We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of An Fulacht Fia - CLOSED

An Fulacht Fia
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
wells
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

An excellent restaurant in a beautiful location. We had the 'early bird' menu but there was still a very good choice. The food was delicious with an excellent choice of wines and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westyWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    33
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unbelievable value”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This restaurant is the perfect example of the high quality of food and the presentation of same that we now have in this country. Service was prompt, despite the fact that we were a large group. The food was delicious. The three-course set menu - with a succulent amuse-bouche of crab meat a promise of the tasty meal ahead - cost €25, which was incredibly good value considering the standard of fare served. About a kilometre or so outside Ballyvaughan, the restaurant also has beautiful views of the Burren countryside.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kildaredee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Only wish there had been time for a second visit”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Ate here last Saturday - a lovely sunny evening after a day of relentless "soft" rain that the West of Ireland does so well. As we had a reservation, we were placed at a window seat which looked out over Galway Bay. Staff were attentive and friendly - but the real star was the food. Started with king scallops and crab beignets - and swapped half way through so that we could taste both. Absolutely beautiful. Mains of duck and a vegeterian parmesan tart were equally good. All washed down with a reasonably priced Kiwi sauv blanc. (The only thing missing was the option of a cheese board instead of pudding.) All in all, an excellent meal. Pity we only had time for one!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NED541287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Definitely recommended”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

After a very poor meal the previous evening, we were a little nervous - we needn't have worried! A lovely warm welcome, very attentive, friendly staff and mouth-watering menu made for an excellent evening with friends. Overlooking the bay, with a beautiful sunset, delicious and perfectly cooked food with a good wine selection - superb evening!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended....”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

So, for years people have been telling me about places in the rural west with the best food ever. Then you get to the place and find it is a dark, greasy pub serving chips; and you wonder whether you live in the same country. So, when in BallyV the locals said go to this place, I expected the worst. However, it was amazing. A real big-city cool restaurant with excellent food in a remote place, brilliant. Views over Galway bay and a nice airy modern-chic decorated room. Food was excellent, after 3 nights of being fed 1980s food in previous places, I was blown away by the scallops starter. Main course of monkfish was also fresh and great. Service excellent. So, at last, it is possible to have the rural experience with urban food. Highly recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mukdennnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed An Fulacht Fia also viewed

Ballyvaughan, The Burren
Ballyvaughan, The Burren
 
Ballyvaughan, The Burren
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing