We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

β€œWedding”
Review of Clanree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clanree Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Wedding”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We recently had our wedding here and I wouldn't have a bad word to say about them! All was fantastic! Food, value for money and service! Brilliant! All the guests commented on how good the hotel was!! Many thanks

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbhiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    333
    164
    77
    39
See reviews for
310
426
23
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We travelled as a couple to the Clanree for a 3night b&b stay from 20th Sept. It was clean and tidy and everything went well until the waitress forgot about us asking for toast and we were left waiting for 20mins until I asked again. But apart from that, the staff were friendly enough throughout and the Saturday night entertainment was decent. I found there's not much to do in Letterkenny though so we travelled around most days.
There is an AppleGreen service station right next to the hotel on the same side of the road which had the cheapest fuel that we could find.
Donegal town is around 30mins of a drive away from the hotel and had great entertainment on the waterbus.

Room Tip: Front rooms can be noisy And rooms around the gym area can also be noisy due to people using the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathyb469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
navan. co meath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

39 of us stayed here on sept 14 for two nights. We had a great time. While the hotel was very busy with a wedding each day there were plenty of very helpfull staff. The food was very nice apart from the rashers at breakfast which were very salty. We stayed in a triple room which was very big, comfortable and warm. The night porter was a very nice young man [ he will remember me] as he had to wheel me around after i fell. A trip to Letterkenny's new A&E dept and i was sorted!
The music in the bar on both nights was excellent with everyone enjoying it. The swimming pool was lovely and warm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryann174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked late and this was the only Hotel we could get I thought from the pictures that it looked good. Best bit about this hotel was that Receptionist was a wonderful girl very friendly and informative really first class welcome. Rooms very old fashioned and this hotel overall needs a lot of money spent on it. Rooms were clean and we found bedroom very quiet. The bar at night was ok but I felt that first of all they didn't have my usual Bombay Gin and the gin I did get I thought was a cheap nasty gin..... I wouldn't be rushing back unless nowhere else. The breakfast was very disappointing, Not what I expect when I do get my breakfast made for me!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaz3466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELFAST
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here over the new year and I have to say were really disappointed.

The hotel we were told was fully booked (there was also a wedding the evening we stayed), we booked a family room.
When we arrived at the room it was very cold and the decor looked very tired, thread baren carpet at edges, stains on roof, sheets and bed linen very tired....yellow/brown water running from the bathroom taps.

We hit the leisure complex with the kids which again looked very tired and the pool was freezing. The changing room was dirty and not very appealing.
We ate in the bar after our swim and the food was nice, when I went up to our room after dinner, the curtains that we pulled were actually blowing and flapping about. I thought someone from the hotel had been in our room and maybe left a window open, when I went to close the window, to my horror it was closed yet the bottom right hand corner pushed right out with the frame, easy enough for my daughter to fit through. We rang reception for someone to come and look and about 10 minutes later the young bar man arrived, who told us that "as it was 8pm, there was no maintenance person on, hotel was fully booked and to basically keep the curtains closed!", I paid full price for this break, when I asked if he could turn on the central heating, he replied it was on a timer and wouldn't come back on until the middle of the night, I asked for a room heater.... No luck there either..... So we paid full price for a very cold night..... Then in the early hours when other guests came up to their rooms it was very noisey, we were right next door to a lift shaft and double fire doors which banged off the walls..... Noisey, noisey , noisey!!!

Breakfast next morning ok....... Nothing really positive to say about it. Everything was starting to close up when we arrived, room we were in lacked any atmosphere and felt like school dinners....

Positive??? The lovely staircase when you walk to reception, very grand and splendour, definitely not the same in the bedrooms!!!

Very disappointed, Clanree, massive improvements needed, nothing would entice me back to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMESY417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just back from a 2B&B 1 Dinner value weekend at the Clanree Hotel.Great hotel,lovely staff & excellent food.Sometimes food not as good on these deals as if go to separately,this was not the case here.Food was top class & staff very good & professional at accommodating the needs of our 3&4 yr olds.Good facilities & very clean.
One downside-beware the swimming instructor on saturdays.Tried to take 4 yr old into the children's part of pool after swallowing water in the deeper end.There a woman who I assume was a swimmimg teacher had 4 children in one corner confronted me in a curt & agressive manner stating that me & my daughter were not welcome in that part of the pool.
Left a bit of a bad taste on what was a very good experience at this lovely hotel and good experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HitTheSpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us at the Clanree Hotel, I am delighted to hear that you & your family enjoyed your stay at the Hotel , I am disappointed however to learn of the incident in the Leisure Centre, we do run swimming classes of which are very successful however this should not take away from our guests enjoying the hotels facilities. Thank you once again for your feedback as it is comments such as yours that help us to continually improve our standards & services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Between the large wedding party, the truck fest and the hen party etc. - two women on an 'An Post' voucher were overlooked. Overall attitude of staff seemed to be 'take it or leave it'. Reception staff were quite impersonal - no way helpful, no friendly greeting. In fact we were told, quite unsympathetically, on the Saturday morning, that there may not be any parking available that evening. On check in, we were given one dinner menu but were given a much more limited one, in the dining room. To make matters worse, our first dessert choice was finished (we were only the third party at the 8pm sitting). The dining room was cold, and we were seated near the open door, which we were told had to stay open! We were not offered alternative seating despite the fact that the dining room was practically empty. Hygiene generally was poor and the bedroom was shabby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us, our sincere apologies for the issues encountered during your visit. regardless of how busy we are, I am disappointed that you felt you were "lost in the crowd". I will personally be investigating all the issues you raised and to ensure that they do not occur again.Again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
1.7 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.2 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clanree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clanree Hotel

Property: Clanree Hotel
Address: Derry Road, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clanree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All you could want in a getaway...Plus More!!The Family Friendly 4* Clanree Hotel, Letterkenny, the ideal place to relax and revive. The 4* Clanree Hotel Letterkenny is ideally located for exploring beautiful Donegal and the Northwest of Ireland. Located only a few minutes drive from the bustling town centre of Letterkenny, the hotels accommodation boasts 120 luxurious en-suite rooms. The Aileach restaurant in the Clanree Hotel offers Award Winning food, while McGettigans Bar offers an extensive Bar Food Menu & live entertainment. Visitors can't fail to be impressed by its grand interior and wide range of facilities. The hotel boasts a fully equipped health and fitness club with a heated indoor 20m pool and children's pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steamroom, solarium and fully-equipped gym. There is an in-house beauty salon providing a full range of treatments and special 'pamper packages' are available throughout the year. What is there to do?....You will not be short of activities in the area from the many coastal drives to mapped walks, horse riding, surfing, fishing, golfing, karting, clay pigeon shooting plus more! Letterkenny town offers great shopping facilities, cinema, theatre and kids jungle gym & bowling. So, I am sure you will agree that the 4* Clanree is the perfect location for midweek breaks, weekend breaks, family breaks, & golden year's breaks...The team at the 4* Clanree Hotel look forward to welcoming you to Donegal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Clanree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clanree Hotel Letterkenny
Holiday Inn Letterkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing