We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gregans -- Great dining - so so accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gregans Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballyvaughan
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gregans -- Great dining - so so accommodations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2007

Great location in Ireland in the Burrens. Just outside of Ballyvaughn and close to other towns and sites. It is not a castle but a large house. Some of the staff: not friendly and some were very friendly. We had booked a king room but were shown to a room with a full size bed and twin bed. Not great for a couple. After convincing the hotel to show us another room, we got a euro king. The room was smaller, but more cozy. The room was okay. It clean but very dusty and even a cob web hanging from the ceiling light fixture. Many "cheap" furnishings. The bathroom was fine but the shower curtian was too small and consequently the shower leaked all over the floor. The common rooms, living room and bar were very nice and nicely kept. The dining room was wonderful! The food was exceptionally good. Most of the people that were there were upwards of 50 or 60 year's old. It was okay, but for price $350 per night plus -- I would not return. We left early the next morning to get a flight from Shannon. We were told to leave the key on the desk and find our own way out. No one to help us with luggage (from second floor) and we had to drag it out through the stone parking lot in the pitch black to our car.

  • Liked — Location and restaurant
  • Disliked — The quality of the accommodations/furnishings
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tvjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    66
    25
    16
    9
See reviews for
65
273
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2007

We stayed here as a treat for a relaxing and chilled out romantic weekend. I was expecting a castle but it's a country house - it made no difference, it was fabulous from start to finish. We stayed in the Martyn Suite and it was truly special...huge 4 poster bed, separate living room area and our own private gardens!! Worth the splurdge! The food was delicious and the wine list excellent. Our waiter was a lovely eastern european man & was so charming and helpful and knew what it meant to deliver great personal service..breakfast and housekeeping staff equally friendly. The setting is gorgeous too and there are plenty scenic walks in the area. All in all one of the best places I've stayed - right up there with Rathmullen House - check out the Blue Book, it's become our guide to weekends away and deluxe places to stay in Ireland..

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayjunkieIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2007

My sister and I stayed in this boutique hotel a few years ago. It was, I think, the most elegant of any hotel in which I have stayed. It is actually a manor house, not a castle, with lovely local stone floors and fantastic William Morris wallpaper. The food was excellent as was the service and attitude of the staff. We had a large room overlooking the garden. It was extremely tasteful with a large very clean bathroom.
It is very easy to find. We called from the road based on a listing in a DK travel guide.

We felt very uplifted by the tranquility and reservedness of this pristine property.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shinyfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2006

When my family went to Ireland in 2004, this hotel was our first stop on our jaunt. And a better introduction to Ireland I could not imagine. From the welcoming smell of the peat fire in the fireplace, to the amazing staff...this place was perfect. We stayed here for 2 wonderful nights and the staff genuinely got to know us during our stay. We had our own table set aside for all our meals, and the servers made us feel at home. The rooms were small, but beautiful and cozy. The beds were wonderfully comfortable. The grounds are beautiful. The meals were great. What more could anyone want.

Located near the amazing Burren, it was the perfect location. Our only regret was that we did not plan a longer stay here.

We will stay here again, but for a much longer stay. Take my advice: fly into Shannon and stay here for a long relaxing stay.

  • Liked — The staff and the atmosphere and the decorations
  • Disliked — Nothing, I loved it all
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay for a few nights
  • Stayed September 2004, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jennifero2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebeltoft
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2006

This is an absolutely amazing place if you just want to relax away from it all. With no television in the rooms and a code against the constant and increasingly common buzzings of mobile phones, you are certain to feel everyday stress just fall away - once you get used to the quiet.

The overall atmosphere is one of entering a stately, effortlessly elegant, but relaxed private home. The staff is unobtrusive but very friendly and ready to chat if you seem to be in the mood. Otherwise they will just stay quietly in the background.

The grounds are lovely, food is excellent (including a very good breakfast) and rooms are elegant, with beautiful views. I stayed in Mina's Room and would just loved to have been able to take the whole bathroom home with me. And the colour scheme of muted grey/blue/green and gold I am considering copying for home.

The surroundings are astounding, and Gregan's is well situated for long walks in the Burrens and even better for long bike rides. If you bike, the famed Cliffs of Moher are within distance.

However, this is not a place to go if you want lots of life, entertainment and like to be in the center of things. It is quite far to the nearest town if you want to walk - half an hours brisk walking should get you there, although you can also borrow bikes - and the quietness of the place, which is a blessing to me, may seem like a curse to others. But I am just dying to go back so I can wake up to the warbling of a robin and the gentle mewing of cows.

  • Liked — the beauty of everything inside and out
  • Disliked — the distance to town
  • Tips/Secrets — take advantage of the bikes and get around that way. Much better than a car.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank moratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2006

Our trip to Gregans was only for one night, but we wish our itinerary would have allowed for longer. The staff was very accomodating and our room was lovely with a long distance view of the bay. This property is located with views of the Burren, ( I can only imagine how beautiful it would be in the spring), and is approx 14 mile drive to the Cliffs of Moher - a must see if you are in the area! Internet access is available upon request. The breakfast was quite plentiful and delicious, but was not included in our room charge. The dining room was lovely with separate seating for each couple/family. We would definitely return!

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Ozblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2006

Not your typical Irish castle, but a cross between a small castle and a New England country inn. (Sorry, teens, no internet and no television, so bring your books, a deck of cards or a game of chess and your cameras!)
Beautifully appointed inside and out, magnficent gardens, views of rolling farmlands and the Burren, minutes from the caves and the profumerie. This was one of the highlights of our trip, with excellent staff, warm and inviting rooms, all first class accomodations with wonderful views. A fine collection of art and books for your perusal and an extraordinary chef in the kitchen. Wonderful selection of wines and champagnes to accompany your sublime meals. ~First class cuisine in a first class hotel in a magical setting.
We will be back!

Helpful?
2 Thank FairfieldCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyvaughan
23.4 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,066 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
11.9 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gregans Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gregans Castle Hotel

Property: Gregans Castle Hotel
Address: on the N67, Gragan East, Ballyvaughan 01, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Ballyvaughan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballyvaughan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gregans Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views across Galway Bay and idyllically situated overlooking the unique Burren landscape, this is the ultimate luxury and gourmet hideaway. Simon and Frederieke together with their staff manage this oasis of comfort and offer genuine Irish hospitality, award winning innovative cooking and elegant bedrooms free from the intrusion of televisions. Antiques, an eclectic art collection, open fires, candles, jugs of flowers and Shelley the cat add to the indulgently relaxing atmosphere. The hotel while strictly not a "castle" in the usual sense of the word has been named "Gregans Castle" since it was built in 1750 as a more comfortable residence for the O'Loughlen and Martyn families from the nearby 16th century towerhouse. Located on the Wild Atlantic Way and the Burren Food Trail. The ideal location from which to enjoy the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Walking, Cycling, the Aran Islands, Horse Riding, Surfing, Sea Angling, Golf. Members of The Burren Ecotourism Network. Awards include: Georgina Campbell’s Hotel of the Year 2016, RAI Best Hotel Restaurant 2016, Gold Medal Awards Ireland’s Chef of the Year 2015, Supreme Winner & Best Country House 2014; Food & Wine Magazine Best Restaurant & Best Chef Munster 2014; AA 3 Rosettes for Culinary Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gregans Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gregans Castle Ballyvaughan
Hotel Gregans Castle
Gregans Castle Hotel Ballyvaughan, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing