We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Courtyard
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leixlip
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply The Best”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel several times partly as a base prior to returning home to the UK from visiting parents in Westmeath and also spending time in Dublin.. First time round, had a little difficulty in locating the actual hotel entrance but once there everything has always been first rate.

The hotel is situated in the tranquil village of Leixlip which has excellent connections to Dublin / the airport via bus, train or taxi. In the numerous visits made never had any issue with this first class quality hotel ranging from the excellent staff [Owen & Co], rooms [varying from special on line advance bookings to executive rooms] and quality meals and service in both the restaurant and more recently the bar.

Accepted that everyone has there own opinions on hotels and location but cannot understand why anyone would want to pay Dublin prices when they can stay in such a quality romantic environment with quick and easy access to the fair city.

Stayed in many hotels over the years but taking all in to account THIS IS SIMPLY THE BEST taking everything in to consideration.

Room Tip: Book on line early; 'specials' can often be obtained and river view rooms are are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola C, Manager at The Courtyard, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Maureen B,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of the Court Yard Hotel. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoy visiting us so much and hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Nicola Cunningham
Court Yard Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    138
    42
    19
    22
See reviews for
105
301
8
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballycastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Once we found our way to the hotel parking, via the Spar carpark, we were greeted by an impressive hotel and welcoming staff. The courtyard is a lovely spot to sit out but the gardens by the river are also pretty.
The room was a good size and well equipped. The bed was very comfortable.
The Riverside restaurant is truly excellent, all our meals were delicious and very good value. The menu is varied and has some original dishes. The pressed rabbit and ham hock terrine was sooo good.
All the staff were very courteous and helpful.
We went on a Groupon 2 night B & B with an evening meal. We definately hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryD0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola C, Manager at The Courtyard, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear MaryD0109,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Court Yard Hotel. We are happy you enjoyed relaxing in the courtyard area and found the gardens by the river to be pleasant also.

We are also glad that you were happy with your room and enjoyed the variety and value in the restaurant.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Nicola Cunningham
Court Yard Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and i spent two nights here in early September having availed of an internet offer on Groupon. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here. Staff and service standards were excellent, with the reception staff and restaraunt staff in particular worthy of mention for their courtesy, professionalism and friendliness. The welcome was warm, the food was excellent and the hotel itself was bright, airy, modern, clean and comfortable. Within easy commute distance of Dublin airport, Dublin city center and also convenient to Kildare Village shopping outlet.Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joste_Inc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola C, Manager at The Courtyard, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Joste_Inc,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Court Yard Hotel. We are happy that you found our staff and service standards to be excellent and have passed on your lovely comments about the Reception & Restaurant Teams.

We are also delighted that you found our location so convenient for your visit. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Nicola Cunningham
Court Yard Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I spent a night in the Courtyard recently and found the hotel to be perfectly acceptable with very friendly front of house (Chris) and rooms which were spot on. My main reason for writing this review is to commend the hotel on the excellant after care service. Basically after leaving the hotal I realised that I had forgotten my iPad( my eight year old put it in a drawer!) so I made a rather paniced phone call to the hotel not expecting a positive outcome. I was told that they wold check with housekeeping straight away and also check the room. After just 15 minutes they called me back to say they had found it. One very relived 8 year old in the back of the car! I then asked if they would post it on and supplied my credit card details. The follwoing day I received a call to say the iPad was on the way and there was no charge!

That's excellant service!! Well done to all at the Courtyard, will definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose a room towards the back as rooms facing on to the courtyard can be noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola C, Manager at The Courtyard, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Ken911,

Thank you for your lovely review of the Court Yard Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and are also happy that we could help reunite you with your iPad!

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you and your family back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Nicola Cunningham
Court Yard Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
349 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here for one night. We got a lovely large comfortable room overlooking the gardens which led down to the Liffey. The hotel was very busy with a great buzz about it. Breakfast was very good and the dining room looks out over the same view as our room. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N_IrelandFranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola C, Manager at The Courtyard, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear N_IrelandFranco,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Court Yard Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room to be large and comfortable.

Thank you also for your kind words about breakfast, we are glad you enjoyed it.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to the Court Yard Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Nicola Cunningham
Court Yard Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My girlfriend booked the courtyard hotel through Groupon® and to start, she could only get one slot in the month for two nights as the hotel was so busy, so that tells you it all. A very popular hotel.

The hotel is situated in the town of Leixlip right on the banks of the Liffey river, a stunning little location with a shop (spar), atm, complimentary carparking all right on its doorstep. Also in the village is a bus stop which has buses to Dublin city centre every 18mins which was very handy.

On arrival we found the reception staff to be very friendly and helpful. We went straight upto our room which was spotless and had a lovely view of the river. Room 201 if you're that fussy. The rooms are brilliantly clean and tidied to perfection and you dont have to leave it on the last day until 2pm.

Food is also super nothing to complain about at all so dont if you go yourself.

Just be careful in the small town itself, a minority of youths caused some teouble but just stay in the safety of the hotel grounds. Have fun!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank movve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola C, Manager at The Courtyard, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Movve,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Court Yard Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

Thank you also for your kind words about the cleanliness of your room, I know our housekeeping team will be delighted to be so warmly praised!

We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Nicola Cunningham
Court Yard Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

got a group on voucher for a two night stay including dinner 1 night. Was really nice hotel. Room was lovely and staff super friendly. Was a wee bit disappointed with food in restaurant for our meal including the breakfast. But would definately stay in the hotel again and Leixlip is a lovely village and the hotel location is just lovely right next to the river.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola C, Manager at The Courtyard, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Alison C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Court Yard Hotel. We are happy to hear that you found your room to be comfortable and that you were well looked after by our staff.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the food in the restaurant, if you would like to discuss this further, please feel free to email me directly nicola@moriartygroup.ie. I would welcome your thoughts on how we can improve our offering.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Nicola Cunningham
Court Yard Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leixlip
0.4 mi away
Springfield Hotel
Springfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leixlip
386 reviews
3.5 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
390 reviews
2.0 mi away
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
4.3 mi away
Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club
6.9 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtyard

Property: The Courtyard
Address: Main Street, Leixlip, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Leixlip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leixlip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtyard 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Courtyard Hotel, Leixlip. The hotel is the latest addition to the Moriarty Group, a fully Irish owned family business, priding itself on customer care and guest comfort. After many years of careful restoration, we believe that we have developed one of the most unique hotels to emerge onto the Irish market in recent times. The hotel combines remnants of the old Guinness Brewery, which was the original birthplace of Guinness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courtyard Hotel Leixlip
Courtyard Hotel Leixlip
Courtyard Leixlip
Leixlip Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing