We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Ballyvaughan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballyvaughan Lodge
Ranked #3 of 16 Ballyvaughan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We really enjoyed being able to walk to everything in town, pubs, grocery store, restaurant etc. and feeling like we were part of the village.The location is also ideal for touring around the Burren and Gerry will arm you with good, if somewhat vague, directions.
The rooms were nicely appointed and very clean, although a bit on the small side if you have much luggage. The bathrooms were also spotless but tiny, avoiding banging into the glass shelf over the sink every morning became a family joke. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Pauline and Gerry were very helpful and welcoming. All in all, a great place to stay and Ballyvaughan itself is an attractive small town.We were glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuriosityCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    18
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
120
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed here for three nights with my family and enjoyed it. It was spotlessly clean and breakfasts were good. We had two rooms, one was a double and one was a twin, and both were quite small. The bathrooms of both rooms were tiny, just big enough to turn around in. That being said, everything was clean and comfortable.

Gerry and Pauline were welcoming and helpful. This was a golf trip for my brother but since he was the only one interested in playing, Gerry and Pauline called up one of their friends so he wouldn't have to play alone. Nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

At the end of my trip to Ireland this summer (2012) we spent a very enjoyable day in County Claire. After hiking in the Burren we came to the beautiful village of Ballyvaughan. Stayed at the Ballyvaughan Lodge B&B during the middle of the week for 1 night. Very clean, comfortable beds, and has dish TV. Best breakfast in Ireland! Very friendly atmospere and a short walk to the village of Ballyvaughan. The nicest people in Ireland are from County Claire and we look forward to returning to Ballyvaughan.
Mark and Mary

Room Tip: Enjoy an evening stroll along the harbor in BallyVaughan
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maire_Southampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Still the best B&B in Clare. We had three great days there last week and have been there a number of times over many years and have never been disappointed. Comfortable and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble for Gerry and Pauline to make your stay a memorable one. The breakfast is especially good; fresh fruit and an extensive menu. Breakfast is cooked to order not sitting around beforehand. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajmullIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed in Ballyvaughan Lodge Bed&Breakfast for 2 nights the place is spotless clean rooms very very comfortable. I taught the owners Pauline and Gerry were very kind and helpful and breakfast was amazing

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donal3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Over the same weekend for the past 4 years we've stayed in different B&Bs in the beautiful village of Ballyvaughan - and finally we have found the best. Slap bang in the centre of the village, purpose built, very welcoming hosts in Gerry and Pauline who manage to remember the name of every guest, comfortable and spotlessly clean bedrooms, interesting and quirky decor throughout the house - and the deciding factor: a fantastic breakfast equal to any 5* hotel. No need to search anymore - we'll be back next year! Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljasmine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Well located for all activities in the burren, 2 minute walk from main street in Ballyvaughan (restaurants/pubs etc.). Room was comfortable and nicely decorated, owners were friendly. Breakfast included good choice of cereals, fish and wide choice of fruits in addition to usual fried breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballyvaughan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cappabhaile House
Cappabhaile House
#2 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Drumcreehy Country House
Drumcreehy Country House
#1 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wild Atlantic Lodge
The Wild Atlantic Lodge
#6 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hazelwood Lodge
Hazelwood Lodge
#4 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyvaughan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyvaughan Lodge

Property: Ballyvaughan Lodge
Address: Ballyvaughan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Ballyvaughan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyvaughan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballyvaughan Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the centre of Ballyvaughan village, within walking distance of restaurants, cafes, bars, local craft fairs and shops.After a days journey, park your car in our private car park, check into Ballyvaughan Lodge, meet your hosts Pauline & Gerry who serve to make your stay as memorable & comfortable as possible. Stroll down our quaint seaside village & enjoy a pint, looking over Galway Bay and watch the sun go down. Ballyvaughan Lodge has 10 bedrooms. All are en-suite. Our lounge and sun-room caters for your relaxation, whether reading about the Burren or just enjoying our gallery. On a glorious sunny day sit on our deck and take in the Burren with all its majestic beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ballyvaughan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyvaughan Lodge Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing