We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You cannot miss this.”

Burren Birds of Prey Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.95*
and up
Cliffs of Moher and Burren Day Trip Including Dunguaire Castle, Aillwee Cave...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: DYNAMIC FLYING DISPLAYS where the visitor can interact and get up close and personal to the birds as they fly overhead and through the audience. A HOME to Eagles, Falcons, Hawks, and Owls from all over the world.EDUCATION into the amazing world of Raptors, their biology, conservation and the ancient art of Falconry.HAWK WALKS which are a once in a life time opportunity to interact with some of nature's top predators. Guided and instructed by experienced Falconers, this hour long 'Walk with a Hawk' through hazel woodland and across Burren limestone pavement is tailor made for anybody seeking a totally unique experience.
carpe_diem335
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You cannot miss this.”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I visited the Burren bird of prey centre July last year and i have since recommended it to everybody that is going even within 100KM of the burren, I loved every minute of it.
The highlight for us was the hawk walk with a Harris hawk named Eric if i remember correctly (I could be way off with the name though), It was an amazing experience taking the Hawk into the wooded area and watching him man oeuvre through the trees to perch himself right on my glove and eat the morsel of food.

Another highlight was the display show with various Bird's of prey ie. Falcon's, Owl's, Hawk's and my favorite the bateleur eagle among others (We actually stayed for the whole day so we could see two shows), I don't know of any other wildlife related attraction where you can get as up close and personal to the animals or birds or whatever they may be.

At the end of our trip there i had a new found interest in birds of prey and falconry and hawking the re introduction of sea eagles to Ireland program and the conservation of these amazing birds as a whole.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank carpe_diem335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    81
    11
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An Amazing Day out! Clares hidden gem :D”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We visited the Burren Bird of Prey Centre last summer and I have been meaning to write this review ever since! We were staying in Galway for the weekend and we had heard a lot about the centre so we decided to visit in on the Saturday. We left early and it took cicra 45 mins to the centre from Galway, it is really easy to get.

We didn’t think that we would be there for long, but we ended up spending the whole day there as we enjoyed it so much. There are 3 informational talks a day about the birds and they also fly some of the birds, there is great audience participation and visitors are welcomed to have the birds land on their arm. Some of the birds also come into the audience so you can see them up close. The talks are great and very informative, I learnt a lot I did not know about birds of prey.

The birds are all kept in spacious enclosures, but they are let out as well for exercise. There was a great selection of birds including Ravens, Falcons, Vultures and Owls. It is such an amazing experience to be so close to these birds of prey. I love Owls and it was amazing to be able to see so many different species. All the workers and volunteers in the centre were very friendly and knowledgeable.

We also did a Hawk walk where you will be taken into the woods surrounding the Burren Centre and walk with the instructor and a Hawk. They will brief you on how to release the Hawk and call it back. You will get to release the Hawk and then bring it back using foot and taping on the glove. It is a great feeling being so close to a Hawk and watching it go high into the air and among the trees in the forest. The walk lasted about 45 minutes and it was excellent value for money to be so interactive with the birds. The instructor was telling us about all the birds in the centre and the different personalities that they have.

We would highly recommend doing the Hawk Walk, these must be booked in advance.
It was a lovely sunny day when we were there and Ballyvaughan is a really beautiful, scenic part of Ireland.

There is a farm shop which sells local jams, chutneys, honey, cheese made in the shop and also paper weights and other gifts! There is also a shop at the centre which sells mugs, teddies, t-shirts, wind charms, lovely prints, postcards and anything you can think of really. I ended up leaving with a car full of presents for everyone at home. The shop sells snacks and there is also a café at the Aillwee Caves which does hot food and sandwiches etc.

The centre is a great day out for couples and families, the kids would love it! The Aillwee Caves is about a two minute walk from the centre and also worth a visit. I don’t think there is anyone who would not remember the caves from the famous Father Ted.

We are planning to visit again this summer, we cannot wait to go back.

Thanks to all at the centre for a really enjoyable day, it made the trip.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good fun”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

The flying display was good fun, bought the combined ticket for the centre and ailwee cave. Well worth a trip!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank twentysixfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent attraction”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

birds flown at least twice a day - you get chance to be close up with eagles etc.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank accordionman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend ended up here by chance. We were set to see Aillwee Caves, however we stopped off to buy the tickets at the Burren Birds of Prey Centre which is on the same grounds. This is a hidden gem! The staff were incredibly welcoming and professional, and illustrated a sincere passion for these birds. As we were the only two people there on the day (it was mid-week, early afternoon) we were able to handle the birds. The experience was unexpected and magical. Would highly recommend. Kids would love it!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burren Birds of Prey Centre also viewed

Ballyvaughan, The Burren
Doolin, The Burren
 

Been to Burren Birds of Prey Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing