We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food, the food, the food, AMAZING!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gregans Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballyvaughan
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The food, the food, the food, AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed February 1, 2010

My partner still raves about our experience at Gregans, what an amazing two nights. We attended a wedding here and it was wonderful to be in the heart of the Burren with no TVs, good friends, WONDERFUL food and just pure relaxation. The food was the highlight, without doubt one of the best meals we ever had. The lobster and pea bisque...to die for...started what was a truly memorable meal. Even at breakfast the next morning, our names were on our table which was a lovely touch and there was a great breakfast selection including smoothies and a wide variety of eggs. I can't wait to go there again.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuluLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    68
    25
    17
    10
See reviews for
68
292
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
galway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2010

We stayed here for a short break before Christmas, we loved the location and the hotel itself is beautiful. Not having a television was unusual but was a pleasant change and helped us to unwind. We would also recommend the restaurant, the staff are lovely and the food is superb, a real treat.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pearl10Galway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2009

We spent a night in this hotel as part of a tour of the west coast. The house is charming and staff were quite friendly. Our room was very small and a little disappointing. The food was nice but perhaps a little pretentious. The presentation was beautiful however the food didn't meet all the expectations. Overall this is a quiet secluded hotel with beautiful surroundings but it is overpriced compared to some of the other top end hotels and guest houses in which we stayed and I would say it is best suited for older couples.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matzoBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We didn't actually stay in the hotel overnight, but stopped by for lunch whilst we were in the Burren. The standard of service and food was excellent and we would definitely return. The public rooms we saw were lovely - very cosy and homely. Lunch was good value (by Irish standards).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

We stayed here in August 2009. This Hotel has a number of drawbacks:
* it has no grounds of its own to walk in.
* it fronts onto a road that is so narrow and in such bad condition that it is dangerous to drive on, never mind walk.
* food is 'over the top' neuvelle cuisine..tiny portions, strange mix of ingredients, etc. No 'ordinary' food options. Very expensive ...€65 per person! As an alternative I can recommended either Vasco in Fanore or Monks in Ballyvaughan.
* one previous reviewer referred to stunning Atlantic views. All I can say is that you need to bring your binoculars if you want to be able to see the sea from the dining room.
* hotel is cold and damp. Musky damp smell ,particularly in the corridors. Heating is totally inadequate. Not surprisingly, the hotel closes between November and March.
* miserable fires. One or two briquettes (Irish form of mechanised peat). sitting in a big empty fireplace. No logs. IN a countrty house Hotel you expect a nice log fire.
* an incredible €14 service charge for breakfast in bed! Staff seemed to be expecting a top on top!

Some good points:

* the room we had was very nice and large.
* easy accesss to the Burren area.
* vary quiet. No TVs' so no blaring TV from room next door, which seems to be the scurge of modern hotels.

Overall, this Hotel is vastly overpriced and that's saying something in Ireland! Sorry, but we wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Overall a very good experience. Food was excellent and service was very personal and helpful. It is right beside the burrn so the location is fantastic if you want to be away from it all. Only slight issue was the menu on the second night was the same as the first but with two courses removed leaving a choice of three starters and three mains. At over €60 a head excl wine I would expect a bit more variety. However the food was gorgeous and well presented.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triskele_sm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

we knew when we booked this place it was very expencive,but we said a four star hotel on the outskirts of lisdoonvarna should be amazing. It wasent. Its not a castle its just a big old house with very narrow walkways and low cellings.When we got to our room i noticed there was no t.v. { i need a t.v} but when i asked about it i was told that televisions spoil the atmosphere. I PAID 470 EURO FOR THE WEEKEND SO I SHOULD GET TO SET WHATEVER ATMOSPHERE I WANT... The bar food stops at 2pm and the diner menu is far too extravigant. cream de le min chou and so on.Whats wrong with regular tried and tested food. I mean have the posh menu if you want but have an alternate menu for normal people. Iv stayed in worse places but for that price you expect a standered that just wasent met, like forteen euro for roomservice is just not acceptable and the open fires what are a nice touch but fill the place with smoke and NO T.V

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyvaughan
23.4 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,219 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
254 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
303 reviews
11.9 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
346 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gregans Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gregans Castle Hotel

Property: Gregans Castle Hotel
Address: on the N67, Gragan East, Ballyvaughan 01, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Ballyvaughan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballyvaughan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gregans Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views across Galway Bay and idyllically situated overlooking the unique Burren landscape, this is the ultimate luxury and gourmet hideaway. Simon and Frederieke together with their staff manage this oasis of comfort and offer genuine Irish hospitality, award winning innovative cooking and elegant bedrooms free from the intrusion of televisions. Antiques, an eclectic art collection, open fires, candles, jugs of flowers and Shelley the cat add to the indulgently relaxing atmosphere. The hotel while strictly not a "castle" in the usual sense of the word has been named "Gregans Castle" since it was built in 1750 as a more comfortable residence for the O'Loughlen and Martyn families from the nearby 16th century towerhouse. Located on the Wild Atlantic Way and the Burren Food Trail. The ideal location from which to enjoy the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Walking, Cycling, the Aran Islands, Horse Riding, Surfing, Sea Angling, Golf. Members of The Burren Ecotourism Network. Awards include: Georgina Campbell’s Hotel of the Year 2016, RAI Best Hotel Restaurant 2016, Gold Medal Awards Ireland’s Chef of the Year 2015, Supreme Winner & Best Country House 2014; Food & Wine Magazine Best Restaurant & Best Chef Munster 2014; AA 3 Rosettes for Culinary Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gregans Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gregans Castle Ballyvaughan
Hotel Gregans Castle
Gregans Castle Hotel Ballyvaughan, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing