We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding meal and service”

Gregans Castle Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Ballyvaughan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $76
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The elegant formal restaurant at Gregans Castle Hotel has commanding views of Galway Bay and The surrounding Burren landscape. Award winning cooking from acclaimed Chef David Hurley who in both 2014 and 2015 was awarded Best Chef in the Munster Region.
naperville, illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We decided to treat ourselves to a meal at the castle for our anniversary. We made reservations online for the 9 course tasting menu, which we confirmed a few days before without issue. We arrived early and enjoyed a drink in the corkscrew bar. We were then moved to the dining room for our meal, which was outstanding! Don't let "tasting menu" fool you into thinking you'll leave hungry. Each course was a work of art and had the taste to with the presentation. The atmosphere was equally excellent and comfortable. We will return again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank part_time_irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    10
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful food and views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great location by the Burren. Excellent food and a lovely interior. Great choice for a treat, definitely try the scallops.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PersianGerbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and perfect service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just back from a truly lovely meal at this hotel. My partner and I were made very welcome and the service throughout the evening was faultless. The food was a complete pleasure, the flavour combinations were excellent and the presentation amazing. Will definitely return again and recommend,

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Exceptional food, service & presentation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

A few years ago, Ireland experienced their food revolution from local dining to haute cuisine. Gregan's was the only place in my lengthy trip that qualifies as the latter. The opening amuse of three tiny mousse bites exploded with flavor in my mouth. The later courses of Irish salmon and rack of lamb were delectable, and perfectly seasoned. Apparently, seasoning is rare among Irish chefs who prefer to let their very fresh ingredients "speak for themselves". Gregan's ingredients also were incredibly fresh, but they positively sang with the chef's preparation. And then, there was the ever changing scenic Burren to contemplate with the meal. Incredible.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler090909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
112 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

we had eaten here in the past but in no way were we prepared for the presentation and qulaity of the meals we had. Truly exceptional

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jumbo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gregans Castle Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Ballyvaughan, The Burren
Ballyvaughan, The Burren
 
Ballyvaughan, The Burren
 
Ballyvaughan, The Burren
 

Been to Gregans Castle Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing