We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel to say in”
Review of Clanree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clanree Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Ballina, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel to say in”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights recently and couldnt say enough about it. We didnt have anything booked and when we arrived at reception to a smiling and very welcoming lady called Annie who organised a lovely room for us and gave us a good offer on 2 nights b&b and dinner. The room was very spacious and clean - had dinner that night which was lovely and retired to the bar to some lively music. Would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Letterkenny.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    338
    164
    77
    39
See reviews for
312
433
23
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
magherafelt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and myself stayed at the Clanree on th 12th & 13 th. July past. We visited the carvery at the hotel for an evening meal and found the food to be cold. This was reported to the hotel staff but no compensation was made. The rooms are clean and staff appear to be pleasant especially the receptionist. Hoping things will improve for next year. According to staff the air conditioning was not working.

Room Tip: When I book a hotel break I usually ask for a room in a quiet location in the event of a function be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sylvia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed in the hotel in June, the hotel main areas are really nice and have been well kept but the rooms are old fashioned and dated. The furniture was dark brown, the bed was small and parts were a bit grubby. The room was facing towards the road and as it was such a warm night we had to keep the windows open, the noise was quite bad. Overall I really enjoyed the stay. We ate in the bar and the food was lovely and the outside area was really nice. However, what really lets the hotel down is the staff. One particular receptionist was passive aggressive and rude; talked over me and thought ending her extremely rude statements with a smile made it okay. One of the other receptionists failed to carry out a request I asked for before I arrived; I wanted a bottle of wine in the room for a surprise but it wasnt there and the excuse was that she had to wait until the manager came in to open the cooler - this was a stupid excuse; if someone came in and asked for a bottle of wine in the bar are we to believe they would have to wait to 5pm until they could get it? The restuarant staff wouldnt let me take my food out into the covered area which had table and chairs, why - no one could tell me. The only nice staff member was the lady who ran the breakfast. So we had a good time, enjoyed our time away, had a nice time in the bar but we avoided the staff - just so poor.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Josephine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel looks and is way better on inside than it looks on outside. Overall it is a good place to stay. The room was nice and the breakfast was good. The only slight negative is that it is a good 2 miles from the town centre and the choice of food in the bar menu in the evening was a little limited.
Special mention must go to the receptionist who was very friendly and pleasant and it was lovely to be greeted by a friendly face.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnybravo1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Sales & Marketing Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, we will take on board your constructive comment regarding the menu. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future! Warmest Regards Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here last winter, really enjoyed ourselves. It is a bit outside town but the staff will organise taxis for you. Food was basic but really good. Service great. I loved the massive stairs in the lobby very fancy, we must of had the staff annoyed by all the photos we kept taken on them LOL Enoyed our stay, will come back with my partner for relaxation in the future sometime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triciadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Sales & Marketing Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time out to review your recent stay with us, its makes all our efforts very worthwhile when we read as such. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future! Regards, Annette O'Donnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night in June.
The hotel is located a bit far from the city center (1.5 km).
Free parking, wifi. Friendly staff. Rooms are not so large as expected, but clean and have everything you may need.
Swimming pool, sauna and steam room are provided as complimentary. You need to have a swimming cap for the pool, othervise you can buy in there (3 eur).
There is a pub in front of hotel that you may visit if lazy to go to the city.
We booked this hotel in advance with very reasonable price (with no breakfast). Price was comparable to B&B accomodation, but the quality was 3 times better. Definitely will return back if will have a chance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vladimir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Spent last weekend at The Clanree and look forward to returning !
On first glace it looked a little tired but on entering the hotel is really lovely - beautiful sweeping staircase to glide down (or better still slide down the bannister after a wee drink in the lovely bar).
Whilst our room didn't have the best view in the world it was really quiet - even though there was a very lively wedding party on Saturday. We didn't hear a thing and the huge comfy beds ensured we had a fantastic nights sleep. Breakfast was the usual hotel fry up and went down very well with a couple of pots of strong hot tea (why can English hotels not do the same).
The Clanree is well positioned for a bit of shopping in town and there is a fantastic Indian restaurant just down the street if you fancy a bit of spice.
The hotel staff are just brilliant - helpful, friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
We had a great weekend and will be back soon.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter if a good nights sleep is important !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Sales & Marketing Mgr at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
On behalf of the team at the Clanree Hotel thank you for your glowing review. We pride ourselves for providing a traditional and welcoming experience so we are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of the Hotel. I do hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future! Kindest Regards Annette O'Donnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
1.6 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
329 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
1.7 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.2 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clanree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clanree Hotel

Property: Clanree Hotel
Address: Derry Road, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clanree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All you could want in a getaway...Plus More!!The Family Friendly 4* Clanree Hotel, Letterkenny, the ideal place to relax and revive. The 4* Clanree Hotel Letterkenny is ideally located for exploring beautiful Donegal and the Northwest of Ireland. Located only a few minutes drive from the bustling town centre of Letterkenny, the hotels accommodation boasts 120 luxurious en-suite rooms. The Aileach restaurant in the Clanree Hotel offers Award Winning food, while McGettigans Bar offers an extensive Bar Food Menu & live entertainment. Visitors can't fail to be impressed by its grand interior and wide range of facilities. The hotel boasts a fully equipped health and fitness club with a heated indoor 20m pool and children's pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steamroom, solarium and fully-equipped gym. There is an in-house beauty salon providing a full range of treatments and special 'pamper packages' are available throughout the year. What is there to do?....You will not be short of activities in the area from the many coastal drives to mapped walks, horse riding, surfing, fishing, golfing, karting, clay pigeon shooting plus more! Letterkenny town offers great shopping facilities, cinema, theatre and kids jungle gym & bowling. So, I am sure you will agree that the 4* Clanree is the perfect location for midweek breaks, weekend breaks, family breaks, & golden year's breaks...The team at the 4* Clanree Hotel look forward to welcoming you to Donegal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clanree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clanree Hotel Letterkenny
Holiday Inn Letterkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing