We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lemon Tree

The Lemon Tree
Ranked #1 of 109 Restaurants in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $42
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Lemon tree is a Letterkenny owned family run restaurant opened in 1999. The three brothers in the kitchen have a unique style with a mixture of traditional Irish and French classic, influenced by country house cooking which was collected by their many years experience all over Irleand. All meats are Irish sourced and fresh fish is a special feature. Everthing is made freshly on site including all breads, pastries, pastas and desserts. The Wine list is ever growing and includes something for all tastes. The restaurant offers a Early bird menu 7 days available from 5 - 7 pm and a full A la carte menu from 5 - 10 PM. Lunch is available from 1 - 2:30 PM on Sunday
Southampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

recomended to us by a local, we were very pleased as the food and staff were fab.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank basheerSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    90
    26
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
“ticks every box... excellant”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

visited this restaurant lately with friends, it was my first visit and i must say it will not be my last. we arrived at the restaurant around 8 and it was buzzing, we were seated straight away and our drinks arrived swiftly. the only problem with the menu was that there was so much choice that it was hard to make a selection. our order was taken by a very helpful waitress which had great knowledge of the menu i decided to order the hand rolled linguini Mmmm delicious so fresh it was served with a choice of freshly baked breads and to my delight they were all baked on site. my main course i had to try the monkfish and pork belly which was the favourite dish of our waitress and god it did not dissapoint again so tasty and fresh, although full I had to try a dessert as watching them pass to other diners made my mouth water and so it did the lemon tart again homemade. everyone at our table had to agree that it was a fantastic meal and decided that we just had to return. thank you to all at the lemon tree, your food and service was just excellant

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carmen2260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1st Class”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

This has to be one of the best restaurants I have been to in a long time, the service was great and the food first class.
Great options on the early bird and an extensive a la carte menu if you have the opportunity to dine hear I recommend any of the fish dished, scallops were beautiful and to top the evening off homemade desserts pure magic.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinJ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob111Blue
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant By Far”
Reviewed June 21, 2011

I had the pleasure of eating in this great restaurant with my mother and my five year old son one evening some weeks ago. I have never taken the time to write a review of any other restaurant I have visited but made an exception in this case. The first comment has to be for the great service - we were loaded down with shopping on this Saturday evening and decided to try this restaurant because of the previous reviews on Trip Advisor. Most families will be aware that shopping bags and fancy restaurants do not mix but we were made to feel very welcome and no request made of the staff was too much trouble. The restaurant is not vast in terms of space cosy and intimate are words that spring to mind but welcoming informal and relaxed at the same time. The food has to be seen and tasted to be believed but as other comments have stated the presentation is second to none - my son who would not be the most adventurous eater helped me finish off my plate of scallops and black pudding! Each of us had starter, main course and dessert and cleaned our plates of all food - the creme brulee dessert is to die for. Looking around the now crowded room as we left at 8pm I doubted that we would have gotten as good of food or service in any other top restaurants. If you are in Letterkenny in the evenings and are looking for a place to eat do not pass this restaurant - you will not be dissapointed.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob111Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny
1 review
“Great food but disappointing service”
Reviewed May 31, 2011

recently myself and five friends decided to try the lemon tree as we had heard some good feed back from other friends. Our first impression of the staff was not that great unfortunately and this took away from the overall experience. firsly one member of our table was 10 minutesearly and during the time she waswaiting she was not offered a drink of given a jug of water. Also we only were informed of what was off the menu when ordering which was also a bit annoying. In general there was a lack of personality and lack of attention to the costumers.
However it was agreeded by everyone that the food was very very good. The presentation of the food itself was so eye-catching and attractive. One member of our party as for the chef to prepare a surprise dish and boy were we surprised!! Many complements to the chef. If there was any fault with the food it would be the small portion sizes but the taste made up for it.
This is a lovely restaurant with amazing food however we felt the the staff was a big let down on the night.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lk456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lemon Tree also viewed

Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 

Been to The Lemon Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing