We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gregans Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballyvaughan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Service, room, food, atmosphere, it's all wonderful here! Beautiful location, charming hotel; we had the Cappanawalla Suite, which was huge with a large sitting area and large bath. Would definitely recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stltraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 481 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

What a perfect place to stay after a long flight from the USA and a couple of hours of driving. Pulling into Gregans felt like paradise. The grounds are lovely and if blessed by good weather enjoyable for a walk or just sitting outside and enjoying the gardens and mountains beyond. Gregans is old but beautifully maintained and decorated with lovely period furnishings. Our rooms were spacious and comfortable. All of the staff were friendly and attentive. The bar is a lovely place for a glass of wine before dinner and the dinner outstanding. Breakfast is hard to match anywhere in Ireland. Gregans is a good place to stop for one night and more could only double the pleasure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We visited Gregan's over 20 years ago & always hoped to get back. So happy to see it's barely changed - charming, warm and beautiful. Great restaurant too. The bar room is so quaint and very comfortable. Views are wonderful from the lovely outside garden area. Our room was fine - beds are very comfortable.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Gregans Castle on a spur of the moment decision, I am so pleased we did, the food was the finest we have enjoyed in Ireland, the gracious staff were impeccable and the room, house and grounds were a slice of serenity and beauty! Thank you so much for making our stay so enjoyable!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jules S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

arrived at gregans in the afternoon for lunch and was immediately impressed with the welcoming we got fro the hotel owner. we wrer made feel very welcome and our bags were sent to our room. we had dinner that evening and the whole eating experience was sacond to none, food was beautifully cooked and presented, not hard to see why it has won so many awards. we
really enjoyed our stay and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Beautiful gem of a hotel located in the spectacular Burren. Peace and quiet in abundance and fantastic service and food quality. Prices are high for the region but service comparable to fine establishments in the UK or further afield. It has the personal touch but not in a twee way, rather being highly professional, attentive but unobtrusive. We loved the room and the bed and the tour that was arranged for us was rough and ready but 100% authentic. Be warned that you shouldn't assume tour transfers or kit - come prepared. Overall, highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shootermcgavin1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had been looking forward to staying in Gregans castle and had very high expectations. Overall we were disappointed in the value. First of all we had booked a superior room and were put in a family room. As this wasn't quite the romantic room we had expected we asked to be moved. In fairness the staff did all they could to accommodate us and put us in the rose room. They explained this was also a superior room but at half the size we had our suspicions we were really in the last room they had left. The facilities in the room were very average and it was akin to staying in a B and B rather than a five star guesthouse. The food was the real star with the breakfast and dinner both excellent experiences with a fantastic quality of food being served. Our real issue though was being massively overcharged for drinks at dinner. As it was in season we asked if there happened to be any elderflower cordial to drink instead of the usual soft drinks. We were delighted to be told there was and enjoyed a number of glasses over dinner. When we checked out and were reviewing the bill at home we discovered we had been charged €6 per glass of elderflower cordial with sparkling water leaving us with a bill of €48 - essentially what you would spend on a couple of good bottles of wine for soft drinks. To put this into perspective one month earlier we had stayed in another well known five star establishment where we had been charged €2.50 for each elderflower cordial and sparkling water. Having spent hundreds and hundreds on two nights stay we felt this was really quite ridiculous. Would we stay again? No. Would we encourage others to go? Yes if you know what to expect and avoid ordering anything that there isn't a price beside on the menu.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank magenta_clovisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyvaughan
6.7 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
3 mi away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
271 reviews
23.4 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Old Ground Hotel
Old Ground Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,650 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
629 reviews
19.2 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 4 in Spanish Point
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gregans Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gregans Castle Hotel

Address: On the N67, Gragan East, Ballyvaughan H91 CF60, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Ballyvaughan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballyvaughan
Price Range: $274 - $543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gregans Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views across Galway Bay and idyllically situated overlooking the unique Burren landscape, this is the ultimate luxury and gourmet hideaway. Simon and Frederieke together with their staff manage this oasis of comfort and offer genuine Irish hospitality, award winning innovative cooking and elegant bedrooms free from the intrusion of televisions. Antiques, an eclectic art collection, open fires, candles, jugs of flowers and Shelley the cat add to the indulgently relaxing atmosphere. The hotel while strictly not a "castle" in the usual sense of the word has been named "Gregans Castle" since it was built in 1750 as a more comfortable residence for the O'Loughlen and Martyn families from the nearby 16th century towerhouse. Located on the Wild Atlantic Way and the Burren Food Trail. The ideal location from which to enjoy the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Walking, Cycling, the Aran Islands, Horse Riding, Surfing, Sea Angling, Golf. Members of The Burren Ecotourism Network. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gregans Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gregans Castle Ballyvaughan
Hotel Gregans Castle
Gregans Castle Hotel Ballyvaughan, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing