We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful, never be back.”
Review of Clanree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clanree Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful, never be back.”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Not very impressed. My daughter is getting married next year and we booked this hotel for a relaxing evening and to arrange wedding plans. Were do I start, the booking fee was taken incorretly and when queried we were told "ah well sure thats it paid" with no explaination as to why it was taken incorreclty. When were then told to come back at 15:10 as our rooms were not ready. Check in is 15:00. When we were allocated our 2 rooms they were on different floors so our party was not together even though we booked together. There was a kick boxing event on and there was constant noise around the hotel. At one point we found it hard to get in the front door due to the amount of people smoking at it.
During the night the noise was unexplainable, it was like sleeping in the middle of a night club and I had to call down to reception which done no good as the noise continued. The rooms overall were grubby and most certainly did not reach 4 star basis. I was planning to book again in November but due to our awful stay I will be looking for other accomodation and will not recommend your hotel to anyone.
I will however comment on your food as being delicious and the staff in the bar area were very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Our room and our other parties room were both very noisy and on different floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    338
    164
    77
    39
See reviews for
312
433
23
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Clean Room.Very Good Food.Helpfull Smiling Staff.No Problems With This Hotel

Room Tip: Top Floor Rear. Quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Just back for a 1 night stay in Clanree hotel. First impressions were good as the lobby area is lovely and seemed well maintained. The receptionist was polite and courteous and very efficient. She took our booking for dinner. When we arrived in the room we were a bit disappointed. The room seemed clean enough but when we looed in the bathroom it didn't have a great standard of cleanliness. After travelling here and going out for the evening we needed to freshen up. The shower was small and there was rust around the taps. The actual water did not drain away quickly and when it was collected in the bath it looked to be dirty. This was the same as the water in the sink!
Dinner itself was lovely and the service was fine but when we arrived we found that we hadn't been booked in after all!
Breakfast was quite poor the following morning and it wasn't hot enough.
I wasn't very impressed with this hotel. Despite the grandeur of downstairs the upstairs needs a lot of updating.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillM592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Stayed 2 nights with my girlfriend, perfect room just what we needed and the hotel is only a 10 minute taxi drive away from the main street which has good selection of bars and clubs.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cstewart93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
On Behalf of all the Staff at The Clanree Hotel, I would like to thank you very much for the positive review of our Hotel. We appreciate that you took the time out to make your comment & are delighted that you enjoyed your visit , we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stayed in clanree1 night in october rooms clean and basic, its a bit out of town roughly 9 euro for taxi fair in and same back again.
Food was good and the service from staff.
Only downside i found was internet was only available in the lobby its not fed to any rooms via lead or wireless, (a few wireless range extenders might help if anybody from Clanree reads this).
If you have kids with you bring a large bottle of what they drink with you as soft drinks are 2.60 euro for a small bottle and alcohol very expensive
But an enjoyable stay if you dont need internet or lots of booze.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

went on a glenton bus trip to this hotel with my mum, hotel was well organised and on arrival(Three buses arriving at same time) everything was organised perfectly, room huge and spotless, bathroom was huge and again spotless. the hotel was tastefully decorated with some lovely furniture, staircase was amazing. staff were well orgainised and very pleasant. food was brill(remember this was a bus tour) staff were attentive and nothing was a problem. management not frightened to "muck in".micheal helping serve the soup.one of the ladies sitting at our table was celiac(gluten free - diet) the staff made sure that the lady had toast and food for her diet and no fuss made or at any time was the lady made uncomfortable food had a choice loved the main course buffet, also meantioned to chef would like champ and next night champ was there.entertainement was good...with irish dancer and irish music. swimming pool and spa was good again staff excellent and facitity great.....now for the downside .....a function on the last night untill at least 2.00 am in the morning costing disturbed sleep. not walkable to letterkenny....cost of drink expensive 2.60 euro for a sprite and 5.50 euro for a glass of wine, people ended up hugging one drink all night.overall excellent hotel.

Room Tip: try and get back room ...some have a fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kezstar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheerness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I stayed at the Clanree for 4 nights in October and had a great time with all the staff being the best I have meet. the hotel was a very high standard in every thing they do. and were very helpful in all departments I would recommend this hotel to anybody,The only down side was it was a far distance from the town if like me you have trouble walking.

Room Tip: Try to chose one at the back of the hotel as the road noise can be anoying till you go to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strode1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanree, Guest Relations Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
On Behalf of all the Staff at The Clanree Hotel, I would like to thank you very much for the positive review of our Hotel. We appreciate that you took the time out to make your comment & are delighted that you enjoyed your visit , we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
1.6 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
329 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
1.7 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.2 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clanree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clanree Hotel

Property: Clanree Hotel
Address: Derry Road, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clanree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All you could want in a getaway...Plus More!!The Family Friendly 4* Clanree Hotel, Letterkenny, the ideal place to relax and revive. The 4* Clanree Hotel Letterkenny is ideally located for exploring beautiful Donegal and the Northwest of Ireland. Located only a few minutes drive from the bustling town centre of Letterkenny, the hotels accommodation boasts 120 luxurious en-suite rooms. The Aileach restaurant in the Clanree Hotel offers Award Winning food, while McGettigans Bar offers an extensive Bar Food Menu & live entertainment. Visitors can't fail to be impressed by its grand interior and wide range of facilities. The hotel boasts a fully equipped health and fitness club with a heated indoor 20m pool and children's pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steamroom, solarium and fully-equipped gym. There is an in-house beauty salon providing a full range of treatments and special 'pamper packages' are available throughout the year. What is there to do?....You will not be short of activities in the area from the many coastal drives to mapped walks, horse riding, surfing, fishing, golfing, karting, clay pigeon shooting plus more! Letterkenny town offers great shopping facilities, cinema, theatre and kids jungle gym & bowling. So, I am sure you will agree that the 4* Clanree is the perfect location for midweek breaks, weekend breaks, family breaks, & golden year's breaks...The team at the 4* Clanree Hotel look forward to welcoming you to Donegal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clanree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clanree Hotel Letterkenny
Holiday Inn Letterkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing