We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Court Yard Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (704)
Filter reviews
704 results
Traveler rating
446
156
48
23
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
446
156
48
23
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtyard hotelexecutive suitearthur's barpiano barbank restaurantbar foodbig screenguinness breweryoutdoor areabooked this hotelthree course mealmid week breaklovely hotelcomfortable roomdublin city centreboth nightsreception staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
599 - 604 of 704 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2011

While attending the Solheim Cup at Castle Kileen this fall we opted to stay in Leixlip, a 30 minute drive from the Castle, a 15 minute drive from Dublin city limits. The Court Yard is a modern facility built on the old Guiness estate on the banks of the Royal Canal, a tributary to the Liffey, site of the first Guiness distillery from before 1759. Rooms are spacious, beds extremely comfortable, bath modern, spotless with towel warmers. There are two separate indoor pub areas, outdoor big screen bar area and a formal restaurant with separate bar of its own. We loved it and spent 6 nights there at the very end of a 3 week Irish adventure. Total cost of room, drinks and dinners for 6 nights: 740 euros. Meet Owen at the front desk, Peter and Kevin in the restaurant and Davon at the bar for excellent service.

Room Tip: Any room will thrill you.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bugsy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicky_the_lady, Front Office Manager at The Court Yard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2011

Dear Bugsy_10,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Court Yard Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay during your visit for the Solheim Cup.

We are delighted you were well looked after and enjoyed yourselves during your visit. We have passed on your kind words to all of the staff.

If you ever have an opportunity to visit Ireland again, we hope you will return for a visit!

Kind Regards,

Nicola Cunningham
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed in the Courtyard hotel in June this year.We'd bought a deal of one nights b&b plus dinner from a deal site and it was our first night away from our son since he was born. Needless to say we were looking forward to a night's sleep. We arrived into the hotel on a glorious sunny Saturday evening, checked in and went to have a drink in the courtyard. We had dinner in the restuarant which considering what we paid for the overall deal we can't fault. The bedroom was standard and quite comfortable. Breakfast the next morning (we had late checkout!) was vast and very impressive. The location, in the village of Leixlip, is fantastic.

The one thing I absolutely disliked about the hotel was the televisions every where blasting out sport. Admittedly there was a huge boxing match on that night but there was a cinema sized screen in the courtyard dedicated to sport. The bar inside had absolutely no charm, again televisions every where, and it was clearly designed to pack as many as possible in. There was a piano bar upstairs which we accidentally found on our way to bed. It's a real shame that the hotel has chosen to have a bar and drinking culture like this as it means if you're over a certain age or not into heavy drinking you won't really find it a relaxing place to enjoy a couple of drinks.

There was nothing remarkable about the hotel, the dinner, the bedroom but it was nice enough for a night away. It sells itself as the homeplace of Arthur Guinness so you expect something with charm but sadly there isn't any.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intrepidlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicky_the_lady, Front Office Manager at The Court Yard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2011

Dear Intrepidlady,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here in the Court Yard Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal in the River Bank Restaurant and that Breakfast met your expectations. We are also glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy your room with a late check out.

Thank you for your comments regarding the bar area. We try to strike a balance between showing Sport on the Screens, playing live music in our Live Venue and allowing guests to just relax and chat. As you noted in your review there are four bars within the property, Arthur's Bar, Arthur's Live Venue, the Piano Bar and the Restaurant Lounge. We also welcome guests to sit in the Lobby and enjoy a drink in the event they find the Bars too busy. We welcome feedback from our guests and I will discuss your comments with our Bar Manager.

If you would like to come and visit again, we would be delighted to have the opportunity to introduce you to the areas of the hotel that you may not have seen during your last visit.

Kind Regards,

Nicola Cunningham
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed at the Courtyard for the second time the first week in September and we were very surprised that every one we were in contact with last time we stayed there remembered us.This hotel is one of the best we have ever stayed in,the rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable, the breakfast excellent, the restaurant superb and the staff well they were perfect can't find any faults at all 10 out of 10 well done The Courtyard. Eileen and Ted Dutton from England.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking grassed area the best, the river is on that side to but you can't see it.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aoife2010wigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicky_the_lady, Front Office Manager at The Court Yard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2011

Dear Eileen & Ted,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Nicola Cunningham
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

My wife and I have stayed here many times. It is a lovely little 3 star hotel right in the main street of Leixlip , Co . Kildare. Spotlessly clean , this hotel has a fine restaurant and 3 bars . The Courtyard also boasts an actual courtyard with a manmade waterfall and giant tv screen - if you get the weather !!! There is a fine restaurant on site and 3 bars serving bar food as well as drinks .There is easy access to Dublin's city centre (via road , bus or rail ) . Nice friendly staff will top off a lovely stay .

Room Tip: Most rooms have a lovely view of the river . Worth asking for .
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank corky_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Just returned from a three day stay at the Courtyard and it was just like visiting old friends. The genuine welcome and warmness is ongoing, from check-in, to room service, restaurant, bars to check-out.
I have been to many a hotel throughout Europe and the Courtyard rates above all for staff attentiveness, atmosphere, cleanliness, fantastic entertainment, quality of food and drink and value for money.

Local attractions abound and you will never be short of places to visit and things to do.

Even though it is situated snugly in the countryside it is handy to major road networks that will whizz you effortlessly to Dublin Airport,Dublin City, Belfast and the West of Ireland.

I rarely return to hotels that I have already visited, but in the Courtyards case, I most certainly will ..... and it just cannot come soon enough !


Liam McDonagh & Family

Belfast, Ireland.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LiamDeborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews