We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay”
Review of Mountain View B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Letterkenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain View B&B
Ranked #8 of 26 Letterkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

On a holday to Ireland we visited Donegal for two days and stayed at Mountain View bed and breakfast near Letterkenny. The hospitality from the owners Susan and Tony was incredible - simply could not do enough for us.

Our room had a palatial en suite and the breakfast was the best we had anywhere during our stay ( including some highly rated hotels) - wonderful people and one of the few places we felt really at home. Genuinely made our trip - Donegal is a beautiful place, made the better by our selection of accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I just finished a five week 'motorbike' (motorcycle) tour of Ireland -- staying mostly at B&Bs, with most of them absolutely top notch despite the fact that we don't make reservations in advance since we never know where our wanderings will take us. Our hosts at Mountain View, Susan and Tony, could not have been kinder or more welcoming. After spending two nights with them we felt like we were staying with extended family, and really hated to say good-bye. And, like the hosts, the facilities are perfect. Our room was lovely and included a huge bath with everything so spotless that it looked brand new. Susan serves a huge breakfast in her glassed-in conservatory that really takes advantage of the view. I swear that she just opens her refrigerator and offers everything it contains, including all the usual wonderful Irish breakfast goodies as well as a wide assortment of fruit and homemade bread and jams. This B&B is the perfect spot to stay both to see Letterkenny and the close by Glenveigh Castle and everything else in the area. We will definitely be back on our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annapolistraveler19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have just completed a tour of Ireland. Our stay in Mountain View was one of the more memorable stops. We had travelled many miles and were pretty tired. Directed by a pedestrian to Mountain View B & B. We were warmly greeted by Susan and Tony with a very welcome cup of tea and biscuits. Our room was very comfortable with an excellent en suite. We slept like logs on the comfortable bed. Next morning we had a very tasty cooked breakfast with sausage, white pudding, etc all locally sourced. We will definitely return and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms looked very comfortable---we did have a peep
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

You get a really warm welcome at Mountain View. Susan makes sure you settle in with tea & biscuits. Rooms are lovely, spotless & very comfortable. House & garden are gorgeous. Choice of breakfast, served with lots of homemade bread & jams. Really spoiled here. Perfect stay. Thanks Susan.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This review is not timely, as it was over a year ago that I stayed at Mountain View but it stands out so well in my memory that I had to add my two cents here. We had the fortunate experience of stopping in at the visitor's information center in Donegal town and visiting with a lady named Geraldine who set us on a plan that made Donegal the best part of our trip to Ireland. All her recommendations were excellent including a stay at Mountain View in Church Hill. We did all the things we had been told about and after a very full day came in about 6 to a warm home with a welcoming drink at the door. Suffice it to say that this was my favorite stay of over 20 B&B's in Ireland. Everything was 4 star class but at a budget rate! Susan and Tony were excellent hosts who made us feel at home. The breakfast was top rate as well. Tony is a ranger at the Glenveigh National Park and prepared us for a day there, which was one well spent. If you are anywhere near this location, you would be wise to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farout75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple City, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Susan and Tony have been doing this for years and still show Irish hospitality at its finest! They are very knowledgeable about the area, know all that is going on, and gave us great suggestions. We ended up staying an extra night to fit in the Glenveagh National Park and Glebe House & Gallery. The room was very clean and the en suite bath nearly luxurious. The cozy sitting room was an excellent place to chat with Susan and Tony over tea or coffee. The breakfast was excellent as well, with jams and bread that Susan had made herself. The quiet Irish music that greeted us as we walked into breakfast set a wonderful mood for the day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timtnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
149 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We recently completed a 3 week vacation during which we drove around the entire island of Ireland. Over 20 nights we stayed in 18 different Bed & Breakfasts, paying between €50 to €80, and £60 to £65 in Northern Island. This review is based upon the relative merits of Mountain View Bed & Breakfast with respect to other B&Bs that we visited.
Once you find Mountain View, it is a truly nice place to stay. However, finding it can be a bit puzzling – their website does not have a great map, nor does it give detailed directions. We thought that because it has a Church Hill address that the B&B would be in the town of Chuch Hill. It is actually located about 5 miles south of Church Hill, just keeping heading down R251 toward Letterkenny and you will see the sign (see my attached map).
Mountain View is great bargain. We paid only €60 for the one night of our stay, including breakfast. For that price we enjoyed some marvelous, clean quiet rooms and a delicious breakfast. Payment was requested in cash; apparently the phone companies in Ireland charge an exorbitant fee to maintain a phone-line for processing credit card transactions.
Everyone we met in Ireland was nice to us, but the proprietors of Mountain View were especially friendly. This is a welcoming place to visit.
Mountain View is a good distance from Letterkenny, you will have to drive into town for dinner. (Don’t go back to Church Hill, I think it was a one pub town.) It has a decent sized parking lot, easily enough room to turn around and park (this wasn’t readily apparent until I pulled in, the parking lot extends back toward the back yard.)
The breakfast served at Mountain View is pretty good. My wife had the fruit plate, while I selected the sausage/eggs/bacon breakfast.
The rooms were quiet and comfortable. I heard no noise from R251 at night.
Mountain View is a bargain! If you stay there, try the hike up Mount Errigal – it looks in intimidating, but it only took us about two hours round trip. Also try the short trail up to the lookout above the castle at Glenveagh National Park.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Enyedy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letterkenny
7.0 mi away
An Chuirt, Gweedore Court Hotel
10.0 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
14.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
13.5 mi away
Killererin House B&B
Killererin House B&B
#7 of 26 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
8.9 mi away
Bridgeburn House
Bridgeburn House
#6 of 26 in Letterkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View B&B

Property: Mountain View B&B
Address: R251 | Churchill, Letterkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Letterkenny
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing