We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"A Gem of a Place"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oranhill Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oranhill Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Oranmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
oldham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"A Gem of a Place"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

I recently stayed at Oranhill Lodge with family and friends (9 adults and a 3 year old) The B and B is run by a family who are so, so welcoming and cannot do enough for you - nothing is too much trouble. Our flight home wasn't until evening and whilst waiting for taxis to take us to the airport we were given coffee and biscuits. We stayed for 3 nights and one evening some of the party returned early to the B and B - there was no problem taking wine and beer back - we were even given glasses. The property itself is lovely, clean, comfortable, decent sized rooms (best single room I have ever had). The breakfast was wholesome, delicious, lots of choice including home made soda breads and scones. The village is close by with plenty of restaurants and traditional pubs. Galway CIty is near by and the airport is just 10 minutes away. A perfect place to stay, great value. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    44
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
240
352
31
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed at the Oranhill Lodge for two nights, in the family room (two children: 8 and 13). The room was a bit small for four people, but well furnished and very clean. Ann and Michael were very welcoming and made us feel comfortable. Michael was very helpful with with information about the area.

Great location to visit the Connemara area and the Cliffs of Moher. The B&B itself is conveniently located near a main road (Galway to Limerick), yet secluded enough to provide quiet and tranquility.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashergabbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

Stayed with a group of friends for a wedding. Great family, really helpful and friendly. Modern & Clean rooms and open areas. Good breakfast. Double room ok size, triple room good size. 10 mins walk to village.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Oranhill for 3 nights on a 2 week trip to Ireland. This was by far our favorite B&B. Michael and Anne are warm, friendly, gracious hosts. Their home is beautiful...hard wood floors, gorgeous breakfast room, the best shower I've possibly ever taken. The location is great...Oranmore itself is a lovely little town with a few great pubs and restaurants, and they are only a short drive from Galway City Center. Our hosts helped us with trips to the Aran Islands, Connemara, and getting back to Dublin for our flight home. We cannot say enough good things about them and would plan a second trip to Ireland simply to go back and stay at Oranhill Lodge again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E-RJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

This was a really excellent bed & breakfast. I travelled alone to Ireland for the Galway Races and was a bit worried I might feel isolated - but the proprietor Ann and her husband Michael were so welcoming and friendly, I needn't have worried - it was like a home from home. I had a spacious double room with en suite facilities. The full Irish breakfast was superb. I could come and go as I pleased. The village of Oranmore had some really good pubs etc but Galway was only a short taxi ride in as well. All in all, a really enjoyable experience - one which I suspect I'll probably be repeating!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard_may
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

Everything is perfect , the place, the shower, and oh my God! what an amazing breakfast!
The owners are absolutely lovely and take care of all your needs.

Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank tamaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

I highly recommend Oranhill Lodge as a base for exploring Galway and surrounding areas. The rooms are lovely, clean and comfortable - the shower is amazing. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating - nothing was too much trouble, and breakfast was delicious. The location is perfect, particularly for access to sights like Cliffs of Moher and to Shannon Airport, and Oranhill Lodge is a close drive to Galway (I would recommend staying in Oranmore rather than staying in Galway City).

Our stay was absolutely perfect - the best B&B in Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolelondon37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranmore
5.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,605 reviews
6.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,815 reviews
5.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
3.9 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
4.9 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oranhill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oranhill Lodge

Property: Oranhill Lodge
Address: Oranhill | Oranmore, Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Oranmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oranhill Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oranhill Lodge B&B is a warm, welcoming, modern family Bed & Breakfast. This beautiful, red brick house is set in a well-manicured garden, just five minutes walk to the village of Oranmore and ten minutes drive to Galway city. Our home is decorated and furnished to a very high standard, ensuring utmost comfort for our guests. The cosy, luxurious feel, combined with the warm welcome will ensure that your stay is a truly memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Oranhill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oranhill Lodge Oranmore, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing