We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Restaurant in Town”
Review of The Lemon Tree

The Lemon Tree
Ranked #1 of 113 Restaurants in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $43
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Lemon tree has recently moved MAY 2017 to a NEW location in Letterkenny at the Courtyard Shopping Centre to the rare of the building at the carpark. This is a Letterkenny owned family run restaurant opened in 1999. The three brothers in the kitchen have a unique style with a mixture of traditional Irish and French classic, influenced by country house cooking which was collected by their many years experience all over Irleand. All meats are Irish sourced and fresh fish is a special feature. Everthing is made freshly on site including all breads, pastries, pastas and desserts. The Wine list is ever growing and includes something for all tastes with over 90 different wines. The restaurant offers a Early bird menu 7 days available from 5 - 7 pm and a full A la carte menu from 5 - 10 PM. Lunch is available from 1 - 2:30 PM on Sunday.
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant in Town”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This small intimate bistro style establishment on Letterkenny Main Street combines great food and impeccable service
They never disappoint. Lovely dishes, beautifully presented.
A must visit
It's well nigh impossible to get good food in Donegal. The Lemon Tree delivers
Try the scallop and black pudding starter.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank niamhhaggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    92
    28
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is a lovely restaurant with good food but there are other restaurants that I frequent more often.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A*”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Delicious food and very fast service. Lots of yummy options on the menu. Fish and chips were possibly the best I've ever had. Friendly staff. Must visit if you're looking for dinner in Letterkenny.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank L J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great we place”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We came up for a weekend from belfast and came here, The staff are attentive and the food we couldn't fault possibly just a slight seasoning problem with main but everyones different taste, the alacarte menu is superb great choice of seasonal products

Helpful?
1 Thank ashsky21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A complete gem of a restaurant!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We went as it was ranked high in trip advisor and we were not disappointed. we opted for the early bird menu 2 courses for €16. The best meal I have had in a long time.
I ordered the hand rolled pasta with ham hock for starter and my husband ordered fish cake. For mains I had chicken breast on a bed of mushroom risotto and local herbs with baby veg. My husband ordered the pork belly. My six year old had the pasta with creamy veg sauce and cleaned the plate!
Everything on the plates was cooked to perfection! I cannot say a bad word against the meal. It was delicious and was piping hot when it was served even thought the restaurant was very busy. We were offered some lovely artisan breads beforehand. Service was very good and staff are very friendly.
I will be looking for any excuse to go back again even though we were only visiting from Antrim!
compliments to the chef!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RAKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lemon Tree also viewed

Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 

Been to The Lemon Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing