We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Oranhill Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oranhill Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Oranmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tellico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hospitality, accomodations and breakfast provided by Michael and Ann at Oranhill Lodge were outstanding. They were very helpful in directing us to restaurants, shopping and things to see. We would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shecs144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    45
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
251
379
32
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Looking for somewhere to stay for the Galway Uni open Day and after looking at a few places, finally decided on ORANHILL as it was close to the uni, in a small village, value for money and a good base for the weekend. The acomodation was excellent- large room with ensuite, quiet, clean and comfortable with good storage and the choice of breakfast was exceptional. Village within walking distance with plenty of choice for evening meals. Close to Salthill and Galway City. Being able to park off road was an addded bonus. The hosts made myself and my daughter very welcome, they were friendly and very helpful, getting us directions to the uni, giving us advice on the shopping centres and how to get about Galway city itself. Definately would stay here again, as it was like staying with relatives or friends rather than a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grain Valley, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The O'Neils made us feel right at home their lovely, comfortable and spotless B&B. They fixed our breakfast to order in a beautiful glass breakfast room. There were 15 of us that they treated as beloved family. Our only regret was that we had not planned to stay there longer. Next trip, they are a must. Lots to see in their general location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvogrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesford - Kent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great hosts and excellent breakfast!
The room was clean, neat and had all we could ask for.
The bathroom - which in B&Bs and hotels is often the sore point of the stay - was immaculate and the shower was one of the best I ever had. Perfect temperature and good power.
If I'm ever in the area again, I will definitely consider staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlesr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2012

A short ride from Galway City the Oranhill Lodge was one of our best B&B experiences ever. A thoroughly modern home with WIFI, it was impeccably decorated, warm, clean, inviting and very reasonably priced. The owners, Michael and Anne O,Neil, could not do enough to make our 2 day stay so wonderful. Michael's suggestions for restaurants were right on the mark. You will not be disappointed if you choose to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillPatti47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I travelled from Cork to Galway with my mother for a family wedding and I booked to stay at this B&B having done my research and liking what I had read from previous visitors. I am happy to report that I wasn't disappointed. Anne kindly offered to pick us up from the Oramore bus stop - and dropped us off for our return trip. As we came through the town, she pointed out the local eateries and bars, and when we got to the B&B she made us a big pot of tea and home made scones which was very welcome after the journey. Rooms were a good size with everything you needed and as previously mentioned, the shower was great. Breakfast was a treat and kept us going for most of the day. Overall it was a great weekend and we will definitely return if we are in the area again.

Room Tip: We were in Room 6 at the front of the house but weren't affected by noise from the traffic or pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan59London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Of the three B&Bs we visited in Ireland, this was our favourite one. Most notably, our room with a lovely bathroom was very clean and the breakfast superb (choice of several delicious warm dishes).

The highlight surely was watching the Hurling championship in the living room with Ann, Michael and the girls. The O'Neills are helpful and friendly hosts!

On a sidenote, the B&B is conveniently located. Galway and Connemara, as well as the Cliffs of Moher are all in reach for (separate) day trips. Plus, there's a supermarket in walking distance for getting the provisions :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tino N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranmore
9.5 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,665 reviews
6.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
2,982 reviews
5.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
5.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,712 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oranhill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oranhill Lodge

Property: Oranhill Lodge
Address: Oranhill | Oranmore, Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Oranmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oranhill Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oranhill Lodge B&B is a warm, welcoming, modern family Bed & Breakfast. This beautiful, red brick house is set in a well-manicured garden, just five minutes walk to the village of Oranmore and ten minutes drive to Galway city. Our home is decorated and furnished to a very high standard, ensuring utmost comfort for our guests. The cosy, luxurious feel, combined with the warm welcome will ensure that your stay is a truly memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Oranhill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oranhill Lodge Oranmore, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing