We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed”
Review of Raftery's Rest

Raftery's Rest
Ranked #8 of 19 Restaurants in Oranmore
Price range: $12 - $23
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Impressed”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

A group of 6 of us called in on way from festival in Clarinbridge! On our arrival we were seated quickly despite the place being very busy! The food was excellent! We had sizzling tiger prawns amongst others sizzlers and they were delicious!! The service was very efficient despite the fact that it looked short staffed! They were very Friendly and made sure everything was to our satisfaction! There was lovely one man band the background and the bar was filled with what seemed to be locals! We will most definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aoifeglynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    19
    9
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent food,good music, terrible service”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Went for dinner on a Sunday evening,was seated by waitress who did not take drinks order. waited>10 mins to have food order taken. food was excellent.waited 20mins to have dessert order taken and the another 20mins to receive it. We could easily have walked out without paying as nobody seemed at all interested in whether we were finished or needed anything else.Our table could have been freed up earlier for another 4people.got the impression staff did not really want to serve too many customers....Service/staff need training/replacing beforeuts too late. Food was excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tobylal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food and Service 5 Star”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Fantastic, Fanastic, Fantastic, great steaks, staff were friendly, efficient and caring. Only teeny weeny blip was the absence of onion rings - not a big issue though as the whole evening was gorgeous. Thank you - we will be back again. Thank you for a lovely experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TimePrecious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We ate here on our way to Mayo and it was well worth it. The staff were very helpful and service was quick and efficient. The food was really good too. We have eaten here before and will definitely do so again. A bonus for any Only Fools and Horses fans is the Trotters Van parked outside - great for photos!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tradmusicfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not the highlight of our trip”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We came into Raftery's Rest because nothing else was open. We were not thrilled to stop in as the outside was not really inviting (it did not look like the picture above). We were seated by a girl who was very obviously ready to go home. I understand she was tired, but you have to fake it. She barely spoke when she sat us and retreated into a side room quite quickly. We sat without service (even with at least 3 people walking by several times) for at least 10 minutes, without even being greeted for a drink order. Our table was not hidden so there was no excuse to be ignored. After we got to place our order, which at that time we knew what food we wanted as well, we again waited for our drinks longer than necessary. After we received our food, no one checked on us at all. The only interaction we had staff after receiving our food was after we sat unattended and finally went up to pay to leave. The same young girl who was eager to leave that seated us was chatting with an older gentleman as we were standing waiting to be acknowledged at the bar. Finally, she very frustrated-like, tossed her stuff down (she was packed ready to go) and unhappily assisted us. The service here was probably the worst we'd received in this whole trip.

As I said, I understand being tired and ready to go home, but until you set foot outside of the doors and are off the clock, you smile and fake it. I will just allow myself to believe this restaurant was having an off night and that our experience would have been different any other day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WannaBeAnIrishGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raftery's Rest also viewed

Oranmore, Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Kilcolgan, County Galway
 

Been to Raftery's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing