We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently great”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pats on the Square

Pats on the Square
Ranked #5 of 110 Restaurants in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $38
Cuisines: Italian, Irish, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We are in the Market square, right in the centre of town, half way down the main street. We are a 50 seater restaurant, recently renovated. The kitchen and foyer are downstairs and the restaurant is upstairs. We are a bistro style establishment, we serve pizza, pasta, steak, fish, chicken and salads. Our emphasis is on fresh, local and organic where possible. We have been in the same building for 30 years and are family run.
Newtown Cunningham, Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Consistently great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Had a great family meal in Pat's on the Square last Saturday evening. Food and service are consistently great - good value for money and plenty of choice on the menu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patspizzaLetterkenny, Owner at Pats on the Square, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you very much, consistency is very important to us, Mary x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    94
    14
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

visit the restaurant in june. food was amazing and staff fantastic . from prawn linguine to steak cook perfectly. most recommend this place . definitely be back

Helpful?
1 Thank Dd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patspizzaLetterkenny, Owner at Pats on the Square, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you very much. Mary x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Magnifico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

An excellent, friendly Italian restaurant. My wife and I ate here last night and were very impressed with the food. The chicken I had was one of the best I have had in years and my wife's goats cheese tart was delicious. The service was very good and very friendly, including the chef,who we met on the way out. It was nice to be able to compliment her directly.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jt1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patspizzaLetterkenny, Owner at Pats on the Square, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to write this review, I am really glad you enjoyed the service and the food. I remember you as you were leaving, thanks again, Mary x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great little Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Excellent food and very good prcies, particularly f you go for the Early Bird Menu. Gets very busy afyer 7pm so booking essential afyr hen,
Don't be put off by the unpreposessing exterior: Inside it's great!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Slipperywhenvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patspizzaLetterkenny, Owner at Pats on the Square, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you so much, we really try to keep our prices reasonable and pay great attention to the quality of food and service. We are incredibly lucky to have great staff. Week nights have really taken off since we intoduced the early bird, We do try to accomodate walk ins as much as possible, but of course it's better if you make a reservation. Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I was served pesto that was almost inedible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

I made the fatal error of ordering pesto in both my starter and main course. My pesto pizza was perhaps the worst pizza I have ever eaten. The Yellow Pepper is located just a short distance from this restaurant down the main street. The difference in price between the two restaurants is not much, but the gulf in quality is enormous.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank realmadridfresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patspizzaLetterkenny, Owner at Pats on the Square, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am very sorry that you didn't like our pesto, we make it fresh in house twice weekly, we use it for both our restaurants. Had you informed us of your grievance at the time we would have done everything in our power to rectify the situation. Mary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pats on the Square also viewed

Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 

Been to Pats on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing