We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little Italian Restaurant”
Review of Pats on the Square

Pats on the Square
Ranked #5 of 113 Restaurants in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $41
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We are in the Market square, right in the centre of town, half way down the main street. We are a 50 seater restaurant, recently renovated. The kitchen and foyer are downstairs and the restaurant is upstairs. We are a bistro style establishment, we serve pizza, pasta, steak, fish, chicken and salads. Our emphasis is on fresh, local and organic where possible. We have been in the same building for 30 years and are family run.
Crewe, UK
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great little Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Excellent food and very good prcies, particularly f you go for the Early Bird Menu. Gets very busy afyer 7pm so booking essential afyr hen,
Don't be put off by the unpreposessing exterior: Inside it's great!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Slipperywhenvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patspizzaLetterkenny, Owner at Pats on the Square, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you so much, we really try to keep our prices reasonable and pay great attention to the quality of food and service. We are incredibly lucky to have great staff. Week nights have really taken off since we intoduced the early bird, We do try to accomodate walk ins as much as possible, but of course it's better if you make a reservation. Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    97
    15
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I was served pesto that was almost inedible”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I made the fatal error of ordering pesto in both my starter and main course. My pesto pizza was perhaps the worst pizza I have ever eaten. The Yellow Pepper is located just a short distance from this restaurant down the main street. The difference in price between the two restaurants is not much, but the gulf in quality is enormous.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank realmadridfresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patspizzaLetterkenny, Owner at Pats on the Square, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am very sorry that you didn't like our pesto, we make it fresh in house twice weekly, we use it for both our restaurants. Had you informed us of your grievance at the time we would have done everything in our power to rectify the situation. Mary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

It is busy restaurant with very nice staff. Waiter and waitres both forigners were extremly nice. Food was just ok. Nothing really special but not bad too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank joasia1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patspizzaLetterkenny, Owner at Pats on the Square, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Joasia, thanks very much for taking the time to write your review. We are very lucky to be busy and to have brilliant staff. I am very sorry that you found the food to be average, that is certainly not our aim, hopefully you will give us a try again. Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always busy.”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

This place always seems to be packed, so we always book before hand. The pizzas are really good as are the pasta options. I would def recommend this for small and large parties.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patspizzaLetterkenny, Owner at Pats on the Square, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
thanks a million for that, we are very lucky to be very busy alot of time. but we do try to accommodate walk ins where ever possible. Mary x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lifford, Donegal, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Greenes nite out with Laura G”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Had a lovely meal in Pats on square. Food was tasty, and service was excellent Need to book as it is a busy resturant

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patspizzaLetterkenny, Owner at Pats on the Square, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thanks a million Patricia, I am really glad you enjoyed your night out with us. We are really lucky to work so well as a team, on the floor and in the kitchen. It used to be important to book at weekends but now the week nights have become really popular as well because of our early bird which we run all week, 2 courses for €16 and 3 courses for €19.50. Although we will always try and fit walk ins as much as possible. Mary x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pats on the Square also viewed

Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 

Been to Pats on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing