We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab setting and great food”

Gregans Castle Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Ballyvaughan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $62 - $78
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The elegant formal restaurant at Gregans Castle Hotel has commanding views of Galway Bay and The surrounding Burren landscape. Award winning cooking from acclaimed Chef David Hurley who in both 2014 and 2015 was awarded Best Chef in the Munster Region.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab setting and great food”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

We had a family dinner last weekend to celebrate my parents' 50th wedding anniversary. There were 11 of us, including 2 young children and we had the tasting menu (separate menu for the children). There was nothing we could fault, and, although not cheap, the meal was good value for money. The food was amazing, and the service excellent. Don't miss this if you're in the area!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank caplge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    10
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“#7? No way. It's the best!”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

We visited Gregans Castle for the second time, and it was even better than the first time - and the first time was awesome.

We had the 3-course meal (rather than the 11-courses available after 8 pm), and it was superb, and really 6 courses (at least - including complimentary starter, pre-dessert, and petit fours.). The heirloom tomato salad was excellent, and the crab salad was very original. The duck main courses were outstanding, and the fish courses all well prepared. The dessert was the best, perhaps ever - a black current soufflé that I only wish I had more of! Petit fours were also best ever! They even gave my nut allergy child her own nut free petit fours.

Service was outstanding, and the meal overall the same. It's expensive, yes, but worth it. We had a lovely table with a lovely view. I can't wait to return. Ignore the reviews that say the food isn't good - those folks must have had a bad night...

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank jakklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Level Contributor
180 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,146 helpful votes
“Tea and scones”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We four "ladies" dropped in for tea as we were touring the countryside--two moms (one American, one Irish) and our daughters. What a nice respite from the road and what a lovely place to stop!

The scones with butter, jam and cream were absolutely delicious, the tea was hot and plentiful and the service couldn't have been nicer. (We also LOVED the décor in the women's restroom!)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Lori12309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Afternoon tea”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We had a great relaxing time here ,where we enjoyed freshly made scones,and freshly baked cakes.located in between beautiful mountains it is an ideal location to relax and unwind

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bob o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NI
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Incredible meal”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Gregans and had the tasting menu on one evening - it was one of the best meals I have ever had! The food was outstanding from start to finish and they could not have been more helpful at adapting the menu for a pregnant lady who couldn't eat some things. The wines served also were superb. Very reasonably priced for the extremely high quality of food - wouldn't hesitate to recommend!

Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethNi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gregans Castle Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Ballyvaughan, The Burren
Ballyvaughan, The Burren
 
Ballyvaughan, The Burren
 

Been to Gregans Castle Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing