We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Losing it's hospitality grip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wild Atlantic Lodge
Ranked #6 of 16 Ballyvaughan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed a night at Logues Lodge hoping to experience some plain, nice Irish West country hospitality. Sadly, and it may be the result of a little dire tourist market, but there is little excuse for neglecting who is paying the wages and bills.
When breakfast becomes a struggle to get the staff's attention, and the content of the buffet and lack of samples of local produce is sacrificed for penny pinching substitutes, then the rating drops.
If you add the creaking beds and the insufficient parking (despite publicising that it's sufficient), Logues Lodge needs to get real and lower guest expectations. Or starting working on improving attention to the details.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms towards the street as there is substantial early morning traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tord E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 300 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

A wonderful hotel, the room was extremely comfortable, staff friendly, chatty and very helpful. The food was delicious, good portions and well priced. The rooms was spotless and spacious as was the bathroom. The receptionist was helpful with good knowledge of the area and gave very good recommendations of areas to see and routes. Very close to the Ailwee caves and other interesting sites. Very good breakfast excellent selection. Good dinner menu, would highly recommend this hotel and we intend to go there again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was there last november for one night only, but it was really great. The room was spacious and homely so I had a restful night and the food, i had dinner and breakfast, was very good :)
I would go there any time again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Very comfortable, staff friendly and helpful. Great pub. Food was delicious. Rooms were spotless and spacious Bright colours. Bathroom was clean and spacious. Receptionist was helpful with knowledge of the area. Very close to the Ailwee caves and other interesting sites. Very good breakfast excellent selection. Varied dinner menu. Evening meal also very good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Spent last Wednesday night in Logues Everything was lovely as usual , Food lovely as always . Thanks to Helen and crew , Will be back again soon,Keep up the good work . Hope ye have a summer. Frank / Maureen Nugent ,

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureen921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I will start with the positives. If you are exploring Burren, the lodge is conveniently located. The restaurant on premises is pretty good; we had breakfast and dinner there. Our room was clean. However, I was not impressed with the rest. The check-in desk was hard to locate. The person who checked us could be friendlier. The hotel is outdated and could use a remodel. But worst of all, our room was located right over the kitchen. Even with closed windows, the smoke from the kitchen penetrated the room and it felt like you were staying in a room with a smoker (since we were there for one night only and arrived pretty tired, we did not bother requesting a different room). Overall, next time I would pick a different place to stay in this area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNS_14_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We didn't stay here, but we ate here two nights running, since it was the only place in town that was open. Excellent seafood chowder and a pint of Guinness made for a perfect end to a cold blustery day of hiking in The Burren. The vegetable soup was also very good. Bailey's and Brown Bread ice cream was an unusual offering we had to try. Topped off the meal perfectly. On the second night everyone from our B&B was in there at the same time. I think we outnumbered the locals.

Attentive staff, beautiful bar and Fleetwood Mac on the radio all added up to a five star experience.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank PowerThrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyvaughan
0.0 mi away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
268 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
475 reviews
22.2 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 4 in Spanish Point
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cappabhaile House
Cappabhaile House
#1 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ballyvaughan Lodge
Ballyvaughan Lodge
#4 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
237 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Waters Country House
The Waters Country House
#5 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wild Atlantic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wild Atlantic Lodge

Address: Main Street | Ballyvaughan, Co. Clare, Ballyvaughan, Ireland (Formerly Logues Lodge)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Ballyvaughan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyvaughan
Price Range: $81 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wild Atlantic Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the Wild Atlantic Way, The Wild Atlantic Lodge offers charming, family-run accommodation and a welcoming bar. The picturesque County Clare coastline and the Cliffs of Moher are nearby. Enjoy traditional food and drink in the inviting bar, with regular entertainment. Cosy features include beamed ceilings and open log fires. Staff are friendly and welcoming. The Wild Atlantic lodge offers comfortable rooms, with en suite facilities and a TV. An inclusive breakfast is provided for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Wild Atlantic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wild Atlantic Lodge Ballyvaughan, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing