We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful food, lovely staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lemon Tree

The Lemon Tree
Ranked #1 of 110 Restaurants in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $41
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Lemon tree is a Letterkenny owned family run restaurant opened in 1999. The three brothers in the kitchen have a unique style with a mixture of traditional Irish and French classic, influenced by country house cooking which was collected by their many years experience all over Irleand. All meats are Irish sourced and fresh fish is a special feature. Everthing is made freshly on site including all breads, pastries, pastas and desserts. The Wine list is ever growing and includes something for all tastes. The restaurant offers a Early bird menu 7 days available from 5 - 7 pm and a full A la carte menu from 5 - 10 PM. Lunch is available from 1 - 2:30 PM on Sunday
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Great food , the best from all Letterkenny restaurants.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joasia1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    90
    26
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Donegal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Across the road from the popular Yellow Pepper but better value for money.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SofiaDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

I ate here on Friday night of the August bank holiday weekend when visiting Letterkenny with my friend for the weekend. The food was absolutely amazing, we couldn’t fault it! We were very lucky as we has not made a reservation and happened to arrive at the right time to be seated at the last free table. The service was very good, quick and friendly. And the food was TOP CLASS! Definitely value for money with the excellent quality food. I would recommend it to anyone. But do book in advance so you won’t be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IrelandAis01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

recomended to us by a local, we were very pleased as the food and staff were fab.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank basheerSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
“ticks every box... excellant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

visited this restaurant lately with friends, it was my first visit and i must say it will not be my last. we arrived at the restaurant around 8 and it was buzzing, we were seated straight away and our drinks arrived swiftly. the only problem with the menu was that there was so much choice that it was hard to make a selection. our order was taken by a very helpful waitress which had great knowledge of the menu i decided to order the hand rolled linguini Mmmm delicious so fresh it was served with a choice of freshly baked breads and to my delight they were all baked on site. my main course i had to try the monkfish and pork belly which was the favourite dish of our waitress and god it did not dissapoint again so tasty and fresh, although full I had to try a dessert as watching them pass to other diners made my mouth water and so it did the lemon tart again homemade. everyone at our table had to agree that it was a fantastic meal and decided that we just had to return. thank you to all at the lemon tree, your food and service was just excellant

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carmen2260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lemon Tree also viewed

Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 

Been to The Lemon Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing