We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a course”

Galway Bay Golf Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 things to do in Oranmore
Attraction details
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is my local club. I have been a member since it opened. The Christy O'Connor designed course is a test of golf for golfers of any standard. If the wind blows (as it often does here) its a real test. At the moment if you book on line and play on a Friday you can get out for 25Euro...what value. Great course and great staff.

1  Thank fizziterrorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 53 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Played this beautiful course a few weeks ago and as i play a lot of golf all over Ireland the greens on this course as as good as you will get, beautiful seneary as we arrived back at the clubhouse the golf professional was there to welcome and ask did we enjoy our game nice touch.Will play again 2014.

2  Thank mattmcc132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great course and very welcoming. Usually not too busy so makes for a relaxing game. Scenery is very good looking out onto
Galway and beyond.Evening or early morning is best.

1  Thank Noel1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

yes, the course is placed in a nice countryside, but the fairways are wide as a motorway with little challenge. positive is, they keep the course in a good condition with very good greens. the facilities are poor and the toilets were inacceptable dirty. the bar (19th hole) is also to avoid, regarding food and service.
avoid and search for another golf course.

1  Thank pedrowei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin D, General Manager at Galway Bay Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Pedrowei,

Thank you for your review.
Glad you recognise the work our Green keeping staff into maintaining our wonderful course.We are situated in a beautiful part of the world surrounded by the wild Atlantic ocean which forms a natural boundary. Our course is a challenge for all handicap grades of Golfers where a premium is placed on good course management.
Sorry you did not enjoy our dining facilities on this occasion but should you return in the near future you shall be pleasantly surprised by our recently relaunced Bar and dining facilities as recent guests have alluded too.
Kind regards,
Martin Daly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Played a round of the old course there last week. Superb views, great greens (very fast), a real test of a golf course. Well stocked shop, a bit pricey but some reasonable sale deals. Ex-hotel bar very busy afterwards and a wait to be served. The food was excellent however although it did take its time coming. Overall a great day out, you won't beat the golf course, stunningly attractive.

1  Thank fred s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galway Bay Golf Resort also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Galway Bay Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing