We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drumcreehy Country House is at the top of our list for a return visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Drumcreehy Country House
Ranked #1 of 16 Ballyvaughan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kenosha, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Drumcreehy Country House is at the top of our list for a return visit!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My daughter and I stayed for two nights at Drumcreehy House last August when we visited Ireland for the first time. It had come highly recommended by friends and we very pleased with our time there. Bernadette and her husband, Armin are wonderful hosts who went out of their way to help make our trip extra special. We had some difficulty getting cash from an ATM and Bernadette called her personal banker to get information to help us. The breakfast is absolutely fantastic - the best breakfast that we had during our two week visit to Ireland. The rooms are very comfortable and are extremely clean! The honor bar is also a very nice touch. It provided us a place to relax after a busy day. This bed and breakfast is at the top of my list!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyandKay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    54
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
157
350
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I must have driven past Drumcreehy House dozens of times, and kept saying to myself that one day, I would stay there. The opportunity arose in October 2013, when my daughter and I wanted to stay in the area, in order to attend the Burren Winterage festival.
Armin and Bernadette were away, but their charming daughter made us feel most welcome, and gave us the choice of two rooms. Both were spacious and beautifully decorated, and we opted for a mountain view room with twin beds. There's a comfortable guest lounge, as well as spacious breakfast room, and the public areas were decorated for halloween: great fun!
We had a good night's sleep and enjoyed a delicious breakfast with excellent choice of dishes from the buffet, as well as hot dishes cooked to order. My 10-year-old was catered for very well indeed, with hot chocolate, and porridge with Nutella swirled through : yummy, according to her!
Summary: quality guest house, within walking distance of Bishop's Quarter beach, and a mere 2-minute drive to Ballyvaughan village. It may cost a little more than other establishments in the area, but you certainly get value for money; I'm a firm believer that you get what you pay for.
I'm looking for another opportunity to stay here!

Room Tip: The view from sea-view rooms is worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarnia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

This was a third stay for us at Drumcreehy House since April - this time with family from South Africa. Bernadette and Armin looked after us and made both our families feel at home. Great location and a delicious breakfast - easy access to the Burren, Cliffs of Moher etc

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

When I think of what I look for in a B&B experience, Drumcreehy Country House pretty much defines it. Quiet, comfortable, inviting and personal -- but also professionally run. One thing that this B&B does better than almost any I've been to is breakfast. The buffet spread was amazing. The range of fruit - dried, fresh, and made into preserves - was a delight and then there was so much more on the table and then hot items on request. The other two things that made Drumcreehy really memorable were the complimentary tea selection and their great collection of books about hiking and walking in County Clare (which was only topped by the knowledge of the hosts!). We had a great stay and I'd go back in a flash.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ezusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I cannot speak highly enough of this wonderful guesthouse.
Good location, people very friendly and helpful, spotlessly clean, amazing range and presentation of breakfast items.
Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gearoid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was our third stay at Drumcreehy House, Ballyvaughan. It is just the most perfect place to relax and unwind. As always we were looked after by Bernadette and Armin, our most gracious hosts, who make your stay as delightful as possible. The house itself is superb with beautiful and comfortable rooms. There are stunning views of the bay from the house and spectacular sunsets as you relax with a glass of wine at the end of the day. Added to that, you wake up to the most delicious breakfast served by friendly, efficient and courteous staff. What more could one want!
We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Drumcreehy our first two nights in Ireland. The "Fushia Room" has a king-sized bed and was very comfortable. I loved the honor bar, where you can get coffee or tea as well as beer, wine, or other beverages 24/7. The breakfast had a nice choice of cooked selections such as bacon and an egg, pancakes, omelettes, etc. in addition, there was a selection of fruit, yogurt, cereals, bread, cold meats, and cheeses. Bernadette and Armin are wonderful hosts. The staff is very efficient. Our bed was already made when we returned to our room after breakfast. I will definitely stay there again if I return to that area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_fan_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyvaughan
4.2 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
448 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
254 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cappabhaile House
Cappabhaile House
#2 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
455 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ballyvaughan Lodge
Ballyvaughan Lodge
#4 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
219 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Waters Country House
The Waters Country House
#5 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drumcreehy Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drumcreehy Country House

Property: Drumcreehy Country House
Address: Bishops Quarter, Ballyvaughan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Ballyvaughan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyvaughan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Drumcreehy Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Ballyvaughan, Drumcreehy House is a delightful country style home, boasting superb views of Galway bay and the surrounding Burren Landscape.Open fires, antique furnishings and a friendly and personal service by your conscientious hosts Bernadette and Armin, serve to make your stay both enjoyable and memorable.Ten ensuite bedrooms, decorated with old world charm, yet equipped with all modern conveniences (Telephone, TV, WiFi). Some enjoy magnificent sea views while others overlook the splendour of the Burren hinterland.Allow us to spoil you with our extensive continental buffet and a choice of delicious cooked breakfasts in a relaxed and homely atmosphere.Relax by the open fire and enjoy complimentary tea or coffee with cakes or help yourself to wine in our cosy honesty bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Drumcreehy Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drumcreehy Guest House Hotel Ballyvaughan
Drumcreehy Country House Ballyvaughan, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing