We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quaint hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wild Atlantic Lodge
Ranked #6 of 16 Ballyvaughan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. We had a large double bedroom which was nicely decorated, very clean and comfortable. The breakfast, included in our booking, was very good with lots of continental breakfast options plus a hot food offering. We also had dinner in the bar one evening which was very nice. What really made our stay was how friendly and accommodating all the staff were! We will definitely be back!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank kimcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 300 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

We booked here for two nights. The rooms are small, but clean and comfortable. We had a lovely dinner by the fire in the pub. During the first night the fire alarm went off twice - the first for about 30 seconds so we hadn't yet left our room. The second time we had to get dressed and go out to the street as it did not shut off. Having lost my house to a fire a little less than a year ago, I could not stay there for a second night. The manager apologized sincerely and said that there would be no charge for the room. I insisted on paying for our dinner and drinks but he flatly refused. Sometimes you have unfortunate luck at a hotel (there was a wiring fault in the alarm which they were working on when we checked out), however when the management goes out of their way to compensate you for any issues, I do not hesitate to recommend the hotel. It is very well priced, well located and chances are high that you will have a lovely, peaceful time at the hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank kristamck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here off season in November however we were delighted with our stay. The Lodge seemed very busy as you could hear other guests coming and going to their rooms. That isn't saying that we were disturbed by noise, quite the opposite and the only noise was a door closing, nothing could be heard from other rooms which is always a worry in smaller hotels.
On arrival we were given our key. Our room was at the back of hotel at the end of the coridoor therefore the view was of a flat roof and the opposite window. Perhaps to ask for a side of hotel view over the bar side or front if you wanted something to look at.......
Room was newly decorated, bright, nice curtains. Tea and coffee making facilities and TV in the room. the bathroom was narrow but long and good distance between shower and toilet. Toiletries provided. Shower was large however only downside was shower head.
We ate in the hotel which was really nice and would highly recommend it. Large portions of everything, tastes were fab and they even had de-alcoholised wine as we were not drinking for November. Staff in bar were very attentive and friendly and nothing was a bother to them.
Must return in the summer!!!!

Room Tip: Near the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TipperaryGirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

As a family of four we recently stayed here with two young children. It looks like its just a pub. But the rooms and service in this hotel is top class. We stayed during the good weather and it was boiling with no air conditioning in the rooms which was fine cause we do live in Ireland and dont get much warm weather so no need for air conditioning. Had breakfast in the lounge and it was lovely. Very close to aliwee caves. The perfect place for family's or couples. Will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dazza2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Ive had a couple of stays here during the summer '13. I consider it peaceful, homely and well located in the sleepy village of Ballyvaughan which nestles on the shore of the beautiful Galway Bay. If you love walking this place is heaven on earth with the spectacular Burren landscape all around. The food is lovely although during my one of my stays the Alpen disappeared from the breakfast buffet. The rooms were clean and well equipped, and staff very helpful. There is a small carpark at rear, but some extra space would be available accross street.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear suffer from kitchen fan noise, although not the worst ive been in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coachduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I aksed Logues if they can help make my Girlfriends Birthday experience special.

Everything was perfect and above & beyond my expectations .

There was a special private little room reserved for us with a bottle of Champagne waiting for us & sorbet brought out in between courses.

Food was amazing & i so so highly reccommmend the ROAST DUCK!

Our Waiter kevin made us feel like royalty and made sure we never wanted for anything at any stage. And most importantly for me Kevin was great craic and was there good fun and banter at all times

All in all, I Love this place and would tell anyone passing though, to stop in for a great meal

Ian & Jen

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed a night at Logues Lodge hoping to experience some plain, nice Irish West country hospitality. Sadly, and it may be the result of a little dire tourist market, but there is little excuse for neglecting who is paying the wages and bills.
When breakfast becomes a struggle to get the staff's attention, and the content of the buffet and lack of samples of local produce is sacrificed for penny pinching substitutes, then the rating drops.
If you add the creaking beds and the insufficient parking (despite publicising that it's sufficient), Logues Lodge needs to get real and lower guest expectations. Or starting working on improving attention to the details.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms towards the street as there is substantial early morning traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tord E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyvaughan
0.0 mi away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
268 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
475 reviews
22.2 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 4 in Spanish Point
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cappabhaile House
Cappabhaile House
#1 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ballyvaughan Lodge
Ballyvaughan Lodge
#4 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
237 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Waters Country House
The Waters Country House
#5 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wild Atlantic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wild Atlantic Lodge

Address: Main Street | Ballyvaughan, Co. Clare, Ballyvaughan, Ireland (Formerly Logues Lodge)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Ballyvaughan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyvaughan
Price Range: $81 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wild Atlantic Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the Wild Atlantic Way, The Wild Atlantic Lodge offers charming, family-run accommodation and a welcoming bar. The picturesque County Clare coastline and the Cliffs of Moher are nearby. Enjoy traditional food and drink in the inviting bar, with regular entertainment. Cosy features include beamed ceilings and open log fires. Staff are friendly and welcoming. The Wild Atlantic lodge offers comfortable rooms, with en suite facilities and a TV. An inclusive breakfast is provided for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Wild Atlantic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wild Atlantic Lodge Ballyvaughan, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing