provide a top quality experience for all our guests, I am extremely disappointed & alarmed to hear that you did not find all the staff to be helpful & friendly at the Hotel as we frequently get high praise for the positive attitude of the entire team & many guests return for that very reason. I'm sorry if our décor in our bedrooms was not to your particular taste. Thank you again for your feedback as it is comments such as yours that help us improve our high standards & customer satisfaction. Kind Regards Annette O’Donnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

On a recent visit to the Clanree hotel for the Fleadh Cheoil we found the hotel an ideal location for travelling in & out of Derry, spacious bar,lobby, restaurant but the bedrooms need a lot of attention & upgrading while it was clean it was a bit cramped for 5 people. Breakfast was a bit if a shambles on the first morning with one lady trying to do the serve over & check people's room numbers, service was slow & no juice cereal or tea or coffee for at least 20 mins. It wasn't the ladies fault just poor rostering on what was a busy weekend & a full house!! Bar food was lovely but again slow no numbers on tables which lead to a lot if confusion when paying bills!! However the staff we very nice & friendly. We enjoyed the entertainment at night with plenty of room for dancing. Just one more negative which the management need to look at we were with a large group for Fleadh Cheoil which ran late on the Saturday night one of our party rang the hotel to express this as the food finishes at 8:45/9 we informed the hotel that there was two bus loads of people hungry & thristy however they couldn't or wouldn't cater for us the chef got the blame for this!!! We did however get fed in the nearby Mount Errigal who were more than delighted to see 80 people come through the door they but on a small menu which was perfect. So the long & the short of it is that the management team at the Clanree need to have a look at this things in this economic time what a boo boo to have made!! 80 by average of €15 per head plus drinks.... Big mistake.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerryharry26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Sales & Marketing Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the many positive aspects of the Hotel like the Location, nice & friendly Staff, Bar, Lobby & Restaurant. We were fortunately extremely busy on the weekend of the Fleadh however as a team we were also extremely prepared for the large numbers of guests visiting & staying in the Hotel. The breakfast items do have to be refreshed during the course of the morning to ensure breakfast items are kept fresh & at their peak, so apologies if you found there to be a delay. In regards to your comments regarding your group not been catered for in the Hotel, I find this claim to be suspicious! We had many individual guests attending the Fleadh staying with us & also a large Party – not the same amount as you have mentioned- this group had pre booked all catering requirements prior to arriving & all requests were happily accommodated. A full investigation was made into your claim, discussions with our Front Desk Team, Kitchen Team & the Manager on Duty & no one called the Hotel looking for Catering for 80 people- indeed we would have been delighted to cater for you. Kind Regards Annette O’Donnell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Spent 2 nights at this hotel with family.Had a lovely time.Great location for exploring Donegal.Food really nice and staff very helpful.Pool good size and great for the kids.Would recommend.Shower in room is brilliant.

Room Tip: We had a family room with 2 double beds which was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianeportadown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Sales & Marketing Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time out to review your recent stay, it is very encouraging and makes all our efforts worthwhile! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warmest Regards Annette O'Donnell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

checked in on the evening of the 8th of August, and had some issues with the rate of the room price, and I was disappointed to be greeted by a rather dismissive and overall unfriendly receptionist. What could have been an easily resolved issue became a rather unpleasant encounter.

Apart from this experience myself and my and husband had a thoroughly enjoyable stay, the bar and restaurant staff were second to none.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Travelled from Kerry to Letterkenny for the fleadh cheoil 2013!!!!! Greeted by the friendly receptionist . Settled in quickly! Hotel was comfortable and generally clean but could do with a little bit of deep cleaning ! A bit dusty! ☺❤ Our first morning of breakfast was poor service becuase we had to ask a few times to get a pot of tea.Had bar food on our first evening. Service very slow ! Waited an hour for food! We appreciate it was busy with the fleadh but the hotel should be prepared for these events!! The food service needs to be prepared for big events!!!! We all attended the leisure centre and we enjoyed our swim after our long journey . Staff were very nice! Found the dressing rooms a little bit shabby. Showers could be updated over all the leisure centre was good <3!! Car parking was very good. It's good to have free parking. It was a nice bonus to have the free parking ! It would be nice to see the hotel upgraded. Has the potential. Would like to come back again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seamus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

once you enter the front door you a greeted by the welcoming staff and a luxurious lobby. The bedroom was gorgeous, spacious and very affordable. The beds were comfy and neatly dressed and the bath-room was very functional with a safe yet luxurious interior to suit the whole family.As a family of young children and a teenager it can often be hard to find suitable accommodation for both age groups but this hotel with a lovely swimming pool and friendly bar/restaurant made for a perfect break. The location is ideal just a half hour drive from the beautiful city of derry and just walking distance from letterkennys town center. On our day of departure we were all disappointed to leave but we thrilled with our holiday. Overall it was a super, affordable hotel perfect for all occasions and I would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanmb98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letterkenny
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
1.6 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#3 of 12 in Letterkenny
340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
1.7 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
23.0 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clanree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clanree Hotel

Property: Clanree Hotel
Address: Derry Road, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clanree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All you could want in a getaway...Plus More!!The Family Friendly 4* Clanree Hotel, Letterkenny, the ideal place to relax and revive. The 4* Clanree Hotel Letterkenny is ideally located for exploring beautiful Donegal and the Northwest of Ireland. Located only a few minutes drive from the bustling town centre of Letterkenny, the hotels accommodation boasts 120 luxurious en-suite rooms. The Aileach restaurant in the Clanree Hotel offers Award Winning food, while McGettigans Bar offers an extensive Bar Food Menu & live entertainment. Visitors can't fail to be impressed by its grand interior and wide range of facilities. The hotel boasts a fully equipped health and fitness club with a heated indoor 20m pool and children's pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steamroom, solarium and fully-equipped gym. There is an in-house beauty salon providing a full range of treatments and special 'pamper packages' are available throughout the year. What is there to do?....You will not be short of activities in the area from the many coastal drives to mapped walks, horse riding, surfing, fishing, golfing, karting, clay pigeon shooting plus more! Letterkenny town offers great shopping facilities, cinema, theatre and kids jungle gym & bowling. So, I am sure you will agree that the 4* Clanree is the perfect location for midweek breaks, weekend breaks, family breaks, & golden year's breaks...The team at the 4* Clanree Hotel look forward to welcoming you to Donegal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clanree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clanree Hotel Letterkenny
Holiday Inn Letterkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing