We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Waters Country House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Gregans Castle Hotel(Ballyvaughan)
$526
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hylands Burren Hotel(Ballyvaughan)
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rathbaun Hotel(Lisdoonvarna)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Spa Hotel(Lisdoonvarna)
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$275
$190
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Salthill Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
$189
$177
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveler rating
103
23
6
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
23
6
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnatural springglass of winequirky charmhomey placesitting roomopen firecomfy couchescommon areasb bone nightfeel right at homecouple of nightsquiet roomfriendly ownershome away from homehonesty barhis wife
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 134 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights at end of August. Really lovely house with very friendly owners but not too intrusive. Rooms are old style with antique furniture and very clean, no TV in room is a nice change. Bathrooms are same. House is about 3km from village but taxi available. Go here, turn off the phone and relax!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

On a two week solo trip, this was the best place I stayed, and the first place I will go back to. It's remote location on a hillside is still within (long) walking distance to the town of Ballyvaughan, and the cab ride is only €5. The geological formations around the valley surround you like a big hug. The wonders are also small: a land snail, a rare wildflower, a freshwater spring. This is where you go for peace and quiet and restoration. The breakfast was delicious and I felt right at home with the hosts. They gave me books to read about the The Burren and advice on where to go in the town. They have a self-serve bar and two sitting rooms, where I enjoyed reading the newspaper from cover to cover. I stayed two nights but it was not nearly long enough! The architectural renovation was beautifully done; the owners have a real eye for color and form and an appreciation for true comfort.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 685gracem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

It's an amazing experience staying here. The decor is totally different from the other b&b's we saw. There's really only nature surrounding the place so you feel like you're in the middle of nowhere. But you have some really great hiking paths through the Burren on your doorstep and if you take your car you're only ten minutes away from the village and coast road with restaurants and pubs. Try Monks and An Fulacht Fia!
The breakfast is served with candles on the tables, at night you can have a drink in the living room and talk with the other guests. Somehow, the atmosphere is great for talking to strangers because we had some great conversations there every night!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MvanDinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Got a bit of a shock when arrived first not what we were expecting,but after two nights found it to be a very relaxing place to escape from it all.wolfgang and marie very welcoming and helpful,excellant breakfast and ideally located.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1gerryc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

we stayed here just one night and it was wonderful. we will go back again. the location is peaceful and staff /patron are extremely nice . the rooms are unique and full of character, yet still modern with all the usual conveniences. the breakfast was lovely and a perfect way to end our stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul2940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews