We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent base for touring the Burren”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cappabhaile House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cappabhaile House
Ranked #2 of 17 Ballyvaughan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent base for touring the Burren”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My daughter and I had the pleasure of staying for 2 nights at the Cappabhaile House in October. The room was fantastic... 2 double beds, beautiful view and a very large bathroom with bathtub. Margaret and Colin were both very welcoming and were quick to share their vast knowledge and advice on touring the Burren. At check-in Margaret supplied us with a local map and informational books that were invaluable to us. The breakfast here at Cappabhaile was the best we had during our 11 day vacation. It was so large, we were never able to finish it all. Margaret very graciously offered us plastic tubs to keep the leftover fruit and bread to take along on our drive. Overall this was the nicest B&B we stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianag99217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    47
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
140
162
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Clear
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We called in without booking and were met by Conor, who was very friendly and helpful. Massive, very well kept room and bathroom. Spotless decor throughout. Very peaceful although quite a few other guests here. Margaret and Conor were perfect hosts and breakfast was the best we've had so far on our holidays. Would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SallyandDaveCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a B & B slightly like a motel only in its ability to host a good number of travelers. But it is like a house / home and the Inkeepers offers friendly help in exploring the region. The rooms have lovely pastoral views. The breakfasts are delightful. This was home away from from..clean comfortable, happy...a place to relax. We could have stayed loner and hope to return !

Room Tip: just check to see waht view you'll have. We had a lovely view of green fields and trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yogaroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a friendly and warm guest house perfectly placed for
touring the Burren with a bit of family research thrown in. Conor is a mine of information and gave us great advice about the best places to visit in the area.
As we had a short time in this beautiful part of Ireland this was very welcome and useful.
The breakfasts were especially generous ( perhaps too generous) and our bedroom was comfortable and spacious with a good view of Cappabhaile Hill.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marjoriebourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I booked a night at Cappabhail House for the last night of a 6 night trip. There are many B&B's to choose from in the area but TripAdvisor steered me here. Glad I did. The B&B is right in the heart of the Burren which makes the views from your room something to wake up to. The rooms themselves are possibly the largest rooms I have ever come across in a B&B never mind in a hotel. The house is very comfortable and well appointed and the breakfast was delicious and plentiful. What a find!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank PrivateTourDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Outstanding food, helpful & fun hosts, huge rooms and an unusual amount of local information all helped make my second stay here a wonderful experience. I can hardly wait to make my third trip toBallyvaughan and Cappabhaile House. There is a great deal to see and do. Conor & Margaret know the very best way to go or to make arrangements. Just ask their advice.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sgcarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was my first visit to County Clare. Cappabhaile House is a splendid. up-market guest house run by a warm, welcoming, charming and helpful couple. The decor and furnishings are different and charming. There are lots of healthy, happy house plants around the reception and dining areas bearing witness to much care and attention. This is also evident in the beautifully appointed bedrooms which have comfortable beds, good views and clean bathroom facilities. As others visitors have illustrated the food is beautifully presented, generous and tasty and served by friendly, helpful staff. Conor and his wife are a lovely couple, who take the best care of their guests and are full of good and honest help and advice. If you want to stay in that part of Ireland book yourselves into Cappabhaile House asap. Children are also welcome and quickly feel at home. With enthusiastic thanks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatrice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyvaughan
2.2 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
423 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
244 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
343 reviews
8.4 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
2.1 mi away
Drumcreehy Country House
Drumcreehy Country House
#1 of 17 in Ballyvaughan
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cappabhaile House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cappabhaile House

Property: Cappabhaile House
Address: Newtown, Ballyvaughan NA, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Ballyvaughan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyvaughan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cappabhaile House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a large, spacious B&B Hotel in the Burren Hills, we offer great rooms and a very extensive breakfast, coupled with peace, quiet and a warm family welcome in a rural environment. We are situated right in the middle of the Burren region, which is a mountainous terrain in North Clare, famous for its flowers, rocks and scenery. The Hotel accommodation at Cappabhaile House is unique, with fantastic views of the Burren Hills. We have built on our own 12-acre site, where you can mingle amongst the cattle and take a stroll at your leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Cappabhaile House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cappabhaile House Ballyvaughan, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing