We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to relax and escape the Irish weather.”

Tea and Garden Rooms
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Ballyvaughan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely place to relax and escape the Irish weather.”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Came here for lunch on a rainy Irish day. There were four of us and we each thoroughly enjoyed our sandwiches or soup. Fresh and generous portions. Next up was dessert and the waiter kindly took us all up to the table that was covered in the cakes and patiently told us what each of them was and took our order. Great selection of cakes, tarts, pies and the tea and coffee selection were fantastic too. Highly recommend this lovely venue to anyone who has a sweet tooth, great place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JessS07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    73
    19
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
211 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Come Hungry”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The tea house welcomes you with a landscaped front yard including a fish pond. Inside the front door a dessert table tempts you with an incredible selection of homemade cakes, pies, and cookies. Serving sizes are huge and taste as good as they look.  Their soups, salads, and entrees were equally tasty. The Tea House is a perfect combination of fresh tasty food served in a charming atmosphere. The glassed conservatory on the back opens up the stone structure and affords views of the beautiful gardens in the back yard. This place has been created by folk who genuinely care about good service, wonderful food, and incredible sweets.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Darbymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best ... Cheesecake... Ever”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were here back in July and it came highly recommended from our B&B host. Ordered the cheesecake and a variety of other desserts for our crew of 6 after a long day hiking the Burren. We quickly deemed the cheesecake the best ever and made sure we stopped by another day to enjoy it again. Everything else we had was also very good including the lunches the second time. Service was friendly and efficient despite being fairly busy both times we were there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RepomanNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really good food and service”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I've had lunch here twice in the last couple of weeks and both the food and service has been absolutely exceptional both times. The sandwich menu is fabulous; the word 'sandwich' doesn't do these meals justice. Staff are all really smiley and friendly, and they have an amazing looking cake section, only slight problem is that you're too full of delicious food to make room for one ! Gorgeous setting, unusual layout, and I'm convinced I saw Enya at a table ! Well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 182emer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Restaurant”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The fish pie ,that I ate there was so lovely
The cakes we got were so tasty. What a selection of desserts.
Staff were so kind.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tea and Garden Rooms also viewed

Ballyvaughan, The Burren
Ballyvaughan, The Burren
 
Ballyvaughan, The Burren
 

Been to Tea and Garden Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing