We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service from start to finish”
Review of Springfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Springfield Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Leixlip
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service from start to finish”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We recently has the pleasure of holding our wedding reception in the Springfield Hotel & the service we received from start to finish was excellent. A special thanks to Michelle who we dealt with on a weekly basis and then daily in the build up to the big day. Any questions were dealt with in a fast efficient manner and nothing was too much bother for us or our guests. The food was excellent on the day and we would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending the services and hospitality of the Springfield hotel for any occasion. Sinead & Brendan.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sinead P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    96
    49
    32
    18
See reviews for
126
116
8
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Courcome
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Problem 1: wi-fi

It said on our booking form that "wi-fi is available in all areas and is free of charge." It also mentioned "free wi-fi" in the room details. When we discovered it was not available in the room we told reception of our disappointment. They referred us to small details on the booking form. There were no small details. We showed them our details on the booking site and they then proceeded to blame the booking agency (booking.com). That seemed like passing on the problem, rather than being apologetic. We noticed later that they rectified their wi-fi details on the booking.com page devoted to the hotel.

Problem 2: hairdryer

We didn't pack a hairdryer as the booking form said one was available in each room. There was none in our room. When we went (again) to reception we were told they had no portable hairdryers. They moved us to the room next door which was slightly larger and had two screwed-in hairdryers. Problem solved.

Problem 3: meals included.

On our booking form it said breakfast was included in the room rate and "dinner costs €20 per person per night." On our first night in the restaurant we forgot this and signed for the meal. On our second night we remembered and told the waitress who amended the bill accordingly. We figured we could sort out the first night discrepancy on checking out. We were wrong. We were told the menu would have been different if we had mentioned the €20 deal and, also, that we should have booked the deal in the restaurant in advance. No joy there.
The food and service in the restaurant was quite good but the bar food was very poor. Breakfast was good if you like a full Irish. We do.

Problem 4: plumbing

While the bathroom was clean and the shower powerful, there was an odd problem with the toilet. It took an age (at least ten minutes) to refill the cistern. An embarrassing predicament at times. Given our other difficulties at reception, we let it go.

Overall the general staff were pleasant and helpful and the trainee assistant at reception was polite and did her best. Otherwise the attitude at reception was not what it should and could have been.

Would we stay again? No.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Conor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agrate Brianza, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

i was there 2 nights, the hotel is not clean and bug on bed, service and person are very nice and in general the hotel looks good. i got terrible night. at the end i left even if they offered to me a different room with upgrade. the breakfast is good but take a lot of time to be prepaired

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank salvatore d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardaig_Kennedy, General Manager at Springfield Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Salvatore d
Thank you for taking the time in writing yout review.
I will pass you kind comments on to our Staff.
The Comment you made about the hotel not been clean which i take seriously.
Your comment about a bug in the bed was not a bug but a wasp, with the warm weather we have been having people are leaving there windows open in there rooms and unfortunately this is what happend to you.
The Springfield Hotel has a very high standard of Cleanliness & Hyginene and i would like to inviteyou back at anytime to see this.
Kind Regards
Padraig Kennedy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had our Wedding in The Springfield Hotel on Friday the 2nd of August '13. The service and attention we received on the very first day up to and including our Big day was excellent. We would like to thank all the staff for been so professional but a very special Thank You to Gerard and Michelle for all the done for us. Thanks again so much, we look forward to seen you in the near future. Janet and Dave Gurley

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardaig_Kennedy, General Manager at Springfield Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Dave G
Thank you for your Kind words
I will pass then on to alll the Management & Staff,and to all of our suppliers.
We here at the Springfield Hotel are delighted that you and your family and friends had a memorable day and that we treat every wedding as part of our family.
We look forward to seeing you both soon.
Kind Regards
Padraig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Visited the Springfield Hotel for a One Night B&B with Evening Meal Package deal with my GF and a number of members of the immediate family. The Hotel itself was very well presented, a fresh well maintained exterior with a large open plan reception on two levels with the main reception desk adjoin the access to the rooms, lifts and staircase. Staff at reception were very friendly and check-in was handled efficiently and quickly. Room was not ready at arrival time so we went to the Bar for something to eat while we waited for the room to be made available to put our bags into. The Bar area was quite large, with plenty of seating with good spacing, the decor was modern but retained a nice warm intimate feel to it. A few of us ordered something light as we were having dinner in the restaurant later that evening, the order was taken quickly but seemed to take a little while. The table was not 100% clean and was not wiped down before the food was served. The food was also served before Knives & Forks were brought down, not a big deal really, but the place was not very busy so it was an oversight you would not of expected.

The Room was very clean, quite spacious and very nicely decorated and equipped. The Bathroom was also very clean and well stocked. The temperature was good, one thing i notice about hotels is that at this time of year, heating can be a bit hit an miss, as its not warm enough to have it off completely but not cold enough to have it on for long either, so the temperature was very pleasant. Overall the room cant be faulted and certainly one of the better hotel rooms Ive stayed in.

We had dinner at about 7:30, and while the room was very busy, orders were taken very quickly and courses were served promptly and efficiently, a number of the people in our group has a couple of special requests which were catered for without any objection. The food was good, hot and nicely served, but nothing exceptional.

Breakfast was served in the restaurant the following morning, i arrived with my GF at about 9:15am, there was very little choice as regards fruits with only grapefruit pieces and whole bananas, with some potted yogart, which were not chilled. I chose to go for hot food, and found that there was no Bacon, No White Puddings, only Fried Eggs, all i was able to get was some fried Egg and Black pudding as i dont eat sausage. Toast was served at the table and was not very hot, and coffee was also a little on the cool side. Since breakfast was being served until 10:30 i was disappointed to see that they were running low on some of hte stable breakfast foods, These foods were not restocked until i was almost finished my breakfast and i had made due with what i had and was no longer hungry, but many people who came in after us, was able to access the full breakfast menu.

Overall the experience was fine, but there was a few disappointment's, there was certainly no wow factor therefore i probably wont be back in the future. All that said, as with every review of any hotel, i am basing my comments on my experience, at a particular time, on a particular day, I'm not in the habit of running down places as i know from experience dealing with the public is one of the hardest jobs in the world, but there are a few little things that this hotel needs to keep an eye on.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dfinnerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stay here 3 times a year on business and can honestly say its great value for money. you are a little way out of Dublin (approx 15 minutes taxi 20 minutes bus) however don't let this put you off. the breakfast is very good also. If I had one issue it would be the waiting time on getting seated at breakfast, however once seated breakfast is served quickly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for two nights recently;two adults and two children.The staff were excellent as was the food. The hotel was spotless. It doesn't have a swimming pool how ever it does have a gym. Would definitely recommend it. Excellent location also.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leixlip
0.4 mi away
The Court Yard Hotel
The Court Yard Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leixlip
660 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lucan Spa Hotel
Lucan Spa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lucan
323 reviews
3.7 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Finnstown Castle Hotel
4.7 mi away
Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club
3.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Hotel

Property: Springfield Hotel
Address: Leixlip Road, Leixlip, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Leixlip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Leixlip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Springfield Hotel we aim to make your stay as comfortable as possible. It starts as soon as you step inside the hotel and experience the facilities, from the welcoming bar atmosphere to the relaxed quality of our restaurant. All our 52 central heated bedrooms are en-suite, are tastefully decorated and furnished to a high standard and designed to make your stay with us a comfortable as possible. Choose from a suite of rooms including Standard Guestrooms, Executive Guestrooms and Family Rooms for the perfect accommodation in Kildare. The following facilities are standard: Colour satellite/cable TV, Hair dryer, Tea/coffee courtesy tray, Direct dial telephone, Voice mail, Modem points, Personal safe, FREE broadband and wireless internet connections. We also have 10 executive mini suites decorated with a touch of elegance incorporating the same facilities as our bedrooms, extras include mini fridge and trouser press all designed to make your stay with us as comfortable as possible. Some of our bedrooms are designed for people with special needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Springfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leixlip Hotel Springfield
Springfield Hotel Leixlip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing