We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than a room with breakfast”
Review of Cappabhaile House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cappabhaile House
Ranked #2 of 16 Ballyvaughan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Much more than a room with breakfast”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Though the room was very nice and comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious - the best part of Cappabhaile House has to be Conor and his thorough knowledge of the area. He mapped out a full day itinerary for us that allowed us to explore both the unusual natural beauty of the Burren as well as it's architecture and history. Fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    47
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
141
165
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at Cappabhaile House for three nights this September and it was wonderful. Conor, the host, was a wealth of knowledge about Irish history, geography, and things to do in the local area. He could not have made us feel more welcome. The breakfast each day was fantastic, good fresh food in generous quantities. The room was well appointed and generous in size with a very nice bathroom. There is a public room with TV, pool table and games.

Cappabhaile House is in a great location if you want to explore the coast or the Burren and is close to a wonderful small town.

We would stay here again in a moment.

Room Tip: Just let Conor know what you need before you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We recently spent a long weekend in this exceptional B+B which is ideally situated if you are going to explore the Burren- we were there for a conference in the area.. It is one of the best B+Bs we have ever stayed in- and we have stayed in many over the years, both in Ireland and elsewhere. From the first view of the window boxes overflowing with flowers, and of the spacious reception area, we loved the place. Our room and bathroom were very large, warm and comfortable. We had all we needed for our stay,and a lovely view of fields and mountains as well. There were chocolate biscuits every day to have with our tea / coffee- very nice when you come in hungry after a long walk!. The breakfast choice was very wide.There were at least 5 nationalities there that weekend and I would say all types of breakfast were catered for, as you had cheeses, meats,fish, fruits, yogurts as well as the usual cereals, breads, and Irish breakfasts which were more than generous. The excellent food was always freshly cooked; and while you were asked to order and give a time the night before, you could change time or choice ( and we did) in the morning if you needed to. Conor and Margaret Fahy, the owners,and indeed their staff, could not have been more helpful. Conor has a huge amount of information about the area, and its history- better than any guide book; he seemed always to have time to answer any questions we had
He was also especially helpful when one of us had a bit of a crisis ( happily resolved)..Conor offered to help in any way he could, and even to drive us if needed. We felt as if these were friends rather than people we had met two days before that! We look forward to going back very soon By the way take time to look at all the great photos of the wildlife and plants of the area which line every corridor. We could not praise this B+B enough- but be sure to contact them before you arrive. They had no vacancies that weekend even though it was September and so, not in high season.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view. These are at the back and are very quiet, and you can see many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norarua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Where do I start?
We've been there twice in the last 3 years, each time for three or four nights, and it has become our home away from home when we head to the West coast.

Welcoming place:
The comfort and privacy of a hotel, with the welcome and homely atmosphere of a B&B.
Great quiet location, a short drive (1/2 mile) from the Ballyvaughan village, beautiful views all round.
Very spacious and quiet rooms with lovely views, wide & airy reception, and breakfast area with wide windows on the surrounding countryside. 
Kids are very welcome. There is a leisure room for the rainy days including children's books, games, toys, DVDs etc. and there even is a (free) pool table for all to enjoy.
Large car park at the front.
A short stroll away from the ancient Newtown Round Tower.
Fields all around, superb views.
Everything was clean and comfortable.
The bathroom in room 5 was a bit small, if I really need to find something wrong to report...

Great Breakfast:
We enjoyed the extensive choice of breakfast, from the generous Full Irish to the refreshing and colourful (yet still large) assortment of many fruits (ripe and tasty) with a range of Irish cheeses (no tasteless plastic wrapped cheddar here...), or smoked salmon omelette, among others.

Warm human touch:
Conor and his wife are always ready to share their knowledge of the local land, flora and fauna, and if, like me, you are curious and interested in the region, you'll learn much more than from your guide books. Conor always has a fascinating book to lend you about the Burren's prehistory or the exotic local flora, and they'll give you all the good advice you will need for a great visit of the area and beyond.

Together with their charming and helpful assistant, the Fahys will make you feel very welcome right away.
Very reasonable price.
Make sure to ring them ahead to enquire about vacancies !

Room Tip: Rooms 5-to-8 at the back have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diabolooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
220 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a group after a wedding the previous day and everything went according to plan. Connor was helpful and provided lots of local information and was flexible on our breakfast timing as we had an early flight.
Our room was great but in a slightly awkward place if you had a lot of bags. We just took what we needed from the car. Great parking while I think of it! Most rooms had easier access than ours so it really was not a problem. Like many Irish B&B they prefer cash and charge a surcharge for credit cards.
I think there were 14 of us in the group, some of whom did not have a reservation but were accommodated cheerfully.
I am not sure of access to the village as we ate in Lisdoonvarna a short distance away but on a very curvy / curly road.
Great stay!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cruicad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borrego Springs, California
Level Contributor
372 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 530 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We spent three nights here, and could easily have spent 10. The Burren is fantastic, full of historical ruins. Conor and Peggy were friendly and helpful. If you like history, Conor is a history aficionado, and will supply you will the most excellent guidebooks to the ancient ruins in the Burren. Breakfasts, the room, the service, the setting, the location.... ALL 5 STAR.

Room Tip: drop an email to Conor; you get a reply first thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thunefeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I chose this B&B because of previous reviews on Tripadvisor and it did not let me down. The owner, Conor Fahy, is wonderful. The location is right outside of town, a little close to the road, but surprisingly quiet. We chose a family room which was very spacious, clean and comfortable. We stayed two nights and the breakfasts both mornings were absolutely delicious! Everything was fresh, you had a large selection to choose from and very generous amounts of food!

The best part was Conor's expertise. We had an idea of what we wanted to see and he helped steer us in the right direction, along with lots of historical information. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay to explore The Burren (which has a lot to do and great hiking!).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLH2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyvaughan
2.2 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
2.1 mi away
Drumcreehy Country House
Drumcreehy Country House
#1 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ballyvaughan Lodge
Ballyvaughan Lodge
#3 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cappabhaile House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cappabhaile House

Property: Cappabhaile House
Address: Newtown, Ballyvaughan NA, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Ballyvaughan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyvaughan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cappabhaile House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a large, spacious B&B Hotel in the Burren Hills, we offer great rooms and a very extensive breakfast, coupled with peace, quiet and a warm family welcome in a rural environment. We are situated right in the middle of the Burren region, which is a mountainous terrain in North Clare, famous for its flowers, rocks and scenery. The Hotel accommodation at Cappabhaile House is unique, with fantastic views of the Burren Hills. We have built on our own 12-acre site, where you can mingle amongst the cattle and take a stroll at your leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Cappabhaile House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cappabhaile House Ballyvaughan, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing