We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always grand.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gregans Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballyvaughan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2008

have stayed here now and again over a 22-year span. Always look forward to it. No pool or tennis courts, but a superb location, professional staff, grand food, wonderful ambience. Definitely a treat.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simpsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
There are newer reviews for Gregans Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 467 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2008

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel in February, in one of the 4-poster bedrooms. It was a real delight. The room was wonderfully furnished, the hotel was quiet, small and friendly. A real oasis of calm. Note that this hotel is designed for people looking for a quiet time, so there are no TVs in the rooms. Big advantage since it meant overall noise levels in the hotel were lower than average. I'd strongly recommend this place for a romantic break.

The breakfast is very good. We also had dinner one night and it was good, but not as good as I'd hoped for.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelGirlCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2008

This is one of the best luxury hotels in the world.
it is full of antiques, constantly being redecorated by the new management and is totally guest friendly. Outstanding staff.
We had one of the best rooms and it cost a lot - a suite - but worth it.
The Burren is great, Aran Islands etc. Fantastic golf.
Cannot reccomend this too highly. Part of Ireland's Blue Book Luxury hotel group.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prairie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

A spacious room with spectacular view over the Burren and Galway bay, a welcoming & gracious staff, and tasty, well-prepared food, our 4 night stay at Gregans Castle Hotel couldn't have been better! The peat fires and Bailey's Irish Cream only added to the authenticity. This is a magical place we'd travel far out of our way to go back to. Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer!

Stayed: May 2007
3  Thank lizlubee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2007

Gregans Castle is an oasis in the Burren of western Ireland and is a great place to unwind, be pampered and enjoy the silence of this exceptional landscape. A distinguished country-manor, this house provides for marvelous creature comfort with the well-appointed rooms, luxurious bathrooms, antique furnished common spaces and numerous blazing fireplaces. An Irish cofee or fine wine chosen from the well balanced list - against the backdrop of the cozy bar or formal dining room - is just what the doctor ordered after a day spent hiking the marvels of the Burren. The food is exceptional and choices are extensive, including vegetarian options. The only drawback is that the hotel permits children - providing an unfortunate contrast to a clearly adult-oriented setting. Breakfast on our second morning was absolutely ruined by the incessant chatter and milk dumping antics of a pre-schooler whose sibling was a screaming/crying high-chair bound infant. All of this was only made worse by the father who repeatedly pounded on the high chair tray in a half-hearted attempt to distract the baby. The other couples in the room were clearly as disturbed as we were by this intrusion on their Sunday morning get-away.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roadwarrior54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

I stayed in this in July of this year and found it to be a fantastic experience. The setting is just perfect, located in the Burren with a view of Galway Bay in the distance. The hotel itself is full of old world charm and the bedrooms are just great. The bar is extremely relaxing and the food served in the restaurant is top quality. All the food is fresh local produce. For breakfast we had smoothies and a cooked breakfast which was unbeatable. Overall, this is a great hotel for a peaceful weekend free from the hustle and bustle of your usual city hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank KEM1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2007

This place just gets better and better. No it is not a castle, it gets it's name from the round tower across the road, but it is a sublime hideaway in spectacular scenery. We have stayed here twice and been there numerous times for coffee and drinks - we have already booked for next year. It is all you imagine Irish country house living to be. Open turf fires, candlelight and friendly Irish hospitality. The food is amazing - as good as you will get in the best establishments in London and Simon and his staff are as friendly as you want them to be - they do not hassle or crowd you but will chat if you want them to. Americans will probably find the plumbing a bit archaic but this is the West of Ireland! I would strongly recomment this hotel if you want to be pampered, de-stressed and chilled out. Do not go there if you want exciting nightlife! Ideal for romantic weekends/holidays - I speak from experience!! If you have a bit of extra money to spend, I strongly recommend the Galway Bay Suite!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Thomond_ennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyvaughan
3.0 mi away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
264 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
9.3 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,726 reviews
11.9 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
372 reviews
10.6 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gregans Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gregans Castle Hotel

Address: on the N67, Gragan East, Ballyvaughan 01, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Ballyvaughan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballyvaughan
Price Range: $274 - $686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gregans Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views across Galway Bay and idyllically situated overlooking the unique Burren landscape, this is the ultimate luxury and gourmet hideaway. Simon and Frederieke together with their staff manage this oasis of comfort and offer genuine Irish hospitality, award winning innovative cooking and elegant bedrooms free from the intrusion of televisions. Antiques, an eclectic art collection, open fires, candles, jugs of flowers and Shelley the cat add to the indulgently relaxing atmosphere. The hotel while strictly not a "castle" in the usual sense of the word has been named "Gregans Castle" since it was built in 1750 as a more comfortable residence for the O'Loughlen and Martyn families from the nearby 16th century towerhouse. Located on the Wild Atlantic Way and the Burren Food Trail. The ideal location from which to enjoy the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Walking, Cycling, the Aran Islands, Horse Riding, Surfing, Sea Angling, Golf. Members of The Burren Ecotourism Network. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Gregans Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gregans Castle Ballyvaughan
Hotel Gregans Castle
Gregans Castle Hotel Ballyvaughan, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing