We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pats on the Square

Pats on the Square
Ranked #5 of 110 Restaurants in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $38
Cuisines: Italian, Irish, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We are in the Market square, right in the centre of town, half way down the main street. We are a 50 seater restaurant, recently renovated. The kitchen and foyer are downstairs and the restaurant is upstairs. We are a bistro style establishment, we serve pizza, pasta, steak, fish, chicken and salads. Our emphasis is on fresh, local and organic where possible. We have been in the same building for 30 years and are family run.
ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

Landed in on Saturday 28th May (had not booked, was pretty late too), but were welcomed by pleasant and accommodating staff. There were 4 of us and each had a beautiful meal. I had the Scillian, which was albeit a half portion was more than suffice. Love this place have eaten here several times with friends and with family and have not been disappointed. Well done to all the staff and thank you!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christyghirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    92
    14
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food, good prices and excellent service - wholly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2011

I am a regular visitor to Donegal and always make time for a trip to Pats on the Square. The food is consistently excellent and reasonably priced. The staff are friendly and welcoming and always go out of their way to accommodate slightly off-menu orders. It strikes a great balance between being family-friendly and a nice place for a relaxing meal with friends / romantic meal for two.

Already looking forward to my next visit, I definitely recommend Pats on the Sqaure. Go and you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank meganeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal,ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always a favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

Pats is mainly a gourmet pizza and pasta restaurant on the Market Square in Letterkenny. My wife and I have been going to Pats for quite a number of years now. It always has a cosy atmosphere and never feels too busy even when it's full. Its got a menu that has a great selection of gourmet pizzas and various pastas. There are also others mains available too.
We were last there on Valentine's night, which is always a gamble when it comes to retaurants. There was no overpriced set menu, no shoddy service, and no pressure on to move, to get the next sitting in. To sum it up; the food is good,not overpriced, the service is always good, the wine is nice and it's in a good location. Go, you will not be dissappointed.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrdamienocon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letterkenny
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Felt like the food was done specially for us!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

We were in Pat's first time for our anniversary dinner.I ordered pasta as I love pastas and have some knowledge with making some pasta disches.And I was nicely suprised as the food was nearly done in the same way I cook pastas at home.Was delicous and perfectly done and not too fat.My boyfriend ate great steak and muchrooms as starter and also wasnt dissapointed.
Delicious mozarella.
The waitress was very nice and hard-working but kept smile on her face :)
One thing I would change-such good restaurant should not have plastic tablecloths!

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bubka86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybofey, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“even busy they still product great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2010

i was lucky enough to get a table on wednesday when the restaurant was packed to capacity. we ordered the pasta favourita and vegetarian special which was a creative cannelloni of butternut quash and lemon thyme , it was amazing ... we know they were very busy but they give us excellent service, and the food was delicious. all the best for Pat's in new year for always been loyal to the customers over the past years

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank eileenmarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pats on the Square also viewed

Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 

Been to Pats on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing