We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B, marvelous hosts”
Review of Ballyvaughan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballyvaughan Lodge
Ranked #4 of 16 Ballyvaughan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Pauline and Gerry are life-savers. When our ferry for an overnight to Inish Oirr from Doolin was cancelled, we called the TI in Ballyvaughan, got their number and Pauline came to the rescue. She figured out a nice arrangement for the nine of us and we set off for Ballyvaughan. We were booking sight-unseen and were a bit nervous, but we couldn’t have picked a better B&B even if had done exhaustive research. All rooms were well-appointed with comfortable beds and bathrooms. The guest lounge is large and inviting. Pauline’s breakfasts were yummy and filling. The B&B is less than a 5 minute walk to the village center. The garden is a well kept and looks to be a good spot to relax with a cup of coffee. We paid €290 for the night – you can’t beat that!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 238 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2007

We enjoyed our one night here at the Ballyvaughan. The lodge is located right in the heart of the town only a few minutes walk to the pubs and shops. It is the ideal location for exploring the Burren area. The lodge itself was clean and well kept. The breakfast was of excellent quality and they would prepare you just about anything you wanted. Rooms were nicely decorated. Our room had hardwood floors, ensuite bathroom, comfortable bed and small seating area.
I would have no problem recommending this lodge to friends and family.

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank snorkel4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

What a little gem of a place to stay. We toured Ireland for a week this July and went to see the area of the Burren. Ballyvaughan Lodge was somewhere we just stopped outside and liked the look of. So glad we stayed there. They have a lovely patio area outside for you to sit on and the rooms are comfortable and decorated to a very high standard. Bathroom was clean. Breakfast was great. A lovely selection of fruits, yoghurts, cereals plus the usual irish full breakfast or scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. They are within easy walking distance of the pubs and you must pay a vist to the old wiskey bar... its like going back 60 years! Would def stay at this B&B again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Wanna76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2007

We stayed at the Ballyvaughan Lodge for 4 nights at the beginning of May. All of the top B&Bs in the Tripadvisor rankings are way out of the village (too far to walk in in safely along the very narrow roads) and we were keen to find a place right in the village for the excellent "Burren in Bloom" events.

Ballyvaughan Lodge met our requirements, being near the shops and perhaps more importantly the pubs. We were delighted with our choice. It is very smartly furnished with many interesting artworks on display. It has a large residents lounge, and a separate tv room. Pauline was keen to help with any queries about the area.

Breakfast was served in the immaculate dining room, and as well as the usual fare, nicely cooked to order, there were excellent fresh fruit compotes,real orange juice, good muesli and what appeared to be home-made jam.

Our bedroom was immaculate and included good coffee-making facilities (and tv). The bathroom was a little small, but nicely fitted. You are provided with a front door key and can come and go at any time.

We moved on to Joyces Waterloo Guesthouse in Clifden, which is the #1 Tripadvisor recommendation in Connemara.
All I can say is that Ballyvaughan Lodge was much nicer in ALL aspects.

Highly recommended and so is the series of natural history talks, walks and evening entertainments that makes up the "Burren in Bloom" month

5  Thank Godwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dieks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Edwin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyvaughan
0.1 mi away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
271 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
481 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Wild Atlantic Lodge
The Wild Atlantic Lodge
#5 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
306 reviews
1 mi away
The Waters Country House
The Waters Country House
#6 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
132 reviews
1 mi away
Cappabhaile House
Cappabhaile House
#2 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyvaughan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyvaughan Lodge

Address: Ballyvaughan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Ballyvaughan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyvaughan
Price Range: $117 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballyvaughan Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the centre of Ballyvaughan village, within walking distance of restaurants, cafes, bars, local craft fairs and shops.After a days journey, park your car in our private car park, check into Ballyvaughan Lodge, meet your hosts Pauline & Gerry who serve to make your stay as memorable & comfortable as possible. Stroll down our quaint seaside village & enjoy a pint, looking over Galway Bay and watch the sun go down. Ballyvaughan Lodge has 10 bedrooms. All are en-suite. Our lounge and sun-room caters for your relaxation, whether reading about the Burren or just enjoying our gallery. On a glorious sunny day sit on our deck and take in the Burren with all its majestic beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ballyvaughan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyvaughan Lodge Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing