We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Access issue - but apart from that i would highly recommend it!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Courtyard
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leixlip
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Access issue - but apart from that i would highly recommend it!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We went on a Groupon deal & it was excellent value.
Staff were 1st class - they were great.
Food in restaurant was also very, very good.
Late checkout made such a difference - brilliant.

Only downfall was that we required a wheelchair accessible room, & although both the bedroom & bathroom were well adapted, the door frames were no wider than any other door frames thus making it extremely difficult to get in and out of the bathroom. Although the wheelchair just about fitted through the frame it had to be at a certain angle but unfortunately the wardrobe was in the way so there was NO space to manouver the wheelchair!!
I explained this to a manager who thanked me for bringing it to their attention & assured me that it would be rectified!!

I would have no problem returning or recommending this hotel if this accessibility was sorted out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1983Gary1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    136
    41
    19
    21
See reviews for
103
299
7
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have just returned from a three week visit business trip, I was actually shooting a film in and around the area. My demands on the hotel were huge. Drivers, in room doctors (!) , catering, boardrooms, extra last minute bedrooms,, conference rooms. etc etc. There is absolutely nothing negative I can say about this hotel. Every thing was wonderful the staff are exceptional. As good as any four seasons anywhere in the world. I mention the Four Seasons specifically because they have set the bar for service generally globally. Each and every department has a standard of excellence that surpasses anything you could ask for. Room service and housekeeping is instant and of the highest quality. Reception is both courteous and knowledgeable. Dining are always ready to find you a table and never leave you waiting. The chef never disappoints. The bar men no matter how busy nod recognition when you arrive. Great music plays every night, but quiet log fires with comfy sofas can be found for a warm cup of tea too! . This hotel is run with a personal and professional flair so it seems no surprise that is privately owned by a family as it stands high above the crows. in a beautiful area close enough to Dublin to make it a perfect location to enjoy country and city. The rooms are well appointed, the bar is fun, the food is great, the value is unsurpassed and I am going to return again and again and again. Thank you to every one who makes this irish welcome so perfect .....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frederika881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Enjoyed wonderful weekend at the Courtyard Hotel recently, great bands playing on both nights in Arthurs Bar, dined first night in Arthurs Bar and food excellent, dined in the beautiful River Restaurant on Sat night, first class experience, food, service, piano player, could have stayed all evening in the Restaurant. Breakfast was a great continental buffet and then a cooked breakfast served to our table, everything you could want. Bedroom was spotless, warm and beautifully furnished. lots of outdoor seating in the lovely courtyard area too, would love to visit in spring or summer to enjoy this area more. All Staff were very helpful and friendly and we enjoyed chatting with Owen and Gemma at reception and the lovely foyer area with cosy fires. Kildare Village outlet and Irish National Stud were within 30 min drive too. We will certainly be returning to the Courtyard soon.

Room Tip: although hotel has great entertainment most nights and very busy bars, we had no problems in our roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate_oct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Went there on the Groupon deal - two nights B&B with 4 course meal and late check out for £110. Amazing Value for Money - the meal was excellent but the other night we ate in the bar was one of the niceset pub grub meals I've ever had. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, in particular Owen who upgraded us to a room at the rear of the hotel for free. Fantastic weekend in a great location.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the rear because the courtyard can be lively at nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedandwhitearmyDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Amazing value for money. Got a great deal on groupon for ~ 110 ( 2nights b n b and a three corse meal). Staff especially Owen were very welcoming and helpful. The food in the restaurant was beautiful - the three course meal was faultless. Breakfast on both mornings was very good and served promptly. Will defuantly be back to this great hotel. Thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chelly14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had two great nights is this fabulous hotel. We were on a Groupon deal and could not quite believe the value and quality! The rooms are spotless and the food in the restaurant was excellent - much better than we thought it would be. The craic was also great - met a wonderful family who go there all the time and it is clear that this is a hotel that cares about its guests. Particular thanks to Shauna who was so helpful, cheerful and professional. Hope a few more international travellers find this hotel as they will get the best Irish warm welcome!

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor - a good bit away from the main reception and this was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Spent a couple of nights in this great wee hotel in the middle of Leixlip. If you want comfort, friendly service, excellent food and drink then this is the spot. Not expensive with easy access to Dublin if required. Would certainly go back. Thanks to all the staff for the friendly touch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikePauley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leixlip
0.6 mi away
Springfield Hotel
Springfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leixlip
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
3.5 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
2.2 mi away
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
4.3 mi away
Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club
6.9 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtyard

Property: The Courtyard
Address: Main Street, Leixlip, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Leixlip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leixlip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Courtyard 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Courtyard Hotel, Leixlip. The hotel is the latest addition to the Moriarty Group, a fully Irish owned family business, priding itself on customer care and guest comfort. After many years of careful restoration, we believe that we have developed one of the most unique hotels to emerge onto the Irish market in recent times. The hotel combines remnants of the old Guinness Brewery, which was the original birthplace of Guinness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courtyard Hotel Leixlip
Courtyard Hotel Leixlip
Courtyard Leixlip
Leixlip Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing