We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Break from it all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gregans Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballyvaughan
Certificate of Excellence
West of Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Break from it all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a beautiful setting with lovely service great food
There is lots to see and do in the area
It is overpriced for what you get but other than that it is an idyllic location

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    66
    25
    16
    9
See reviews for
65
273
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a really special place. The setting, the buildings, the decor, the staff, the service - all are faultless. It is so discrete and so friendly. And the food is amazing. It is worth every penny and more.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travels69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Having read OsfromOz review, was thinking about canceling, but am I delighted we did not.
Service was excellent. We asked for a wine to be suggested with the evening meal and one of the least expensive was recommended. Food is excellent both evening meal and breakfast. Our room was the Rose room and it was very nice. Very relaxing few days.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Superb food, both dinner and breakfast. Staff good,
However the bedroom was poor standard for what it advertises for, bleak, no atmosphere, bathroom very poor.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

First impressions are great and the remote location adds to the charm BUT.... the service is rude and the hotel is not clean. I was very disappointed in my stay at Gregans, I would never go back there again.
It was our first night in ireland having arrived at Shannon airport and I wanted to leave the country the next morning, I was so upset. We had spent a lot of money to add ireland to our trip to Europe and this was our first 'welcome'?
Luckily we had much better experiences on our trip that redeemed Ireland!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank OsfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrelandSimon, Owner at Gregans Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
We the owners of Gregans Castle Hotel have always respected the right of our guests to voice their opinions of our hotel on Tripadvisor whether positive, encouraging, negative or outrageous. However this Tripadvisor “review” is one we believe we must use our right of owners response to object to most vociferously. Due to the anonymity of Tripadvisor postings we have no way to contact these “guests” except through their invented pseudonyms. We are similarly unable to contact them directly as our very detailed daily records show no record of guest or guests from Australia on any date this year let alone in March. Try as we might there is no evidence that these “reviewers” ever actually stayed with us. This review was therefore we deduce, either posted in error or maliciously and despite our offer of showing our booking records to Tripadvisor they felt unable to remove this most untrue, damaging and slanderous review.

Genuine opinions must be accepted as such and while we are happy that the vast majority of our guests are very happy with our hotel we realise that on occasion we will not meet every requirement or demand of certain guests or that some will simply not like our product and they are within their right to complain. It is also a fact of life and not one we take lightly, that we are human and errors can be made.

Malicious or false postings must however be exposed and seen as what they are. We take any constructive complaint seriously and where necessary and possible try to implement change or address issues raised. However when complaints are only intended to cause damage, are without substance and lacking detail and above all false then we cannot defend ourselves fairly. Tripadvisor claims to uphold the “truth” but this review is an obvious fabrication that we believe is the product of possibly an extremely irate previous reviewer who does not believe enough damage has been caused to our business OR by a disgruntled competitor within the business OR simply a person without our best interests at heart and this is we believe the weakness of Tripadvisor.

Simon Haden & Frederieke McMurray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

Spent 2 nights in the Gregan Castle this March , first off let me say that the food is excellant , hats off to the chef , the waitress was new to servicing tables but that was perfect as she explained her position to us.The banging kitchen door visible annoyed staff and customers alike.
On a plus ,the guest house is situated in the amazing Burren , a haven for hill walkers with plenty to do and see , including visiting the Father Ted's house and having tea and scones.It is also just 5km from Ballyvaughen village , where you can stroll around the picturesque seaside village ,have a coffee or quite pint or some great Pub grub. Getting back to the castle ,which is not a castle but takes its name from the original family castle across the road .Gregan castle is not in my mind a 4 start country house , in my opinion the facilities or service do not merit all their awards, the rooms are spacious but lacking ,simple things , no full lenght mirror , our fan groaned ,and just generally lacking the final touches. The web site claimed "breathtaking views of Galway bay" but this in my mind was a bit of an exageration, at 5km away the view was not existant most of the time ,We constantly had to go looking for the bar person to serve us on both nights , the bar ran out of the spirit we were drinking (and I only had one glass) .I have stayed in Castle Leslie and I cannot even compare the 2 establishments , I fail to see why someone would stay here and pay the prices charged when there is plenty top class B+B's in the area where people can experience real Irish hospitality .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent last Saturday night here for his birthday and had the most wonderful time. After arriving at lunch and taking a delighted peak at our beautiful suite, we went out and about for the afternoon and returned afterwards to relax by the fire in the corkscrew bar for a couple of hours. Even at that point we were delighted with the place. Little touches like the lovely lemon cake served with the tea/coffee we ordered, the soft music playing in the bar, the relaxed and gentle mannered staff and the smell of the turf fire helped us feel that little bit more relaxed and at ease.

At dinner we had the most amazing meal. I believe there was a switch around in the kitchen the week before we arrived and that it was the new head chef's first weekend in that role with a new team. Despite this, I must say that the food was super. We have eaten a few michelin starred restaurants in Ireland and although I have enjoyed those, I enjoyed Gregan's more. We were literally licking our plates!

Well done to all at Gregan's. My boyfriend and I cannot wait to return and have been recommending the hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiara8910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyvaughan
23.4 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,067 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
11.9 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gregans Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gregans Castle Hotel

Property: Gregans Castle Hotel
Address: on the N67, Gragan East, Ballyvaughan 01, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Ballyvaughan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballyvaughan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gregans Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views across Galway Bay and idyllically situated overlooking the unique Burren landscape, this is the ultimate luxury and gourmet hideaway. Simon and Frederieke together with their staff manage this oasis of comfort and offer genuine Irish hospitality, award winning innovative cooking and elegant bedrooms free from the intrusion of televisions. Antiques, an eclectic art collection, open fires, candles, jugs of flowers and Shelley the cat add to the indulgently relaxing atmosphere. The hotel while strictly not a "castle" in the usual sense of the word has been named "Gregans Castle" since it was built in 1750 as a more comfortable residence for the O'Loughlen and Martyn families from the nearby 16th century towerhouse. Located on the Wild Atlantic Way and the Burren Food Trail. The ideal location from which to enjoy the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Walking, Cycling, the Aran Islands, Horse Riding, Surfing, Sea Angling, Golf. Members of The Burren Ecotourism Network. Awards include: Georgina Campbell’s Hotel of the Year 2016, RAI Best Hotel Restaurant 2016, Gold Medal Awards Ireland’s Chef of the Year 2015, Supreme Winner & Best Country House 2014; Food & Wine Magazine Best Restaurant & Best Chef Munster 2014; AA 3 Rosettes for Culinary Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gregans Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gregans Castle Ballyvaughan
Hotel Gregans Castle
Gregans Castle Hotel Ballyvaughan, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing