We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Ballyvaughan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballyvaughan Lodge
Ranked #4 of 16 Ballyvaughan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Visited Ballyvaughan for one night. The B&B was excellent. Gerry was extremely welcoming and suggested a local italian restuarant that he enjoys. It turned out to be great. Also suggested a loca pub that for music. Good time.

The B&B was very comfortable and warm. The rooms were large and breakfast was fantastic. Delivered to each table with a personable conversation. Gerry always made sure to call you by your first name. Excellent place to stay...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wood456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    18
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
122
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
2 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Nice room, fantastic breakfast, Gerry was warm and helpful, good price, easy walk to everything, great roses out front, fuschia flower on our eggs a beautiful extra. The selection and variety of fruit at breakfast was exceptional, table setting was gorgeous, arrangements were made for us for a fantastic tour of the Burren, recommendations for dinner and lunch were "spot on" - we'll go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
183 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

If you are looking for a warm, inviting B&B that is clean and cozy this is the one for you! Gerry and Pauline are so friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are the best. The assortment of fresh fruits, cereals etc. is exceptional as are the cooked breakfasts. You will not go away hungry! If you need advice on where to eat, or in what pubs you will hear good music just ask! You are within walking distance to the town too!They will also make reservations for dinner or boat trips etc. I HIGHLY recommend this B&B!

Room Tip: The rooms all look great! We were traveling with four others and we all loved our accommodations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebirds77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Pauline and Gerry are wonderful gracious hosts. Ballyvaughan Lodge is situated in a perfect location right at the edge of the village. The room was great and the breakfast was outstanding with a huge variety of fresh fruit we didn't get anywhere else. We will surely be back!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrsBicep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Hotels.com screwed up and did not send through our reservation but the owners did a little bit of room rearranging and voila we had a beautiful room. It is quiet and extremely tastefully decorated. The pictures online do not do it justice and the breakfast was wonderful. Would stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SueA385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had the pleasure of experiencing the excellent Irish hospitality offered by Gerry and Pauline in this beautiful little town on the edge of the Burren. Our party of five only stayed one night, but, rest assured, we will be back. Not only were the accommodations first rate and the Irish breakfast outstanding, but the host and hostess's willingness to help us find a great Italian restaurant with loads of vegetarian options for our party, but also some great pubs with music, great whiskey, and wonderful people....We wished we had more time to hear Gerry (someone you WANT to be friends with) talk about the area and certainly more time to spend in Ballyvaughan. THANKS GERRY AND PAULINE!!!!

Room Tip: They are all wonderful , even including a teakettle in each.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelsV6487KZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Gerry & Pauline offer first class accommodation & hospitality. We had the pleasure of staying with them for four nights & we enjoyed out stay. Room cleaned every day, fresh towels etc the breakfast is fabulous choice of fruit, cereals & full Irish as well ( delicious ) Gerry & Pauline are knowledgable about Co. Clare & offer advice where to eat and places to visit. Well done !!!! P

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballyvaughan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
254 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
449 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cappabhaile House
Cappabhaile House
#2 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Wild Atlantic Lodge
The Wild Atlantic Lodge
#6 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
269 reviews
1.1 mi away
Drumcreehy Country House
Drumcreehy Country House
#1 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
657 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hazelwood Lodge
Hazelwood Lodge
#3 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyvaughan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyvaughan Lodge

Property: Ballyvaughan Lodge
Address: Ballyvaughan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Ballyvaughan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyvaughan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballyvaughan Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the centre of Ballyvaughan village, within walking distance of restaurants, cafes, bars, local craft fairs and shops.After a days journey, park your car in our private car park, check into Ballyvaughan Lodge, meet your hosts Pauline & Gerry who serve to make your stay as memorable & comfortable as possible. Stroll down our quaint seaside village & enjoy a pint, looking over Galway Bay and watch the sun go down. Ballyvaughan Lodge has 10 bedrooms. All are en-suite. Our lounge and sun-room caters for your relaxation, whether reading about the Burren or just enjoying our gallery. On a glorious sunny day sit on our deck and take in the Burren with all its majestic beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ballyvaughan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyvaughan Lodge Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing