We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, lovely rooms, peaceful location”
Review of Cappabhaile House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cappabhaile House
Ranked #2 of 16 Ballyvaughan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value, lovely rooms, peaceful location”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by the owner. The room was lovely - very spacious, clean, comfy bed and lovely view of the countryside. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful and the free pool table added a touch of fun. The only downside was the shower which was pretty weak, but i had a bath instead which was probably a better way to relax anyhow.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggxdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    49
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
149
172
22
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Well, maybe not perfection, but pretty close to it. The hosts couldn't be nicer and more sincerely accommodating. The room was large and designed for comfort with views of the surrounding countryside. The breakfast was more than ample, and the general warmth of the place in the, shall we say 'challenge' of the Burren wilderness was delightful. Great people running a great establishment. Will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saraibcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manheim, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Thank you to Margaret, Connor and your staff! You made the first time trip to the Burren warm with your hospitality and great B&B. Went out of your way to help us see a local farm operation up close, gave great suggestions for day trips, best beds in Ireland, and fantastic breakfast. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gibbs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The location of this place is just unreal. Our window looked out onto a typical Burren plateau, and it was absolutely unspoilt. The room itself was massive! It was clean and had everything we needed for our stay. After walking in the hills one day, there wasn't any hot water. I asked Conor, the owner if there was an issue, and within 15 minutes we had our hot bath run. He had also given us several maps and guides prior to us going walking, just so we could make the most of our day out.
Conor and all of the hosts there were so welcoming- which includes being invited to a christening they were holding, and providing us with the biggest (and free!) packed lunch. You don't get that at Travelodge!
The breakfasts were excellent, and there appeared that anything that could be done to make your stay even more pleasant, was done.
A real highlight of our trip round Ireland. Thank you all at Cappabhaile.

Lastly, if you want a great evening meal in the village, forget Monks, which has sold out big-time since I was here 10 years ago, and the chowder is terrible compared to what it was. Try the Italian- I think it's called L'Arco (there are signs in the village) and the food there is quite delightful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_stone_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

... for exploring County Clare, lower County Galway and the Burren. This was a beautifully decorated B&B - however, it seemed a bit more like a small hotel. Not quite as intimate as a smaller home. Rooms are absolutely stunning with great views and beautiful bathrooms. The owner is a wealth of information about the country and a joy to talk with. The breakfast room is beautiful and the food was good. I would definitely stay again if/when I return. Thanks!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bfran5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last year and really enjoyed it, so we stayed again this year and brought friends. Again, a superb stay with wonderful hosts Connor and Margaret. Their breakfast is wonderful to include full Irish, and omelets. Plenty of parking, wifi in the room with satellite tv. We will be back again on our next visit to Ireland!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlotF16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We arrived off season when most of the town was shut down. Conner and his wife were very nice and she's an amazing cook. The rooms were very comfortable and had aesthetically pleasing decor. The room slept 4 of us which was much more cost effective. We enjoyed our stay very much. Ballyvaughn is a location we will be sure to revisit when the season is in full swing. Since it was off season they weren't 100% prepared so the heaters were a little sparse but their nice linens and beds mostly made up for the chilly temperatures. When we made mention of it Conner built us a fire in the game room. Lovely stay. We will stay there again.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank megpell78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyvaughan
2.2 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
459 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
256 reviews
8.4 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
356 reviews
2.1 mi away
Drumcreehy Country House
Drumcreehy Country House
#1 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
684 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Waters Country House
The Waters Country House
#5 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cappabhaile House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cappabhaile House

Property: Cappabhaile House
Address: Newtown, Ballyvaughan NA, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Ballyvaughan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyvaughan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cappabhaile House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a large, spacious B&B Hotel in the Burren Hills, we offer great rooms and a very extensive breakfast, coupled with peace, quiet and a warm family welcome in a rural environment. We are situated right in the middle of the Burren region, which is a mountainous terrain in North Clare, famous for its flowers, rocks and scenery. The Hotel accommodation at Cappabhaile House is unique, with fantastic views of the Burren Hills. We have built on our own 12-acre site, where you can mingle amongst the cattle and take a stroll at your leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cappabhaile House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cappabhaile House Ballyvaughan, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing