We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very warm and friendly”
Review of Clanree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clanree Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Lovely stay for two nights, staff friendly and helpful, rooms clean. Entertainment in evenings nice to relax to after a day out and about. Great pool and leisure facilities even though a bit dated. Enjoyed my stay and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyndaSh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,008 - 1,014 of 1,167 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2011

Nice hotel, not my favourite but nice place. Great for families – it is not in the town just outside it. Not really suitable for a weekend on the town - you would need to get taxis! The room walls are quiet thin, could hear the kids in the other rooms Very early in the morning, which is fine if you want an early morning, but not if you want a lie in. The rooms were very warm the air conditioning didn’t seem to be working right but that might have been just in our bedroom. The breakfast was ok, not the nicest though. The dinner however was lovely and the restaurant staff could not have been any more attentive and helpful with excellent fast service. The bar staff need to be pulled into shape a bit as I was stood at the end of the bar for 5 minutes waiting to be served while there were staff standing arms folded half way up the bar and another hotel guest at the bar had to shout up the bar for me to get his attention. Overall it’s a nice hotel, but a bit extra dusting and maybe fridges in the rooms would help.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandAis01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Just came back from Clanree hotel after weekend stay. Was a bit wary after reading reviews but shouldn't have worried as hotel was really good. Yes there was a bit of dust but the staff were excellent, food great and accomodation perfect. We will definatly be going back and bringing the rest of the family, they were very good with children and nothing was a bother to staff. Thank you Clanree for really good stay

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owensangies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Really suitable to young families or elderly couples as very quiet at night. You will need a car though only twenty minutes from a fantastic beach and twenty minutes from northern Ireland.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

From the moment I arrived service was of a low standard. Given a smoking room first, then moved to non smoking one.

The room was so dusty, dirty carpet & paint. Thin scratchy blanket on a small double bed with old, tired furniture and heat & watermarks on furniture.

I had to take an anti-histamine tablet to breathe.

At breakfast there was blue mould on the White bread!

On the plus side the shower was great as was the location.

Overall very poor hotel on so many fronts.

Avoid!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Posbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Had booked an Executive Room and despite payment in full being requested at check in, was allocated a standard room.. Beds very worn. Hotel is 10 years old and does not appear to have been maintained very well.
I went back to Reception to express my disappointment with my "Executive room" and they apologised very nicely for their mistake and allocated me an Executive room- not much difference. King Size bed versus double.Hotel was originally a Holiday Inn and is a budget fit out, not wearing very well.
Breakfast terrible. No fresh fruit.Tinned grapefruit and prunes!Hello!
Lobby and dining room smelly- greasy stale cooking smells.
Stay well clear.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBJDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

On arrival on friday 17th June we were met by a crowd of people at the entrance smoking (there must of been a function on), i was totally put off as i am a non smoker and they didn't appear to have anywhere else to smoke. The entire reception area was stinking of smoke, i couldn't wait to get out of there...

The receptionist was very polite and helpful, altho we were not given any indication where our rooms were located so hoped on the lift and guessed which floor we were on!

Rooms are spacious but in dire need of updating. We found that our room telephone was not working. The showers are brilliant and the best thing about the rooms!! The rooms look like they have been decorated in a hurry with paint splodges on the floor and very poor paintwork, not that this affects your stay but still!

We were staying on the rally wkend and i was quiet irratated after a nite out to be made to wait in a que to get back into the hotel in the cold and wet, they were checking off peoples names on the list to make sure you had a room booked. this simply was not good enough and made me very angry indeed and made a very bad impression of the hotel. They could of at least carried this out in the reception area instead of making us stand in the cold and wet!!!

As we got this break on a supervalue getaway break deal we were satisfied with our stay however we would not like to be paying full price for this accommodation!

I simply will not be back!!!

Room Tip: book on a supervalue break if you have to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayhem3114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letterkenny hotels
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
0.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,329 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
1.6 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
395 reviews
3.2 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clanree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clanree Hotel

Address: Derry Road, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range: $76 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clanree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All you could want in a getaway...Plus More!!The Family Friendly 4* Clanree Hotel, Letterkenny, the ideal place to relax and revive. The 4* Clanree Hotel Letterkenny is ideally located for exploring beautiful Donegal and the Northwest of Ireland. Located only a few minutes drive from the bustling town centre of Letterkenny, the hotels accommodation boasts 120 luxurious en-suite rooms. The Aileach restaurant in the Clanree Hotel offers Award Winning food, while McGettigans Bar offers an extensive Bar Food Menu & live entertainment. Visitors can't fail to be impressed by its grand interior and wide range of facilities. The hotel boasts a fully equipped health and fitness club with a heated indoor 20m pool and children's pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steamroom, solarium and fully-equipped gym. There is an in-house beauty salon providing a full range of treatments and special 'pamper packages' are available throughout the year. What is there to do?....You will not be short of activities in the area from the many coastal drives to mapped walks, horse riding, surfing, fishing, golfing, karting, clay pigeon shooting plus more! Letterkenny town offers great shopping facilities, cinema, theatre and kids jungle gym & bowling. So, I am sure you will agree that the 4* Clanree is the perfect location for midweek breaks, weekend breaks, family breaks, & golden year's breaks...The team at the 4* Clanree Hotel look forward to welcoming you to Donegal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clanree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clanree Hotel Letterkenny
Holiday Inn Letterkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing