We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine experience - but....”
Review of An Fulacht Fia - CLOSED

An Fulacht Fia
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Denmark
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fine experience - but....”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We have been at this restaurant before and enjoy the location, the interior and the food. The staff was kind and sweet but lacked professionalism. Having offered to taste wine and having received a positive comment from the guest I expect the waiter to pour wine into the glasses....
Food came without too much waiting on an otherwise very busy evening.
The menu is limited but I appreciate that. Only one item mystifies me. The restaurant has 'gravad' (raw cured) trout and used to do a gravad salmon but does not offer the traditional sweet mustard-dill sauce. We had a nice crab starter which was alright and halibut in/with tomato butter as a main dish. This is where the 'but' comes in. The fish was cooked perfectly but melted butter with a tomato like 'taste' is not very innovative and lacks taste. But the food is fine and you can get a fine experience. A but more innovation, please

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    33
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!! Wonderful Resturant”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Excellent!! Food was Devine, well presented and mouthwatering flavours!! Perfect sized portions!! Can't wait to go back again!! Oh don't forget the wonderful view.
Staff very professional & friendly. ,

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OLoughlinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wells
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

An excellent restaurant in a beautiful location. We had the 'early bird' menu but there was still a very good choice. The food was delicious with an excellent choice of wines and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westyWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unbelievable value”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This restaurant is the perfect example of the high quality of food and the presentation of same that we now have in this country. Service was prompt, despite the fact that we were a large group. The food was delicious. The three-course set menu - with a succulent amuse-bouche of crab meat a promise of the tasty meal ahead - cost €25, which was incredibly good value considering the standard of fare served. About a kilometre or so outside Ballyvaughan, the restaurant also has beautiful views of the Burren countryside.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kildaredee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
350 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Only wish there had been time for a second visit”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Ate here last Saturday - a lovely sunny evening after a day of relentless "soft" rain that the West of Ireland does so well. As we had a reservation, we were placed at a window seat which looked out over Galway Bay. Staff were attentive and friendly - but the real star was the food. Started with king scallops and crab beignets - and swapped half way through so that we could taste both. Absolutely beautiful. Mains of duck and a vegeterian parmesan tart were equally good. All washed down with a reasonably priced Kiwi sauv blanc. (The only thing missing was the option of a cheese board instead of pudding.) All in all, an excellent meal. Pity we only had time for one!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NED541287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed An Fulacht Fia also viewed

Ballyvaughan, The Burren
Ballyvaughan, The Burren
 
Ballyvaughan, The Burren
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing